Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Yesterday's, today
Written on Saturday, Jan. 25, 2003 at 1:33 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

By the by, this entry is technically from yesterday (the 24th)...but my connection refused to let me on! *grrs*

Hrmm...what happened in the life of Berry today. Oh wait. People don't LIKE "daylogs". Hey, I've just brought on a spontaneous rant! No, seriously. I actually hadn't been planning on ranting in this entry. But I just thought of that, so therefore I'm going to.

Okay. I know that hearing about someone's day can definitely be boring to read. Notice I say can, folks, because I'm not saying it's ALWAYS boring! ;) Anyway, so yeah. Daylogs = boring (sometimes). And if you're submitting your diary for a review at one of those multiple sites, I guess daylogs would be bad because you're getting reviewed on content. But just generally trashing daylogs is really irritating. I mean, my paper diaries--all 6 of them--are basically daylogs. Every so often I'll write one where I'm like, "Oh, I'm feeling so blah blah blah," but for the most part it's just stories of my day. I like making my diaries like that. It's fun to read back over them months--or even years--later and think, "Wow, I remember that!" or "Did that really happen??"

I know the stuff is only significant to whoever lives it, not the other people reading it. But--and I say this like all the time--aren't diaries for the diarist? I know there are people who write for the specific purpose of entertaining others, but...bleh. That's just what I think. I know it doesn't make much sense.

Oo! Lola reminded me (or rather, her entry reminded me) that it's time for the Friday Five! So without further ado:

1. What is one thing you don't like about your body?

I can only pick one thing? Well, it's kind of a general area, which would be my stomach/butt/thighs area. I feel so proportionate and pretty everywhere else, but I hate that area! Instead of my fat being proportionately distributed, it just hangs THERE. I hate it and I wish I could shave it all off. :P

Oh hey, WAIT! Does hair count? Because I think I hate that more!

2. What are two things you love about your body?

My wee waist. Though it just makes my larger bottom half look that much weirder. And other than the excessive oiliness, I love my skin. Because it's all smooth and fair and only somewhat freckly. :P My eyes and skin are what people are always commenting over, but I don't really see anything special about my eyes so I don't count them. ;)

3. What are three things you want to change about your home?

We're going to pretend that 'home' means my dorm room, mmkay? ;) I would like to change the color of the walls (because they're a light blue color that, combined with the greeny-blue floor, makes me feel like I'm in an ugly ocean). I'd like to have a nice soft carpeted floor, and...I'd like to have a MicroFridge so I can microwave stuff and have a freezer! Oh yeah, and I'd have a larger refrigerator area, too!

4. What are four books you want to read this year?

Anyone else notice the lack of a 'do' in that question? "Ugh! What four books you want read this year?" Bwe he he...sorry. (LATER NOTE: *falls over laughing at herself* Lola pointed out to me that it's "What ARE 4 books..." so uh, forget I mentioned the lack of a 'do'. Heehee...) To be honest, I have no strong desires to read any books right now. Pathetically sad, considering I was once a huge bookworm. It's just that they're not really making very good, read-worthy books these days. And while I could read all the Tolkien books as everyone keeps pushing me to do, I'm frankly not interested in taking the time. But who knows, there may come a cold winter night where I have absolutely nothing to do except go to the library and check out a book. Not likely, however, considering all the other school-related reading I have to get done. X_X

5. What are five promises you have kept to yourself?

Is this 'kept to yourself' as in 'keeping secrets to yourself'? Or what? What a silly question. I'm not even going to bother thinking up an answer to it.

So there you have it, my Friday Five. Speaking of my disgusting lower half, I would like to take this time to express my sincere DISTASTE for my thighs. Somehow, I gained an insane amount of weight over winter break and now only fit into one pair of my pants. And even THOSE pants look terrible when I sit down. It makes me want to cry or throw a tantrum or something. I even got mad at Mom when I tried expressing my frustration over it, because I felt like she wasn't taking me seriously! And yes, I realize how pointless it was for me to get mad. It wasn't really HER, I guess it was just me being frustrated with myself.

At any rate, this afternoon I got the urge to call Geoff. :P I was trying really hard to wait another week or two before I called, because honestly...what would I talk about? I just got here, after all! But I had this silly dream last night where I called him and got his answering machine, but then he answered and actually came over to visit or something. I dunno, it was weird. So blah blah, I ended up calling him, and the answering machine picked up...but then he answered the phone! Whee! :P We talked for maybe 10 minutes and then he said he had to go to the bank. At first he asked if I could call later (his long-distance was temporarily disabled, hehe..lazy non-bill-paying man), but then he was like, "Wait, we could go online so it doesn't cost anything."

"No!" I immediately protested. "I like talking to you on the phone; you have a sexy sort of voice."

"Me too," he began, then stuttered and ended with, "Uh--yeah."

So time passes...*Wayne's World dream sequence thingy*

Around...well, I forget what time it was, but it was before 8 o'clock...anyway, Lauren called and I was stuck talking to her for a couple of hours. X_X It's not that I dislike her. There's just something about her that irritates me. Kristen tried suggesting that I find some new friends that DON'T irritate me, but to be honest...just about everyone irritates me. So I'm beginning to think it's not them, it's me. I'm just a solitary sort of person; I don't like being around people all the time, and unfortunately my friends are social creatures, so being around each other all the time doesn't bother them. Blah.

At 10 o'clock, I called Geoffrey but someone was on the phone. So I went off to use the facilities...and then Kristen came in and was like, "Your phone was ringing but I couldn't answer it because I was on the phone!" So I went back in my room and called him...this is boring me. I don't want to think about what's happening to all of you right now.

We talked for a little over an hour. *le sigh* I miss him. :P I never ever ever thought I'd be this retarded and sappy, but it's true. Tried convincing him to take his vacation starting around February 28, since that's when my spring/winter break begins, but I don't know that it's gonna happen. I'm going to keep reminding him though, hee hee...

Blah, now no websites are working because my stupid CONNECTION IS BEING DUMB, so I'm forced to either save this entry or just wait around for the connection to work again. It's taken me several hours just to finish this darned thing because I kept getting distracted! I don't even remember how I started! Oh yeah, that rant. :P La la, I guess I'll just end this and wait around for a couple of minutes to see if things start running again.

OH! Why not check out Homestarrunner.com? It's all Flash (you couldn't make this website without it, unfortunately for you slow-computer folks), but it's hilarious. I think I've spent the majority of the day checking out the email section. *giggles* If you've got spare time, go look at it!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!