Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Boring history
Written on Thursday, Jan. 23, 2003 at 11:53 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Marn brought up that at cold temperatures such as these, the moment you inhale, your nose hairs stick together.

I would like to state for the record that I have found this to be absolutely true. You're welcome for letting you know.

I've never actually experienced that before, lol! It's pure weirdness. I think I'm going to have to start wrapping scarves around my face before I leave the building from now on. But what I can't figure out is this: Is it truly colder this winter than it's been in past winters, or am I just noticing it more now because I actually have to walk outdoors? I have to say that I'm profoundly glad I spent the money on that down jacket, because if I'd forced Mom to let me keep layering sweatshirts and a Clarion windbreaker jacket...I don't think I'd be alive right now. I think I'd be out in Ralston's little yard with a discarded hat and scarf upon me and a carrot stuck where my nose should be.

Thus far, History has succeeded in boring me as much as Earth Science bored me last semester. Once we get past all that boring stuff about natives and Columbus and the conquistadores, I'll be all good. I think. I just despise learning about that period. Not so much the natives themselves, just the bits about Columbus and all the Spanish folks that came over and killed off the natives. I have no love in my heart for Columbus, and even less for those Spanish "conquerors". They were every bit as ignorant as the 'savages' they tried to subvert. And it's not like North and South America never would have been discovered if old Columbus hadn't sailed over. He wasn't even the first person to come over here anyway! And then when he DID get here, he took back captured natives with him just to prove he'd completed the journey!

What an ass.

So yeah, right now I'm not exactly enjoying that class. But I'm not going to just give up on it. I'm sure it'll get better after we get past that. And if it doesn't, I'll deal with it.

Last night, I had my first little study group thing with Miranda and John. John's a 31-year old guy from California who looks no older than Miranda or I. He's really funny, and he's cute too...but he's rather short and scrawny. :P In other words, while I can't help thinking, "Wow, he's cute!" while we're sitting in class, the moment he stands up I lose all interest. ;) But we had SO much fun last night! I don't know how much actual studying we got done--at this point we were just reviewing stuff from last semester to make sure we stay on top of things--but we got along quite well together! It's nice to do this in a group because we all have strengths and weaknesses in different areas, so what one person is unsure of, the others might know. After we finished, we decided that the three of us would meet every Monday and Wednesday. Those are the only two days that John is available, but Miranda and I decided that she and I would probably meet more often if we really get stuck on something.

Gah! Must everything in this place be so cold?? I wish I had more sweaters. Should have looked for some of THOSE when I was out shopping with Mom, instead of only looking at shirts. People make fun of me because I always wear T-shirts and other short-sleeved shirts (and then complain that I'm cold)...but I can't wear long sleeves without something short-sleeved underneath. It's silly, I know. And I'm sure it's something psychological, but whenever I wear long sleeves I start sweating under my arms, which makes me REALLY uncomfortable. I'm not sure why. Like, you could take my favorite T-shirt and put long sleeves on it, and I wouldn't want to wear it anymore. It's just something about them that makes me really uncomfortable! Yet if I wear a short-sleeved shirt under it (in the case of sweaters and sweatshirts), I'm fine.

I'm kinda tired. But it's almost 11:40 and I have class at 2, so by the time I dozed off it would practically be time to wake up again. Once I start waking up at 4:30 every morning, though, I'm going to take this time to sleep. It's important that I be awake and alert for French class, hehe...I think the professor would completely humiliate me if I started to doze in her class (such is the nature of her personality).

Kevin and I were talking about my morning show during the walk to History. Actually, I don't remember how it came up but he did his "Old Hickory" voice and it made me think, "Hey, it would be a kinda cool idea to have him make up little things like 'This is Ollllld Hickory, and yer wakin' up with the Workday Wench!'" So I brought it up, and he came up with all these other little personalities that could do those ditties, too. Lauren does a cute little girl voice, which would be funny...I think I'm going to drag them down to the Production Room one of these days and make them record their voices. ;)

AUGH!! COLLLLLLD!!! *looks at temperature thingy* It's 3 degrees Fahrenheit (that's -16 for you Celsius folks)!!! Where's the fireplace and a warm fuzzy blanket when you need them?

Did you know that "Sunny Delight" only has 5% juice? And it tastes like plastic oranges or something.

Not that I've ever tasted a plastic orange. But if I HAD, that's probably what this juice would taste like.

And I'm finally able to connect to websites again so I guess I'll post this and get to reading The Killer Angels. Required reading for History. I've heard it's a good book, so I reckon if I keep going with it I'll finally enjoy it...I'm just not really into these sorts of books. But I hope I'll be pleasantly surprised.

Tee hee...I just taped a picture of Snape right beside Kristen's bed. She has a loft bed, so I figure she won't notice it 'til she goes to sleep tonight. And that picture scares her, so I can't wait to see the reaction. Bwa ha ha...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!