Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Annoyed at people
Written on Thursday, Mar. 20, 2003 at 3:14 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Lauren skipped History for the second time in a row because she was out partying...in fact, according to Amanda, she never even came home last night. None of us (Kevin, Amanda, and I) want to remind her that we're having a test next Thursday. We figure that if she skips again on Tuesday, she deserves to be taken completely by surprise (or to miss is completely). Yeah, it's harsh, but it's just gotten to the point where I, at least, can't stand her anymore. I feel bad saying it, but I don't want superficial people in my life! I told Amanda yesterday at dinner that if Lauren gets any more shallow, we're going to have to put up a sign that says "WARNING: No Diving".

I can't imagine she'd just not show up AGAIN, though. I mean, the next time we have class is on Tuesday so she's got an entire weekend to get her act together. I'm sorry she doesn't appreciate education because she's a theatre major and "theatre majors don't need to go to college". I'm also sorry that she's more than likely going to be flipping burgers at some New York McDonald's because she can't get any parts. I'm not saying that she's not talented (I don't know if she is or not), but half the people who dream of being in the theatre don't make it big. That's why there's the whole idea of "having something to fall back on." But then again, she's always telling us (and I mean NUMEROUS times) that she's going to kill herself at 36, so I guess she doesn't have to worry about being destitute for long. *rolls eyes* If you can't tell, I don't think she'll seriously go through with what she says.

So if you couldn't guess already, I'm irritated with folks today. It's probably the weather more than anything, but the irritation with Lauren has been growing for awhile. Actually, it kind of waxes and wanes. She'll be "normal" for awhile and I'll think, "Wow, I can get along with her again! This is great!" and then the next week she'll turn all over-dramatic and start ignoring us again. I don't see us as still being friends come senior year. We might say hello to each other or whatever, but I know I won't be hanging out with her by the time I graduate.

Okay, and then there's this girl in my French class. Lisa. She's a part of the sorority that I'd wanted to join last semester, and she's dumb as nails. I'm sorry, I know that's insulting. But honestly, by this point every time she opens her mouth I just want to exclaim, "Shut up. Just close your mouth and save yourself the trouble." She's always asking these questions whose answers are so obvious that even the other slower people in the class look at her like she's on crack! And then when the professor replies that she should know it (because it IS usually 1st-year stuff that she's asking), Lisa will get all pissed off and cop an attitude! Today she was like, "Well, how do we know if 'chaussures' is feminine or not?" and I just wanted to roll my eyes because I knew what was coming.

The professor told her that she should know that already, blah blah, and Lisa was like, "Well it doesn't say it in the book! It just says plural!" I think Miranda even called out something about it being in the gray vocabulary pages at the end of the chapter, and so the professor paged through the book and pointed it out to Lisa. "I've taught you that whenever you learn vocabulary, you should always memorize whether it's masculine or feminine!" Madame said, getting impatient (with good reason) by this point. You can usually guess on whether a word is feminine by whether it has an 'e' on the end. Of course, that rule doesn't apply to everything, but if you're unsure it's better to guess that way. Lisa is just so terribly annoying. I think everyone was really irritated with her today.

This war is causing me to get very frustrated with Kristen, and so I've started turning the TV off whenever she comes into the room and not talking about it while she's around. We're all welcome to our own opinions, but the way she's so disrespectful of our troops is just ignorant and, frankly (since she's always touting how religious she is) un-Christian. I almost said that to her last night during the President's speech when she remarked, "I'm praying more for the Iraqi people!" I mean, pray for them, of course. I'm not so blinded to things that I don't realize there are innocents living there who might be killed. But to just shun the men and women who are over there fighting for our country...that's the very sort of thing that's made me so dissatisfied with organized religion. Ministers and such preach about loving thy neighbor, but in practice they're every bit as prejudiced as the rest.

That's not to say I'm not biased. I have my own flaws, and I'm not proud of them. But regardless of whether you agree with what they're doing, you can't just IGNORE them like that! The more patriotic side of me wants to snap, "They're over there fighting so that people like you can go on complaining." But it's more than that. Those are lives over there, and whether they're right or wrong they should be prayed for. If you're so against what they're doing, then pray for their salvation or something. I don't know. I'm not as articulate as I'd like to be, but Kristen makes me SO angry when she says things like that! I did say (very pointedly) last night that none of us knows the entire story, and that's why I refuse to take sides. She got the hint that I was insinuating things about her, because she just grunted in that "Whatever" sort of way.

So that's why I've decided the best thing to do is just to keep the topic out of this room. I won't talk about it (actually, I really don't talk about it at all anyway), and I won't turn the television on while she's in the room. It would only result in me finally giving her a piece of my mind, and that would be wrong because she has her own opinions and I shouldn't try to change her. Even though I'd like to at least get her to stop degrading those people who are over there fighting for us (whether we want them to or not).

Anyway, that's enough of that. I don't know why war-related topics keep coming into my entries, because as I said, I really don't talk about it anywhere else. We're all fully aware that it's happening, so there's not much point in talking about it all the time. But I guess sometimes I just need to get things out anyway.

Oh! It's almost 3:15 and I need to go to this meeting that starts at 3:30! They're going to be going over the new 120-credit catalogue, and I'm not sure whether we have to switch over or not. It's always good to be informed, LOL!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!