Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: I <3 my friends!
Written on Monday, Mar. 31, 2003 at 10:43 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Have I ever mentioned before how absolutely perfect my friends are? They're observant and sympathetic and considerate and...well, just wonderful! *plays "That's What Friends Are For" again* I love you guys!

Aaaaaaaand...I'll have to elaborate on it later 'cause it's time to go to class! LOL! Isn't that always the way? ;)

Okay, I'm back. :P Regarding last night, I went through the pinning ceremony (and I am sworn to secrecy regarding that aspect, hehe), met my "Big" and the rest of my "family", and I regained that initial confidence that I had when I was first given a bid. The whole family system is weird. My Big is Bre, and then HER Big (which is my 2-Big) is also Amber. *laughs* Last night Bre was like, "I have a Big and a Little Amber now!" I also have a 3- and 5-Big (my 4-Big was transfered last semester), and a cousin. LOL! It's like a huge extended family! At this point, it's bigger than my real family! X_X

I got all sorts of cute little gifts, too. A soft teddy bear, two little Easter bunnies, a pretty tropical plant (which I've named Rico, ha ha), a rose in a bud vase, a wee bouquet of three roses...and candy. Hehehe, my Big has found my weakness! Not only is one of my bunnies purple, but she gave me candy (which I have mistakenly sat right next to my laptop)! All of us got our pictures taken, and then we stood around chatting a bit...though a lot of the sisters left because they were exhausted after Greek Sing.

This one girl, Casey (I think that's how she spells it...I'll have to check one of these days), has definitely endeared herself to me, too. When I first met her, I thought she was just this blunt, kind of gruff person, but after last night I realized that she's actually a really warm and caring sort of girl! She hugged me like 3 times after the pinning ceremony, and then today on my way back from class I saw her. She came up and gave me a hug and we chatted for a couple of minutes, but then before she left she hugged me again! It was so great! I love hugs. ^_^

So yeah, I'm feeling better about this whole thing. It's nice to walk around on campus and see all these people that I know! Hehe...

One of the other things my Big gave me was this little diary-ish book. It's almost like a Book of Shadows, lol, except there are no spells inside. ;) Instead, each girl (starting with one back in '98) writes their thoughts out right before initiation, and they leave a little bit of advice for their future "line". It's really neat! Of course, knowing me and my love for diarying, I broke the mold and wrote a paragraph last night. *giggles*

Today, Kevin called me up and invited me out to lunch. I said that I'd eaten a late breakfast so I wasn't hungry, but I really wanted to hang out with him 'cause I hadn't seen him all weekend. Thus, I went down to Gemmell with him and bought one of those strawberry FrozeFruit (however it's spelled) bars. Mmm, they're so good...Anyway, we sat in the caf� and chatted, and it was one of those serious, "I'm glad we're sorting this out" sorts of conversations. I think it really does bother him that all of us are splitting off and doing these things that are eating up all our time. And yeah, on the one hand you have to expect that change is going to happen--I mean, I'm upset that they're all planning to move off campus next year!--but at the same time I totally understood him. If I was in the same position as him...well yeah, I'd definitely be unhappy! I'd never try to make anyone stop doing what they were doing, but I'd certainly feel left out and lonely. Despite being a solitary sort, my friends are still very dear to me. That's probably why I react in such a volatile way when things happen to us, LOL!

He walked me to French so that we could keep talking, and then I agreed to meet him for dinner. I don't want to stop hanging out with him. Yeah, there are times when I get kinda miffed, but he's the best guy friend I've ever had who's actually like my age. :-P Geoffrey doesn't count, of course, because I'm in love with him. ;)

It's almost time for me to run off to my NBS meeting. Bleh, I'm so sick of these people. I hope I can recruit a new bunch of folks next year that will actually ATTEND meetings! Honestly, I don't care that you're a senior and so you feel you don't need to contribute anymore. That's such a pathetic attitude to have. I mean, if you don't want to do it anymore, then QUIT. Don't just keep your name on the roster for your future resum�'s sake! Grr. That subject gets me really riled up. So I won't continue with it.

Right, I'm leaving now. :P I think I might gaze lovingly at my desk, which is so full of flowers and little plants that you can't help but gaze at it. I'm definitely a biophile.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!