Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Workout Woes
Written on Sunday, Feb. 16, 2003 at 6:47 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Ho. Lee. Flip.

All I did today was wimpy stuff, and yet I was still exhausted as though I'd run a marathon or something! :P

Amanda and I started off by walking a mile on their track. After that, seeing that the elliptical machines were free (there are only 5 of them), we hastened over and did 15 minutes on the 'weight loss interval' setting...or whatever it's called. For the first 5 minutes I was like, "Yay, this isn't so bad! I'm working up a sweat, but I'm not dying!"

After those 5 minutes, the machine started to vibrate. I figured it was supposed to do that so I didn't think anything of it and I kept on walking. Well. Maybe 2 minutes later I was DYING. I slowed down several times--almost to the point of stopping--and I very nearly gave up. As it turns out, the darned thing was vibrating because it was inclining! So yeah, for 5 minutes I had to do the incline bit, and then finally it lowered and my last 5 minutes were okay. I have no idea how Marn can possibly tackle that thing as often as she does, because I tell ya I nearly collapsed. :-P And I only traveled a mile, so even if I wanted to do that 500-mile thing that she started, I'd never make it!

After I walked a lap around the track to re-balance myself (Amanda later told me that she actually HAD fallen over the first time she got off that thing, heehee), we went down to the weight room. I was really nervous at that point, imagining all these big buff young guys in there laughing at me, but thankfully there was hardly anyone there. We started off with the free weights, and then went to the leg machines, the arm machines, and the abdomen-y machines. That room was the easiest, mostly because I started off with really wimpy weights. I figure there's definitely no need to try and be like Amanda and press all that stuff. Even though I feel stupid on the 30- and 50-pound levels, I'll thank myself later when I'm not dead. ;)

And that was it. We're going to do it twice a week, and then once during the weekend. I'm really looking forward to it, now that my initial "Oh geez, what's it going to be like in there?" fear is over with! I will be one buff wench by the time summer vacation comes! Then I'll have to go bike riding or something during the summer so that I don't get all flabby again. ;) LOL...Actually, I don't expect to be really great-looking by the time summer comes. Most likely I'm going to look exactly the same, but at least I'll be more toned! Even with the sweat dripping down my neck during that elliptical machine thingy, I was feeling great.

Then it all went downhill.

I'm going to skip most of this part as it's boring and I'm suddenly very tired, but Kevin came down to Lauren and Amanda's room to go to dinner. Kevin and Lauren wanted to go to Gemmell, while Amanda and I wanted to go to Chandler. She and I were happy enough to go on our own and let the other two go to Gemmell, but I guess they decided to go to Chandler as well (even though Kevin complained about it). Once there, all Lauren and Kevin were doing was talking about theatre stuff. Ever since Kevin started working in this play, that's all he's been talking about...and since Lauren's major is theatre, obviously she's able to contribute to what he's saying. Well, they were going on about this person and that, and the music frat party they went to last night, blah blah blah...and there were me and Amanda, sitting there silently because we had nothing to contribute and didn't know what the hell they were talking about anyway.

You know how I'm always saying that after a 'high', I always crash? Like, after a day of being out with Geoff or something I'll totally crash and be depressed? Apparently, that endorphin rush you get from exercising does the exact same thing to me. I was feeling really great while I was there, and then a little while after we left I just hit bottom. So while drug addicts have to keep taking drugs in order to feel good, I apparently need to keep exercising constantly. Hehe...I thought it was an amusing image, anyway...

Amanda probably wasn't as disturbed by the dinner experience as I was, but you know how I am, Diary. Everything goes to heart. This time, though, I really do think they were being a bit on the inconsiderate side. For Lauren's part, this is nothing unusual as she has that inconsiderate streak in her. Kevin, however, is usually better than that. And I understand that he's incredibly excited over all this, it's just that it would have been nice if they'd both realized that they were ignoring Amanda and I. Kevin kept noticing that I was looking really down, and he'd remark upon it or try to make me laugh or whatever...you'd think they would have noticed that they were leaving us out, right? But no, they didn't.

I'm hoping that after the play is over with, Kevin will go back to being his old self again. Theatre folks are fickle sorts; I mean, I remember when Kevin first started going to practices and he'd come back saying how much he hated everyone there, like this guy Brett who's a total elitist snob. But now, apparently Kevin really likes Brett and he loves the rest of the cast and blah blah, and I can't help thinking how fickle and silly this whole thing is.

I am not a creature who readily embraces change. Probably another reason why I don't have many friends (or why I don't keep them for very long), heh...At any rate, I guess I'll get over it. Or I'll screw up the courage to be like, "Hey--I'm glad you two are enjoying yourselves with this play, but you're leaving Amanda and I out of your conversations and no offense, but...it's a little boring for us." Not to mention a little hurtful. I even had to call Mom up to vent about it! I expected her to be like, "Just tell them," but thankfully she shared my view on things (that they'll get over it after the play's over).

Bleh. I'm ready to go to bed now, but I called Geoff earlier today and he promised he'd call later tonight. He'd better not call too late, hehe, or else I'll have to send him away! I'm so put out; he's got vacation THIS week. The week before I come home!! When I told him as much, he asked yet again when I was coming home, in that tone of voice that tells me he'll find a way to get out with me. ;) So I guess all is not lost. I just wish I'd have more time to spend with him, hehe!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!