Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: New Year
Written on Wednesday, Jan. 01, 2003 at 5:17 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

New Year's ranks right up there on my "Least Favorite Holiday list". Yes, part of the reason is just superficial stuff, but for whatever reason the whole event is just depressing. The ball-dropping bit? Completely anticlimactic. And yes, I'm very much aware of how totally dorky it is to sit at home and watch a BALL drop on New Year's Eve. This is part of why the holiday is so depressing.

I start off being all "Yay, it's a new year!" and such, but then by midnight I'm like, "Yay, new year, might as well just go to bed." X_X

What I hope for this year is that things will get back to normal (globally speaking), and perhaps some peace will return to our lives. All this fighting just has to stop!

Yeesh, I've been trying to write this entry for probably close to an hour now, and this is as far as I've gotten! *giggles* This is what happens when you get drawn into conversation. Not that anyone's devastated that I haven't written a novel's worth of stuff, I'm sure. ;)

A few days ago, Mom and I went over to this sports store so she could get her money back on a pair of shoes. I was in the back looking at their selection of Adidas sneakers when out of the corner of my eye, I saw some girl walk up really close to me. Thinking she was being rude and deciding to cross in front of me rather than behind, I backed up a step. Yet this girl just stood there, looking at me. After a couple of seconds trying to ignore her I finally looked up, my mouth opening to snap, "Do you have a problem??"

And I saw it was Kathy staring at me! I immediately burst out laughing, and then she, Amy and I began chatting. I haven't seen them in probably close to a year, so it was nice being able to talk to them...though they've changed so much that it was a little frightening as well. I felt so dumpy and dowdy standing next to them, because they're both slim and athletic and so nicely dressed...Remember how I said I've known them since they were really really little? They started off being unaware of the whole popular scene (as I suppose all young children are), but gradually they've gotten to the point where for all I know, they ARE the popular crowd! But at least they still deign to talk to me occasionally, ha ha...

At any rate, it was just weird. I remember when we used to play all these imaginary games when we were younger, and now they'd probably rather be shot than do something like that! :P From moving around so much, I've never really had friends for a long time...Kathy and Amy have been around for the longest, and even though we don't talk all that much anymore, it's nice to know that they're still there.

And speaking of not talking to people much anymore, I wonder what happened to Tiff... *giggles*

I guess I'm gonna go now. Lola just left to wash some garbage bins (heehee *grins*), and Lindsey left for awhile too. I can smell dinner cooking (we've finally got ham!), so I guess I'll go out and see how much longer that'll be!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!