Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: More Lauren talk
Written on Saturday, Mar. 22, 2003 at 1:25 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

So. The situation with Lauren.

I'm really not sure what's going on with that at this point. Amanda and I hung out practically all afternoon yesterday, planning on having a "Monty Python-athon" that evening (we'd rented "And Now For Something Completely Different" and "Life of Brian", and were going to watch those plus the two movies I own). At any rate, we managed to watch the first rented video before she had to go work at the Rec Center, and maybe 15 minutes later or whatever, Lauren called.

I didn't tell her that I was completely pissed at her. I know, for all my ranting I'm really just a big pansy. I did, however, let her know that we were all feeling really left out because we felt like she was just kind of shafting us. It was SO awkward at first because there was just silence. I was the one who had to hold up the conversation until we got to a point where I guess she felt comfortable again...and then she started going on about the theatre and Tom, her lust interest. X_X On the one hand I was still a little annoyed, but then on the other hand...I dunno, it just seemed like she was genuinely worried about us being mad at her. I mean, she's already asked Kevin if he and I were mad at him, she's asked Amanda if she was mad...Self-centeredness aside (because that's just a natural part of her personality), I couldn't help but think that she really doesn't want to alienate us. She even went down to the Rec Center to talk it over with Amanda (though I don't think Amanda was appeased as I was).

The downside to this was that we had to move our movie night over to Lauren and Amanda's room, where Lauren talked through half of "The Holy Grail". I hate it when people talk during movies. I mean, an occasional comment here and there doesn't bother me, but she was trying to tell full-out stories sometimes, and I just wanted to be like, "Shut up and watch the movie!!" As it turned out, after that movie Amanda said we'd have to save the other two movies for today because she was tired. It was around 1 o'clock by that time so I was tired too...and besides that, I don't want to watch any more movies while Lauren is around. She just talks too much.

So I guess you can see that the Lauren situation is still not fully resolved. Unfortunately for me, my biggest problem is her attitude and personality, the latter of which is a little on the hard side to change. I mean, your personality is who you are, and you can't really change that! Well, I guess you can but it's not all that simple to do. At any rate, her personality and mine just aren't terribly compatible. Egoism is sort of an anathema for me, which is why it's so weird that I should end up becoming friends (every so often) with people who have a huge case of "me me me". I guess it's one of those things that just wears you down after awhile. I certainly don't remember Lauren (or Mel) being so annoying when I first met them...

Yesterday in French class, the professor handed our essays back. When she came to me she was like, "Amber, you should have been in third year! You write true stories!" or something like that. I have no idea what she meant by "third year" since technically I'm taking third AND fourth-level French all at once...I guess maybe there's some class that's more challenging than this one or something? I have been doing so much better in this class than I thought I'd be...I mean, I'm doing even better than I did LAST semester, and that was an easier class! I'm definitely going to declare a French minor. I'll decide whether or not I want to change that to a French major later, hehe...With my luck, I'll just chicken out. X_X

Anyway, today is Laundry Day, so I should probably get started on that. Tomorrow is that Phi Eta Sigma induction ceremony, which I'm a little leery about. We don't have to sit onstage or anything, but I really hope they don't make us walk up in front of anyone, because that would make me feel really uncomfortable. But oh well, we'll just have to think about that when the time comes.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!