Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Zee Interview
Written on Friday, Mar. 28, 2003 at 5:15 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Oh man, that was great! Hee hee!!!

I just came back from my interview, and I don't know that I'll get the scholarship(s) but I think I definitely made a good impression on them! As predicted, one of the people there was my advisor. The other one was Bill (he sat to my left, advisor to my right), and then there was Mary Beth (whom I met at orientation) and another woman whose first name I don't know. *chuckles* Anyway, I only JUST made it because I'd agreed to walk down to BiLo with Kevin and we got back with just enough time for me to change clothes and all but run down to Becker.

The questions I was asked were completely different from anything I'd been anticipating (though they DID ask me why I deserved this scholarship more than anyone else, hehe). My advisor asked the first one, which was something about "have you ever been faced with an ethical decision, and if so how did you handle it?" That question I floundered on, because I couldn't think of any situations that fit that description. And it's not one of those questions that one would anticipate (unless she's been to several interviews), so I couldn't really have rehearsed it ahead of time! But I pulled through okay.

I had them all laughing so hard by the end, though. I had to tell them why I deserved this scholarship (sob stories, basically) and my advisor was like, "You get extra points if you make Bill cry." Dr. Kennedy pointed out, "Mike cries easily, too!" My advisor retorted that I'd lose points if I made him cry, hehe, so that was that. Anyway, I told my story about Mom and Dad's divorce, blah blah, and then Dr. Kennedy talked about how her daughter-in-law had to pay her way through law school with several credit cards and her (Dr. Kennedy's) son's comic book collection. Bill perked up at that, saying, "She sold his comic books?" so I laughed and exclaimed, "Oh no, YOU'RE going to make him cry!" I then proceeded to act out Bill's part, putting my hand up to shield my eyes and crying, "No, not the comic books!" My advisor was laughing so hard that his voice actually raised significantly in pitch. It was very amusing. After that, he suggested (teasingly, of course) that I could just sell my kidneys on eBay. Mary Beth looked at him incredulously, but I piped up, "Yeah, you only need one! And hey, doesn't your liver regenerate? I could cut off a piece of that and sell it..." At that point, Mary Beth turned her gaze to me and started laughing. "Well, you are a woman," she said, causing Dr. Kennedy to hide her face in her hands.

The whole group of them was just cracking up. It was great. I don't know that I'll get the scholarship, as I said...but at the very least I entertained them. And honestly, I love doing that more than anything else. If we'd gone in there and been completely serious and businesslike, it would have been SOOO uncomfortable. But I think I lightened the mood because the moment I sat down, I noticed what looked like a 2-way mirror and said, "Oh, a mirror! Are we being observed from another room?" I should have looked at it and made a face or something, just for effect, but they laughed anyway. ;) So it was fun.

Denise, apparently, is going to stop by my room (once Rosie asks her) so that she can get my bid and then give it to Rosie, who will give it to Jen. Eeee! By tonight, I will officially be a pledge! How super! :D

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!