Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: I am warm and fuzzy!
Written on Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2003 at 3:54 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

People love me! They really love me! *grins* See, it's days like these, when I get such spifty messages in my guestbook, that things all seem worthwhile. *blows kisses*

Of course, my day at work didn't hurt that feeling of being loved, either. ;) It was a lazy and very boring sort of day; I spent the majority of it fronting the shelves (which basically means that I had to pull all the products to the front of the shelves so they looked all neat and full). By the end, I just wanted to run shrieking from the store. It took me almost the entire day just to front one side of the aisle! But it hasn't looked that good since the store first opened, heehee...I'm so anal about things (or maybe it's more of an obsessive-compulsive thing) that I had to make sure everything was the same distance from the edge of the shelf. :P Well okay, I didn't take a ruler to it or anything, but even Ernie made fun of me the other day when I was doing the same thing.

Oohey, look at that! Now that I have my handy dandy Cast List made up, you can click there to find out exactly who Ernie is! WOW, that's neat! *giggles*

So anyway, you know I had to talk about Geoff somewhere in here. And here it goes. He came in at 4:30 this morning (Mom and I got in around 6), so I was mildly upset that he'd be leaving before me. But then I got over it. :P I invited him to go on break with me around 9:30, and he immediately agreed, but then a little before 9 o'clock I got this big shock. It's not going to sound like much written down. But you need to remember how Geoff is (and if you've been reading this diary long enough, you probably do, ha ha). Y'know how before I went to college, I was always making excuses to leave the bakery so I could go hang around him and chat for awhile as he worked? Yeah, well as I was making hair coloring boxes look all pretty, I looked to my left just as Geoff was walking out of the back room. Instead of turning toward the frozen department, he meandered down my aisle and hung out there for a few minutes chatting with me. That was a first. A customer came up asking for vacuum bags, and I figured that when Geoff walked away to show the guy to the proper aisle, he'd then go back to work. But no, Diary, he came back! Such is the power of my charm, ha ha ha...

I must make another Slaveway complaint later. Please remind me to do so.

Blah blah, we didn't end up going on break 'til closer to 10, but I couldn't help feeling sort of...I don't know the proper word. It wasn't 'smug', exactly, but it wasn't completly 'special', either. Spug? Smecial? Yes, I was feeling spug! For a silly reason, but anyway...we had walked over to the food service area together because he wanted coffee and I wanted Orangina (which they didn't have today! Grr), but then we walked over to Cheryl's register to pay. Cheryl (who's an older woman) has known about my crush on Geoff almost since it started, so I just knew she was watching us with cat eyes as we walked away. I can't even explain it; I guess just knowing that she was watching us walk away together, and most likely wondering, "So are they dating or aren't they?" It was just a spug moment.

I really like that word! Everyone, put it into your vocabulary. "Spug: n. Feeling smug and special, but not more of one or the other."

I don't even know how long we stayed back in the break room. We spent a few minutes grimacing over a picture of Michael Jackson in a Rolling Stone issue...The man has MASKING TAPE on his nose. I swear, he probably doesn't even really HAVE a nose anymore, and he ran out of glue for his prosthetic. For a guy who used to be so cute back in the late 70's/early 80's (whenever he was still black, heh), he has turned into a major freak. And that is so SAD!

But where was I...oh yes. Fast forward, and I'm back to fronting shelves. I walked over to the frozen food section to talk at one point, and I was like, "So you said you're done at 12:30, right?" He said yes, and then I blurted, "Take me home with you!" (I keep hearing my gerbils banging stuff against their tanks and it startles me...sorry, no more interruptions.)

He laughed at that, then said, "Well..." (which got me all hopeful) "...if you want to watch me sleep..."

"I'll sleep with you."

o_O

Brazen wench.

Hey, he growled, though. Ha ha ha... :P I know, too much information for everyone. Hee hee...

Yes, I would have very much enjoyed going home with him after work today. Not because I had any amorous intentions, but just because it's fun just being away from home! Except for when I'm at work. But at any rate, I didn't have any serious thoughts that he'd agree to invite me over. And around 12:30 I started keeping a close eye on both ends of the aisle so that I wouldn't miss him leaving. See, I always say goodbye before I leave. He, being a guy, does not. :P So if I want some closure to my day, I have to seek him out.

But guess what happened, Diary! I was fronting yet ANOTHER set of shelves (this time in a different aisle) when I happened to see Geoff passing! He saw me, but I guess it didn't quite register at first because he took a few more steps...then stopped abruptly and spun around to walk down my aisle. I know, I'm as positively DUMBFOUNDED as the rest of you. I started walking up to meet him, pouting in the "you're leaving and I don't want you to go!" sort of way, and then when I was within a few feet of him I opened my arms and shuffled quickly toward him...and then he sped up, probably not expecting us to actually hug, but we collided. That's the only word I can use for it, because it actually hurt a little. LOL! I just got this image in my head of all those cheesy commercials where the guy and girl are running through a field, arms outstretched, and then they totally miss each other. This was the opposite; if we'd been in a commercial, it would have been exaggerated so that we kind of staggered backward and then fell.

Oy, I didn't expect this tale to be quite so long! *whap* Wake up, you! Ha ha ha...I'm in such a good mood today! And I haven't even gotten to the best part!

*dances about and continues in a sing-song voice* He asked me out for Friiidayyy...

I had to ask him to repeat it, because I wasn't sure I'd heard him correctly the first time. Here I was, thinking Monday was it before I went to college...but NO! Sure, it probably won't be another nine hours like it was on Monday, but that doesn't matter! I think he said something like, "Do you want to do something Friday?" and so after it all registered I slipped my arm through his, leaned my head on his shoulder, and replied "I always like doing stuff with yooou, Geoff!" (in one of those purposely annoying girly voices, hee..)

*thinks* Y'know, I think the best way to start out flirting is just to make it really playful or whatever. Well duh, that's what flirting is about, but I mean say what you want, but put a tone to it or whatever (i.e. exaggerating)...gah, I can't explain it! It's just like, you know how it's so scary to do certain things because you're afraid the guy doesn't feel the same way about you and so the possible rejection is enough to keep you from making a move? If you put a teasing spin on the flirting, then it's kinda like underneath it all it's real, but yet he doesn't necessarily have to KNOW at first that it's real. Does that make sense? Then, if he actually starts reciprocating...well yeah, there we go. Move over, Lindsey; it's time for the Dr. Amber show!

Oh Diary, thank you for reminding me about that rant I wanted to get out! I bought the last little box of Hello Kitty nail polish today. Didn't realize 'til after I'd gotten it home that the stuff's been sitting in a warehouse for so long that one of the bottles is completely useless! The polish is all gummy and gross...and it was a pretty color, too! They keep their Slaveway brand merchandise in the warehouse for ages too, it seems. YOU MAKE ME SO WRETCHEDLY ANGRY, SELLING DEFECTIVE AND MALFUNCTIONING STUFF!!! WHEN WILL I EVER LEARN, EVI CORPORATION?! *coughs* There now. I'm keeping the polish anyway, because the other colors are pretty. Well, some of them. I'm wearing this pearly sort of light blue color that actually makes me look like I've been out in the cold too long, but it's still pretty. :P

And I think that's all I feel like saying right now. Goodness knows, with the way I've reduced the size of my entry box this entry will stretch on to eternity!!

Hee hee! That Troy McClure banner cracks me up. "Rent movies from home, you sad, friendless dork." �_� You probably have to see it for yourself in order to understand.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!