Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Choose your own title
Written on Tuesday, Mar. 25, 2003 at 12:08 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

You are a Sorceress!

Take the "How Do You Use Magic?" test! Written by Brimo

My domain name is coming up as 'alltel.net'. I don't even get a 'clarion.edu' to mark my passing! How depressing is that? I mean, people will look at their site trackers and say, "Oh, alltel.net. That's nice." Whereas if I was 'clarion.edu' they might be like, "Ooooo, someone from an educational institution is checking out my website!" It's highly unfair.

:P

In History today, we went over the War of 1812 in about 10 minutes. On the outline, I saw the word 'impressment' and went all aquiver with excitement. "I know what that is!" I thought eagerly. "I can volunteer if she asks us what it means!"

See, sitting in the back of the classroom is not the best thing for a shy person. Volunteering from back there involves not only raising your voice louder than you're comfortable with, but also seeing all the eyes that will inevitably turn back to find out who is speaking. But I knew what impressment meant, and I was going to shout it out for all to hear! I think what excited me the most was that I'd remembered the term from high school...maybe even junior high! So you see, it was almost an excitement over realizing that my memory isn't quite as dodgy as I'd once thought it was! *chuckles* As it turned out, I got the main idea right but I'd forgotten that it was the merchant ships who were stopped. But oh well, I VOLUNTEERED! I deserve a sticker for that, at least.

I'm debating on letting Amanda peek into my online diary. As of right now, the ONLY 'irl' person who has access to this diary is Tiff. I technically know Lola irl, since I flew out to Arizonee to meet her, but when she first started reading it was while we were still Internet friends. Other than that, though, I have not shown this URL to anybody here at college, nor any of my friends back home. It's safer that way. But I'm always comparing Amanda to Janette, in that I never get irritated at her and I never really have reason to say anything negative about her! I know, like that's any basis for letting her read my diary. LOL! Oh well, I'm still thinking about it. :-P The only thing I'm afraid of is if Kevin were to somehow get hold of the address. I don't want him ever seeing this, hehe!

Tonight is another Phi Sigma Sigma open bid party. Amanda and I are going to it, but I've made it clear that I'm only going to kind of get an idea of what things are like. I know they'll be trying like hell to get me to join, but I'm not going to right now. If all the girls turn out to be super nice (and 99% of the time I can differentiate between the sincere niceness and the fake kind), then I'll seriously consider joining. However, I still want to check out the Tri Sigs so I don't want to go committing myself to anything right now. Speaking from common sense, I probably shouldn't be considering this at all. But as I've been repeatedly saying, I want to give it a try. I need to do new things.

Yesterday as I was walking to French, I saw Rosie and one of her Phi Sig sisters. Rosie waved at me as I approached, but to my surprise the other girl gave a big cheerful smile and a wave. I had to keep myself from turning around to see who she was waving at, because it turns out she was waving at me! She turned out to be really nice, and as I was friends with Rosie before she joined that sorority, I'm thinking that this other girl was also just as nice (y'know, that whole "you're judged by the people with whom you associate" thing). But then Kristen, who was coming back from class, saw me talking to them and hastened over. She was completely pleasant there, but later on I found out that she was "saving" me from being solicited. Granted, she was doing it because we've both done our share of sorority-bashing. And I'm not saying she's wrong. What's bothering me is that if I join this thing, I'm basically going to have to all but hide it from my roommate. And I shouldn't have to, because my life is my own, but she has this need to nag and preach to people for doing things that she disagrees with! That's what grates on my nerves so much. I don't agree with the way she sticks to her little egghead clique and refuses to socialize with people outside of it, but have I ever once told her that she should go out and be more social? Have I ever told her that she's an anal-retentive and should go out and actually have fun for a change? No. Because no matter how much I disagree with what she does, it's her life and she needs to live it in a way that she wants to. I wish she'd hold the same courtesy for me...and I know that somewhere, she's doing it because she cares, but honestly! There are other ways to show you care. Buy me some flowers or something. ;)

French class was canceled today, so I am free for the rest of the day. I really ought to go out and enjoy this lovely weather, but I'm thinking that instead, I might go take a nap. >_< I'm wearing the cute (notice that yet again, it's cute and nothing more) pink shirt that I bought on Saturday, and my little Hello Kitty necklace that Mom bought for me. Both Amanda and Kevin told me I looked really pretty today, so I think I might stick with just going for 'cute'. ;) Then, if there ever comes a day when I can pull off more (erm, so to speak), people will be like "Wow!" Ha ha ha... ;)

Later note: I got a call about an hour ago from my advisor! He was asking questions about my scholarship applications, but he was so completely friendly and whatnot that at the end of the conversation I was like, "You have office hours tomorrow, right? I have that block on my registration, but I figured if it was okay then I'd come down and ask a few questions as well." He laughed and said it was okay, so that's that. Here I was dreading the fact that I'd have to go down and see him to have this hold removed from my registration thingy! Of course, I still can't register for classes until April 23 (the registration STARTS on the 7th!), but at least I won't be tortured while talking to my advisor. ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!