Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Took me ALL day!
Written on Friday, Feb. 14, 2003 at 11:11 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I like my coffee like I like my women: dark and strong. ... With a spoon in them. :P

Hehe, sorry, Laura's entry just reminded me of an Eddie Izzard quote. 'Course, half the stuff I hear anymore reminds me of this particular routine. During a couple of History classes I was reminded of his skit on religion, and then during French I was reminded of the entire bit where he spoke all in French...good stuff. He has a Monty Python-esque sort of humor...actually, he participated in some kinda Python tribute show, with some other folks. Didn't get to see it, but I'll wager he was hilarious.

So yeah, today is the day of the evil V-word. Heehee. Sure, some of my bitterness comes from being single, but even if I had someone I'd think V-Day is a stupid day. I mean, come on: first of all, why do we need just ONE day to say "I love you" to someone? It's like the people in charge of highways putting up a sign that says "Today is National 'Put On Your Seat Belt' Day": you really ought to be doing these things EVERY day. Sure, it's a great excuse for getting flowers, hee hee, but I think I'd rather get them on a day that has absolutely no significance. Y'know, like some random Monday. In comes Geoff with some yellow lilies. "Oh Geoff, how sweet!" :P

And if there ever WAS any significance to this day, it's completely lost all meaning because of how commercialized it's become! You can't even REALLY be creative anymore, since so many people are tired of the same old thing that they're trying to do something different, too. Now all the 'different' things are becoming mainstream! >_< And as for roses...I love them in their natural, growing-outside-and-climbing-up-the-walls-of-your-house state, but please don't ever give them to me for Valentine's Day. That's such a tired gift. Don't get me wrong: they're gorgeous sitting in a vase in a window or something. But I'd rather buy them for myself on some other day, or just get them from someone else on another day.

Even Kristen, who's all gung-ho on the "I love you"s and such thinks that this is a really stupid day. So obviously it's not JUST the bitter shafted girls like me who are grumbling about what a waste of time this all is. Couples think it's silly, too.

So there's what I have to say about that. This time around, thankfully, isn't as bad as it was during high school. In high school, a lot of boys broke up with their girlfriends just so they wouldn't have to buy her anything. Others went overboard and had bunches of balloons and big bouquets and other such things sent to the school. The girlfriend, then, would get a blue pass during one of her classes, and afterward would run down to the office to pick up said gift(s). I suspect that just a few weeks afterward, they probably broke up too...because we all know that high school romance is just a live soap opera.

I'm listening to Jethro Tull now, which always serves to make me happy. :P

Lately, I have been so tired. I skipped my radio show yet AGAIN this morning, and I just know that I'm going to get yelled at if I continue doing it. It's just that I can't get up at that time anymore! I don't know if it's all this walking around campus, being unable to breathe from the cold constricting my lungs, but it's getting pretty pathetic. I hate to say it, but I'm really looking forward to warmer weather now. Not the sweltering, humid weather I had to put up with back in August, but balmy spring weather. The sort where you can walk outside without a jacket and be just a tinge chilly, but not enough that you'd be uncomfortable. Maybe then I'll be able to breathe again, I'll get more oxygen to my lungs, and I won't feel so tired anymore.

Did I mention my mini dilemma? This Wednesday, a hypnotist is doing a show at 8 pm. I've been waiting for this show since the beginning of the year, and so I was all excited when it finally came time for him to arrive. Well. The production of 'Peter Pan' is opening on Wednesday. At 7:30 pm. Kevin is in this show, and I know he really wants all his friends to be there to see him. I think I've actually told this story already, hehe...Anyway, I had originally decided that I'd go to the hypnotist on Wednesday (and Thursday, as he's doing a different show then), and then see 'Peter Pan' on Friday or Saturday. But opening night seems like something special, and I'd feel bad for not going! :

It was VERY poor planning on the part of UAB, scheduling something on the same night as such a big theatre production. My prediction is that there's gonna be next to no one there...and ironically, he's going to be having a presentation-thingy for different uni committees Thursday afternoon, telling them how to get more people to their shows! LOL...the first rule should be "Don't schedule your events on the same nights as other campus events." Silly sorority girls.

I wish I could skip French. I really, really do. My brain is just too tired to worry about putting all my qui's and que's in the right place. We're having a small quiz today, though, so I can't afford to miss class. Actually, I couldn't afford to miss French on ANY day, since it would put me very far behind. Maybe I should fully translate Chapter 2 of Le Petit Prince so that I can read it to Miranda today. *chuckles* I feel all astute and stuff when I pull that little book out at the beginning of a class (a non-French class, obviously) and start trying to read it. :P

No, not really. But it's nice to have it all in a foreign language so that the other students don't know exactly what I'm reading. :P It doesn't have to be a children's book; for all they know, I could be reading this big masterpiece! Hehehe...

I guess I won't post this 'til later, after something has actually happened to me, hee hee XD

Blah. The sun has been out all day today, which definitely helped to improve my mood, but I'm still feelin' a little worn out. In French this afternoon, I was kinda just out of it. Every so often I get this weirded out kind of feeling, because in high school for the last two years, we had to speak completely in French. If we didn't know how to say something, we had to say "Comment dit-on [English word/phrase]?" So it shocked me quite a bit that intensive French, which is levels 3 and 4 put together, is explained mostly in English! So yeah, today the professor was asking us (in French) about the exerpt of Le Petit Prince that we'd had to read today. She asked me why he was sad about these roses, blah blah, and without even realizing that I could have answered in English, I said, "Parce qu'il a pens� que sa rose �tait unique" ("Because he thought that his rose was unique"). She was all like, "Very good!" as if I'd said something very profound, lol! Then later, outside of class, I was explaining to Miranda what had happened and she was like, "Yeah, I was thinking, 'Go Amber!'" So obviously, if people are acting all surprised at my responding in French, you know that we don't do much French-speaking in there unless we're reviewing some verb tense or expression or whatever.

I just thought that was kind of amusing. Miss Columbus would be so proud! ;)

~~~~~~~

11:00 pm ... I am so WRETCHED!!! But that's all I'm saying about that.

Amanda and I are going out to Walmart tomorrow, where I will be buying "workout pants and a body pillow," as Amanda says. The latter of the two purchases is because I was complaining about my own pillows. And the former of the two purchases...well, that seems self-explanatory. Lauren said she pities me because of all the pain I'm going to be going through, but if I can actually make myself work out at least once or twice a week (if not more)...yeah, it'll be good. Actually, I'm going to tell her that for awhile I'm only going to go like twice a week tops, because if I do any more I'll end up giving myself a heart attack or something. I do enough walking around campus that it'll be like I'm exercising every other day. :P

I have to say I'm a little excited about this. The thought of doing something to not only help me lose weight and look better, but to actually make my body healthier...it's a good thing. Just wait 'til summer when I'm lookin' good! I won't be slender or anything, but I'll look much better than I do right now!

Okay, I need to go now. This was a really long entry, and I went back to see if I should cut any of it out just for interest's sake, but I don't feel like it. This is just going to have to be one of my boring entries, hehe...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!