Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Sickness & Stuff
Written on Friday, Jan. 31, 2003 at 11:47 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Erin, across the hall, came down with the flu several days ago. Her temperature was up to 103, and she'd even gone home for a couple of days. Well, today I saw Catherine (Cat) coming out of the bathroom, her face flushed and eyes bright as if she'd just been crying. Worried, I paused and asked if she was alright. Well, turns out she caught what Erin had. I'm not sure if Erin is completely over it yet (she had to come back the other day because she had a test), but I think they're both sick now.

I'm paranoid that I'm going to get it now. I mean, it is something like a human kennel here. Everything's all closed up, we're in close quarters...granted, it's not like we're in barred cages or something but I've heard stories of how fast viruses and things can travel. And being right across the hall from those two...well, suffice it to say I'm just sorta worried. It's not that I think I'll die from it (hehe), but I live too far away to go home at all. And being sick while away from home is CRAP. I don't recommend it to anyone. :P I've been taking multivitamins since I started school back in August, so I'm hoping maybe my immune system will repel anything that comes my way.

But for the past couple of days, my ears have been bothering me. Actually, it's been more of this persistent itchy sensation somewhere in the canal...and yes, you're welcome for the information. I used to get ear infections ALL the time when I was a kid. Is it possible to get them when you're older as well? Anyway, I don't know that itching is any sort of symptom to that, but it IS annoying. And I clean them every night so it's not a matter of being dirty! Again, you're welcome. :P I've got a small headache right now too, which is kind of centering around my left ear (the one that's been itching the most). It's that sort of itch you can't get to unless you took a cotton swab to it or something...and I'm not about to go sticking objects that far into my ear!

Anyway, I hope that goes away.

Right now, I would like to share with you something from my Yahoo Messenger conversation with Kristen (yes, my roomie) yesterday. We were playing Yahoo!Fighter, and here's what transpired:

Me: PREPARE TO BE DEFEATED!
Kristen: i'll kiss you until you die from it

*pause, while both of us giggle hysterically*

Kristen: kill
Kristen: not kiss

Hee hee...my roommate is funny sometimes. The best part about it was that 'l' and 's' are nowhere near each other on the keyboard! And she was using a male character while mine was a female, so that made it even more amusing. "I'll kiss you until you die from it..." Hehehe...

My show this morning didn't go too badly! I actually had time to play every single song on my playlist, which I don't think has ever happened before. Got a little panicked actually, because I like to have excess songs just in case things run faster than I'd intended them to. Tyrone didn't show up, which was fine. And then around 8:30, this guy named Fred came in. It was his first show, and he told me when he came in that he'd been too nervous to sit around his room any longer. It was cute. The first hour or so of his show was going to be a mix of current hits (the ones that are programmed) and 'cheesy 80's pop songs,' as he put it. He had the Culture Club, Rick Astley, Sinead O'Connor...I think he was going to include Milli Vanilli too. *giggles* We're technically not allowed to do that--day shows are supposed to play a variety of stuff, not just one genre of music--but I wasn't going to be the one to burst his bubble. Actually, I'd rather listen to the songs he was programming than the ones we HAD to play!

The more I listen to it, the more I hate "Bubble Toes." The lyrics (some of them) are gross! Something about her feet being infested with tar balls? If the lyrics mean something other than the literal translation, please let me know. I'd like to know that he doesn't really mean some girl's feet are disgusting. ;) I like the new Shania Twain song for some reason (though I didn't have to play that today), and I love Matchbox 20's song 'Disease'. It's great.

Today was the first show where I didn't play Shakira's "Whenever Wherever", hehe! I love that song, so I tend to play it once every show, but today I figured I'd skip it so I didn't get tired of it or anything. I think I played a nice variety. I'm all paranoid that I'll get in trouble if I play too much of something, hehe...

Okay, it's time to head off to COM 100 now, so I guess I'll just save this entry for later.

Another short class, yay! Bill rocks the casbah. I feel bad for him sometimes because he's so dorky that people tend to laugh at him, but hopefully it's not out of pure maliciousness. I mean, even I can't help but giggle at him sometimes, but I still think he's an awesome professor. So now my classes for the day are done because there's no French again today...woohoo! Humanities was canceled as well. One class for the past two days...it's been great. If only every day could be like this! ;)

I'm so tired, and my left temple is still throbbing slightly (though I took an Aleve, so hopefully I'll be alright in a little while). I think I'm going to sleep for a little while...though I feel so bad because when Kristen comes home and sees me snoozing, I know it must kinda irritate her to have to be quiet all the time. Last night she was talking to her boyfriend and was about to go out in the hallway, but I told her to stay in here because I was putting my headphones on anyway. She said to Tom, "I have the coolest roommate!" :P I don't always feel like the coolest roommate, hehehe!

If I have to listen to the Dixie Chicks' remake of "Landslide" one more time, I think I'll puke. There are some aspects of it that I like better than Fleetwood Mac's version, but I've had to play it virtually every morning. And it's on right now too, which means that it's being scheduled for every day jock's show I think. I remember how annoyed I got with the station I used to listen to...I could hear the same song at least 5 or 6 times a day, and I quickly got tired of it. Definitely want a night or weekend show, so I can play spiftier music.

Oh yeah, and that one girl in the Dixie Chicks who had her hair all overly-curled and such? Made her look like a pudgy poodle or something. Honestly, it's A-OK to be overweight. But don't adopt styles that make you look terrible. Like this one concert VH1 held a few years ago...Aretha Franklin was in it, and she was wearing feathers. I was constantly reminded of a large white chicken. It was wretched.

I'm definitely going to bed now...though the girls in my hall have been rather loud the past couple of days. I guess they're too special for courtesy hours. Actually, I should count myself lucky, because over in Ralston (on the guys' floor especially), the noise is terrible. I can only imagine how bad it is over in Wilk and Nair, since they're considered "the ghetto". *shudders*

Addendum: *pout* Fred, the guy who took over after my shift was over this morning, is a better DJ than I am! I just listened to the end of his show, and he was all smooth-voiced and didn't stumble like I always do, and he had a spifty little saying at the end...I guess it's a good thing I already realized this is not what I want to do professionally, eh? I mean, I'd still like to work in radio, just not on the air. There's plenty of stuff to do outside of DJing, and being on the Exec Board next year (assuming I do get that position) will help me out with those other positions. :P I'm also planning on being the next president of our chapter of the NBS. Who knows: I might turn out to be a leader type after all!

Okay, I feel better. The guy who just came on sucks. I remember him from last semester...he was this Arab-ish guy who didn't know what the hell he was doing. And hearing him today, I see he hasn't gotten any better. Ha ha...Funny the things that can make you feel better... ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!