Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Gerbil tanks and fish tanks, oh my!
Written on Friday, Dec. 13, 2002 at 3:34 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I'm so jealous!

*giggles* After I left for college, Mom asked her friend Charlie (yes, HIM) if he'd take my gerbils while I was gone. He's a big animal-lover, she told me, and last night when I got home I discovered that was true. He bought a great big 55-gallon tank (at least, it's up near there) for Parvati and Chloe, and he even bought a larger one for Ophelia! All four gerbils got new interiors, hehe...the tanks are split in half (width-wise) with a wooden board. One half is filled with CareFresh bedding and a bowl of food and such, and the other half is filled with sand and thick tubes for the gerbils to run through and such. It's everything I ideally would have liked to give my little guys, but didn't have the money (OR the inclination to clean all that, lol!). You can tell that they're all really happy, so as much as it irks me to say, I'll probably end up letting him keep my little babies, since they're better off with him than they'd be with me!

Anyway, this 'taking care of Amber's gerbils' thing seems to have gotten him all excited in petkeeping again, because he's now bought a TON of fishkeeping stuff! He's got another 55 gallon tank right now (keep in mind that these things are NOT cheap), and he's bought all the ornaments and gravels and things to go in them. He's got over $100 worth of 'free fish' certificates at Petco, and he's planning on buying yet ANOTHER 55 gallon tank because he wants to make them L-shaped! X_X The unfortunate thing about the fish is that Petco's fish tanks are WRETCHED. You would not want to buy fish from them because their tanks are algae-coated, half the fish are dead and sticking to the filter suction thingies...It's gross. And as I just found out, the "Mom and Pop" type pet store that I always used to go to--the one that's been there for over 10 years--has CLOSED!!! *cries* Their fish tanks were always in terrific shape, and best of all, they had the best female bettas (which are my favorite fish)! I have no idea where I'll get fish from now, since they were the best place around. I wish I had business sense (and money); I'd just reopen the store myself, hehehe...

Blah blah, what else...I slept in 'til 1:30 this afternoon, hee hee... :P At one point during the night I woke up and looked at the headboard, expecting to see scratched-up wood and a pile of stuffed animals next to me. Imagine my brief surprise when instead I saw wrought-iron and a pile of pillows! Hehehe...

I really ought to get up now and go take a shower before Mom gets home...but I suspect she's just gotten home. Hehe...Imagine her surprise when she sees me sitting here in bed, in my pajamas, very obviously looking as though I haven't gotten out of bed all day. Well, I need an itty bitty rest, right? ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!