Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Kevin's B-Day
Written on Tuesday, Apr. 29, 2003 at 4:24 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Okay. Yesterday's entry was all gloom and questioning and such. Today's is going to be a recap of Kevin's Kidnapping and a bit about today! You are SOO lucky! ;)

I wasn't sure our plan was going to work at first. Kevin had called and left a message on my answering machine asking if I wanted to take a walk to the bank with him, and I was afraid that maybe he wouldn't even stop back at his room before going. Thus, I had to call him back. By that point, he was in his room.

"Are there any people with you?" he inquired.

"No."

"Are you sure?"

"Well, a van just drove up beside me, does that count?"

At any rate, I called Amanda and told her to hurry outside, and then we hardly had to wait at all before Kevin appeared. He'd even put together the 'babe puzzle', and it was taped together so he could see both sides. *giggles* He gave a little dismayed groan when he saw Amanda with the blindfold, but stood there very complacently while she tied it over his eyes. We then put a sign over his back which read: "Hello! My name is Kevin. Today's my birthday, and I'm being kidnapped!"

A parade of daycare children walked past us as the blindfold was being tied on. That was great fun. I could imagine the older ones thinking, "Is that what WE'LL get to do when we're older?" :P The adults chaperoning said children merely looked at us in that indulgent-yet-curious sort of way, as though they were thinking, "I'd really like to know what's going on, but they're college kids so it's probably better that I don't ask."

The fun just grew from there. In an attempt to disorient him, Amanda and I were leading him all over the place. This allowed many more people to see him in this vulnerable state. Students galore passed by, and even a couple professors saw us, hee hee...One guy was like, "Watch out for that big snake over there!" and one woman we saw twice. I was laughing so hard, but at the same time I was halfway embarrassed, hehe...Kevin kept crying out, "Help! Help me! I'm being kidnapped!" whenever he thought people were around. :P What amuses me (besides all that) is that nobody who saw us knew that Kevin could have easily overpowered both Amanda and I. We could have really been kidnapping him and taking him somewhere, lol! A police car even drove right passed us and didn't bother to ask what was going on...and we were the only people on the sidewalk, so I know he noticed us, hehe! But oh well, everything turned out terrifically, and we all had a lot of fun. ^_^

Today, I went over to Ashley's room and got my other pressies from her. There was so much stuff, I couldn't think of how to best express my gratitude! So I exclaimed, "Stand up, so I can give you a big hug!" and then as I hugged her I said "Thank you SOOO much!" I still feel like it was inadequate, lol, but maybe that's because I so easily feel guilty about things. :P At any rate, it was still really nice. We talked for about half an hour, but I had to run off because my oral exam in French was today.

"Oral exam"...that sounds so dirrty. That's why I've been calling it my conversation exam, hehe...But anyway.

When I was younger, my stomach spasms would get so bad when I was nervous that I would start crying from the pain. It's almost like menstrual cramps (but higher up, of course), but there's also this feeling that I'm going to be sick. As I got older I was better able to handle the pain (or maybe I was just better able to control my nervousness), but today was really bad. I was eating brunch with Amanda and Kevin, and for whatever reason I suddenly thought about my exam and it was like I lost my breath. This pang hit me so suddenly that I think I did gasp a little. I haven't been so nervous in a LONG time...and in fact, when I finally went in to talk to the professor, when she asked me how I was doing I replied, "Je crois que je vais �tre malade!" ("I think I'm gonna be sick!")

It's always nice to start off like that, because then they go easy on you. ;) Ha ha...Actually, though, the whole ordeal wasn't bad at all. We weren't even there for 5 minutes, and I thought that was how long the thing was supposed to last! I think she wanted everyone to get it over with quickly, though. I made a few mistakes, but in the end she gave me an A...and since there had to be a number grade with it, she gave me a 97. Darn. Ha ha... ;) I was really happy with things...though perversely enough, I halfway wished that we'd talked a little more! Once I get started, even though I'm really nervous I still enjoy talking in French. Not good at it at all, but how am I to get better if I don't practice?

At any rate, that's it for now. I've got a WCUC banquet tonight from 6-8, but until then I'm going to read Pride And Prejudice. I think I'm nearing the end now. It is a very good book.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!