Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Summer program
Written on Wednesday, Apr. 16, 2003 at 4:33 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I saw an announcement the other day for a "French Summer Program in Quebec". Ever since then, every time I see the link for it I fairly salivate. How awesome would it be to travel up there?? According to this little tidbit of information, it lasts about 3-5 weeks, it takes place at the University of Quebec, Trois Rivieres, and I could get between 3 and 6 credits for it.

But here's my dilemma: I am not so confident in my French-speaking abilities. Besides that, we're taught European French in class and as far as I've heard, there's quite a bit of difference between European French and Canadian French. So I'd be even worse off! And then I'd be by myself, too...that is, I'm sure I wouldn't be able to get Miranda, for example, to go for it as well. So not only would I be poorly equipped to communicate, but I'd be all by myself!

I know I should just suck it up and ask the professor for more information. Maybe this is something that they do every summer, so I could wait until next year when I'll hopefully have better speaking skills! After all, I'm hoping to take French Conversation next semester. Assuming it doesn't get taken up, that is... :

Speaking of classes, however, I am seriously worried that all the classes I want/need will be closed before I get to register! I don't get to register until the 23rd, which is just far enough away that I don't even want to look at the courses yet because it'll just get my hopes up. For example, both Writing for Media and Intro To Images have quite a few spaces open, and those are extremely difficult classes to get into. I wouldn't worry so much if it wasn't for the fact that they're prerequisites for just about every other Communication course! If worse comes to worst, I'm going to try for the Writing for Media web course. I don't particularly like the idea of taking classes on the web, since I'm one of the types that learns best in a classroom, but for this course I'm sure I wouldn't have to be in a class.

Anyway, just stuff to think about. I'm feeling all drowsy again, even though I napped for about an hour today before Kevin called and invited me to lunch. Thank goodness for him, because I'm sure I would probably still be in a bad mood otherwise, lol! It's hard to stay in a bad mood when you're around him. He's so wacky. :P

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!