Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Of Health & Humanities
Written on Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2003 at 12:05 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I think I'm going to know at least one person in every single one of my classes this semester! In the case of Health, I'm not exactly good friends with the girl, but at least we have someone to sit with. :-P At least, I'll have someone to sit with until she finds someone else. *rolls eyes and smiles wryly* She's one of Pam's friends: Nicole's the name. And she's a cute little thing...I'm extremely jealous of her hair, because it's thick and auburn and just gorgeous. If I had hair like that, I don't think I'd be able to keep myself from gazing in the mirror all day. :P

Health is going to be a stupidly boring class. Then again, I was never a big fan of Health any of the numerous times I took it. The professors were saying that western PA (with the exception of Pittsburgh) was really bad at teaching that subject, and I'm thinking that my school district(s, if you count Massachusetts) were pretty good with the teaching. So with any luck--and I'm crossing fingers, here--I won't have much of a problem with this class. So long as I read the required stuff, I should be just fine!

In Humanities, I ended up finding Josh. Or rather, he found me. I was about to sit one row ahead of him, not knowing he was there, when he called out to me. This is Scarecrow Josh, by the way, not the dirty Josh who is now Kevin's roommate. :P We were sitting there when this guy decided he wanted in our row (or wanted to go through it...I'm not quite sure where he went). I pushed myself out of my seat and attempted to draw my knees in so he could get past, but the floor was slippery. So just as his other leg was about to clear, one of my feet slipped and kicked out...hitting the chair in front of me (we have this class in an auditorium) and almost tripping him in the process. X_X "I am so sorry!" I apologized, laughing in embarrassment. He was grinning, so I guess he was okay with it, hehe...Josh started teasing me, saying that I'd done it on purpose. "'Oh, sure, you can go by,'" he mimicked. "'Oops! Tricked you! Tee hee!'"

These are the humorous stories you hear about in magazines, the ones that go "How I Met My Future Husband". *chuckles* And it came right on the heels of Monday's incident...I'd gone down to the student center to get my schoolbooks, and I was waiting in line. My mind doesn't like to take in several things at once, so once I focused on this one kid who'd just finished with someone, I didn't pay attention to anyone else...and ended up completely ignoring this other guy who was trying to help me! ^^; He gave Kristen a weird look and then laughed, which was what distracted me enough to look at him and get embarrassed. I started laughing, though, and without thinking about it, reached out to touch his arm. Apologized, and then I teased, "I just didn't want you to help me." Or something like that.

I have this habit where if I'm apologizing or whatever, I either reach out and lay a hand on their arm briefly or I'll even go so far as to put my head on their shoulder. Both gestures only last for a second, but I always do it! Well, the latter is only done with friends or whatever, because I know putting my head on some stranger's shoulder would be a little weird. :P But it's like an unconscious thing, putting my hand on people's arms!

Anyway, back to Humanities. The professor is so WACKY, but he's hilarious! I think I'm going to enjoy being in his class. He was fixated on this weird, long pipe thing that was hanging down from the ceiling of the auditorium. When class started, he said something about not sitting under it, because as it was put there by humans, it could very well fall right out of the ceiling, going right through someone's head. "And while the rest of us might find it interesting," he said, "I don't think you would." Hee hee...I think if it hadn't been for the fact that I didn't want people looking at me, I would have been laughing throughout the whole class.

The best part was toward the end, when he was saying some of this stuff would be difficult to read, and then gave us an example. Some weird poem...Aunt Jane, or something? It talks about how she was dead at ninety, and buried at a hundred. Most people seemed to take it literally, but I immediately figured, "Okay, she's dead mentally or whatever, but not physically." Well, he started discussing it and I got all nervous and doubtful about my interpretation, but I turned out to be right! Woot! I hope everything goes as easily as that. I know it won't, but a girl can hope!

Aieee! It's 10:40 and I have to be in class at 11! It only takes 10 minutes to get there, though, so I'll be fine. COM 100, here I come! *giggles*

Later...

Oh, HAPPY DAY!!!! *beams*

I rushed into my COM 100 class, knowing I wasn't late but wanting to get a seat next to Jess. Looking up to the front of the classroom, who should I see but Bill Adams! I was confused, of course, because he wasn't supposed to be our professor. Figured maybe he was just there to give an announcement or something. But no, it turns out he's our professor for this semester!! *bounces about happily* I love Bill. He's my favorite professor, even though I haven't had every professor on campus. ;)

Our original professor was one that I'd been warned against by EVERYONE. He preaches all class period about Islamic stuff, and then he tests on something completely different. Every single person who heard I'd gotten him was like, "Oh no..." and then said the exact same thing about him. Apparently, he was even on probation because of this. So needless to say, I wasn't particularly looking forward to having him as my professor. Now, the down side to this is that he's not teaching because of a heart problem. His doctor told him to take this semester off. I don't wish any ILL on the man, I'm just pleased as punch that I don't have to have him as a professor. ^_^

Even better, Bill only requires one of the two books we'd originally been assigned. He only found out a couple of days ago that he was to teach this class, poor guy, so I'm sure he's going to be even more scattered than usual. :P As he was handing out the syllabus, he got to the back row and saw me. He grinned and said, "Hey, how's it going? Ready for your show? The station powers up on Monday." I felt all special, since it seemed like I was the only one he really knew. *chuckles* At least, I was the only one he talked to, hehe! I think I'm starting to picture him as a father figure, of sorts. I don't have a crush on him, I just really like him and feel sort of secure around him...if that makes sense. He's so laid back and friendly that you have to be really weird NOT to like him!

Anyway, Jess and I ran back to our rooms after class to get our receipts, and then we went down to the bookstore to return that extra book. It was only $18.75, but at this point I'm not going to complain! Mine was credited to my charge card, so I don't have any extra cash at the moment. :P And now I'm sitting here feeling very physically tired. I'd forgotten what a walk it was from Becker to my dorm room! My legs felt like Jello by the time I reached the top of the hill!

I think Kristen and I are starting a tradition of singing Spongebob Squarepants every morning as we walk to breakfast. I sing the first two bits while she just goes "Spongebob Squarepants!" and then she sings the last two lines. :P It's pure silliness, but fun nonetheless!

Okay, posting now. I need to do a bit of reviewing for French. Even though this week is going to be spent reviewing, I want to make sure I know my stuff before going in so I don't get put on the spot! I've already found out that she'll do that... >_<

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!