Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Bicycling!
Written on Sunday, Jan. 12, 2003 at 6:35 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I was looking at various pictures on Google tonight, and I came across this website created by a guy who's been bicycling for over 20 years. The particular 'diary' that I read through was his trip from North Carolina to Ohio to a town in Pennsylvania. And I thought it was so NEAT!

I can't imagine there's a person alive who HASN'T wish they could just drop everything and kind of 'get lost'...y'know, float off on a river or go hiking through the forest and just come out in a place that's unfamiliar or magical or something like that. I can't explain it, but hopefully you know what I mean. Anyway, this whole biking thing sounds like a terrific way to get that feeling! Taking back roads or roads through really small towns...it's something I think I'd definitely enjoy doing.

Of course, there are all the downsides: I don't have the physical stamina to endure peddling up hills, and there'd be a lot of visiting campsites and such, which I'm not used to...but I'm sure just a SMALL trip (to start off with) would be fun! I think I'd have to do it with a friend, though. Anyone interested? Ironically enough, if I actually did something like that it would have to be down in the Virginia area, such as near where my relatives live. I say it's ironic, because Virginia = mountains. :P Which means there'd be a lot of uphill peddling. But I'd want to do this more for the sightseeing than actual biking, so I could just as easily walk up the hills. :P

The more I think about this, the more I want to someday be able to do it!!! Not 'someday' as in 10 years from now, but within the next year or so. I'd have to do a bit of shaping up between now and then though, LOL! Not to mention learning a few things on how to go about doing such a thing. This guy was talking about biking along highways and stuff, and I thought you weren't allowed to walk or bike on highways! Oh well, I'm sure there are places that can tell you about all that.

Click here if you'd like to peruse this guy's site or anything. The particular two things that I read were 1992 and 1993's trips. 1992's is the one that went partially through Virginia, hehe :P And I just realized that part of his URL is "veloman": "bike"man! *giggles* I love French.

Kristen and I both got $5 improper checkout fees, and we're both wondering exactly WHY that happened. We both emptied our trash, unplugged everything, put out our little doorhanger, turned in our keys...everything we were supposed to do! What could we have missed? I even cleaned our floor so that the place wouldn't smell when we came back! I'm definitely going to have to contest this. I mean, it's only 5 dollars, but when you're a college student every cent helps! Five bucks is enough to order dinner from the Chinese place!!! I'm highly peeved about this.

But then I remember that tomorrow at this time (hopefully), I'll be out with Geoff. And that just makes everything look better. ;)

Heh...Mom bought me Sunny Delight to take back to college with me...and I HATE that stuff. I feel wretched when I tell her that kind of stuff, but honestly, that stuff really makes me feel ill! I guess she said she bought me a bunch of little bottles, so since she's not taking them back I'll try one of them and see if anything has changed between now and the last time I drank the stuff. I can't even explain what it is about the drink that makes me want to upchuck. It's like fake orange juice, or some kind of health drink that TASTES like it's supposed to be healthy. If that makes sense.

Anyway, since I already made a regular diary entry, I won't ramble on any further here. Not that I have anything else to ramble about...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!