Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Leafless tree in Asia
Written on Thursday, Jan. 16, 2003 at 8:36 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I wish I'd had the opportunity to meet Len in person as Janette got to. Had I met her and discovered how nice she can be in person, I think I'd be able to get over this intolerance of her. I know I shouldn't be like this toward her, it's just that she's got this penchant for being subtly rude on the message boards, and I don't like that. If she doesn't like someone (and she dislikes over half the members, I think), then she ought to just say so instead of being catty. I know I can't really count myself as blameless in that department, much as I hate such behavior, but I'd like to think--at least, I HOPE--that I don't do it too often!

Oh well. I still like her, it's just that I'm becoming less tolerant of her behavior toward others.

Anyway, today was spent shopping. Actually, the official start of it was going over to the DMV to take my permit test (to non-US folks, that's just the little paper that lets me drive with someone else...like a training permit, not the actual license). I had the medical paper with me, but then the woman starts listing off all this stuff...I had to have my birth certificate and my Social Security card as well. X_X I had my card, but not the certificate! So when Mom said we didn't have the latter thing, the woman gets all snippy and says, "It was listed in the driver's manual and on the medical paper..."

I wanted to just throw my hands up and scream for someone to bomb every single DMV in the country or something. They let people drive who have the abilities of a 5-year old (and the brains of one, too), yet I can't even get a PERMIT without all this hassle? I don't need it! I'd just as soon take public transit for the rest of my life. Hey, Ian Anderson (from Jethro Tull) never got his license. Then again, he's got limos and stuff, I'm sure.

At the very least, I would have liked to have said, "I'm sorry. The last time I took this damn test, I was 16. After renewing it an untold number of times, I was finally told that I had to go get a physical before I could continue. By this point, I think I should get points just for not jumping into the whole driving thing, but I wouldn't expect the likes of YOU to understand that. Have a nice day, you miserable bitch, and SO sorry for wasting your obviously-precious time."

Instead, we just walked out, and I told Mom I wasn't going back. She tried making me, but I told her I was fed up with all this nonsense and that it wasn't worth the stress just to keep being turned away for stupid stuff. I'm just not concerned about getting my license right now.

Being away at college has made me even less tolerant of Mom now. It's horrible, but I hate the way she's always like, "You'd better get to bed, we have to get up early tomorrow!" and nagging me about this and that. I want to say, "I'm 21 now! I think I know when to go to bed!" Gah. I guess it won't be such a bad thing to finally move out.

ANYway, during the rest of the day I got this little feather quill/ink thing for Kevin, I bought a bunch of clothes for myself, an optical mouse for Amanda, and "Aqualung" (my first Jethro Tull CD, hehe) for myself. The clothes are all really cute, but they were so expensive (some of them, anyway) that I feel guilty for having bought them. I'd gone to Lane Bryant because they have clothes that fit...but they're INSANELY expensive. It's not the act of buying clothes that makes me feel guilty; it's the price of those clothes. And I feel like they're 'frilly' clothes...y'know, the kind I didn't NEED to get? I just need to get over it. If I wear them, then it's not a waste of money. I can't wait to wear this one shirt I bought there...If you hold it out, it looks more like a shawl or something (in other words, just a big square folded to look like a triangle, with a hole for the head to go through). But there actually are sleeves sewn in, hehe...It's just such a neat shirt!

There's a new-ish store that was put into our mall...A�ropostale. I always see girls at school wearing their clothes, and a part of me was curious to see what was inside. But at the same time I really didn't want to go in because it's just another Sheep Store like The Gap and Old Navy and those sorts of places...y'know, the ones that try to spit out clones that all look the same? I hate those places. I suppose it's a little hypocritical of me, since I love adidas stuff and that's clone-esque, but if everyone started wearing that stuff then I'd probably stop. It's just the way I am. Anyway, Mom walked into this store so I went in, too. I didn't even bother looking at the pants, knowing that they were made for the abnormally skinny types, but I don't usually have a problem looking for shirts in these places. And sure enough, I found two! Well, technically I only found one, 'cause they're the same exact style but in two different colors. Still, they're really cute! And I'm wearing one of them tomorrow on my 'date', ha ha...

Umm..Oh yeah, speaking of adidas...I got a new pair of shoes. :-P They STILL didn't have the style I wanted in the right size! I think that particular style has been discontinued or something, though, because the biggest size they had was a 6 and the girl said they were running out of that style. I dunno, it was just in that "We're not carrying that one anymore" sort of way. So I got a pair that are kind of the same color, but not as nifty. The stripes are this iridescent blue sort of color. Cute, and I like them, just not as much as the others. :-P

I'm so retarded. I'm the sort of person who doesn't want to buy a replacement until the first item is absolutely unable to be used anymore. My current sneakers are old and dirty and the rubber toe thingy on one of them is starting to peel off...but they're SO comfortable and still technically wearable! And I'm not the sort of person who has to have a bazillion pairs of shoes; I wear one pair until they wear out, and then I buy another. For me, there's just no reason to have more than one pair! Well, it would make sense to have a pair of dress shoes AND sneakers of course, but more than one pair of sneakers? Why? I just have to laugh at myself for wearing everything completely out before tossing it...and even THEN I feel like I'm being wasteful! Maybe I should learn how to make shoes, then I could just keep repairing mine. *chuckles*

I was talking to David tonight (anyone remember the Mario guy I started talking to ages ago?)...it was the first time in quite awhile. Anyway, he was talking about maybe visiting me while at college, but thankfully his old college is far enough away that he said he couldn't. Poor guy is still looking for a girl, and I'm definitely not it! Internet romance is not my thing. He was irking me by asking why I hadn't gotten any college guys (it's entirely too wacky, to him, that I should like Geoff). Thankfully he didn't get on my case about my disdain for younger guys. That would have irritated me. But hey, at least he wasn't talking in monosyllables, right?

I have to go to bed now. Not because Mom told me to, ha ha, but because I have to be up at 3 am and I'd like to be awake enough that when Geoff and I go out, I'm not dozing off! :-P He already told me a story of when he was younger and at someone's house with a group of friends, and this girl fell asleep...so they drew a swastika (however it's spelled) on her forehead. X_X Then the doorbell rang and she got up to answer it, not knowing what had been done to her...! I'm sure he's beyond that now, but given his impish streak, I don't want to put too much faith in that statement. ;) So I'd better get as much rest as I can, hehe!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!