Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Warm fuzzies
Written on Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2002 at 7:10 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Blech. I went to dinner with Lauren and Amanda, and then Shane decided to join us. *cries* I couldn't even enjoy my Banana Nut cappucino because I had to listen to that dirty punk! Hehe...punk...that's a funny word.

So anyway, if you couldn't tell already I'm not home. Mom called at around 8 o'clock this morning to tell me that the weather was really nasty and there was no way she'd be able to drive out. I'm bummed, of course, but at the same time it doesn't bother me too much because I promised Kristen a movie night. See, yesterday she was acting really sad, and when I asked what was wrong she told me how her friends were calling her uptight and making fun of her and all that. I thought I'd succeeded in cheering her up, but when I went over to Lauren and Amanda's last night I could tell she was still rather depressed. And when I came home around 1 in the morning, there was a note on her whiteboard that confirmed my suspicions. I felt so bad for her that I wrote out this two-page note telling her that obviously her friends hadn't seen how much she's grown during the semester, and how she IS important, and all of that. And then I was like, "Here's my idea: tonight, if I can't go home and you don't have plans, we'll have a movie night. And if I do go home, or you already have plans, then we'll just do it some night after we get back from break. Even if I have plans already, I'll drop 'em for ya!" So anyway, since I couldn't go home we're having our movie night tonight! ^_^

It's sorta funny how close I've grown to her. Even just a month or so ago I was really irritated with her and hating how she nagged at me and such, but I guess that was just the awkward phase. Now I can't imagine having anyone else for a roommate! She's really loosened up since starting college, and I love just being silly with her and laying in bed at night joking with her...or even giggling to myself when she talks in her sleep! ;) We might not have the same sort of closeness that Lauren, Amanda, Kevin and I have, but she's still a good friend! :)

Ooo, Mom called me again tonight and told me that I have my job back at Genuardi's! I know I should be glad for this, and I am. I neeeeed money. But at the same time, I was looking forward to having all 5 weeks to just relax! :P And I wasn't at ALL looking forward to working in salad bar, which was where John said he was going to put me. But Mom told me that she'd probably be able to get me working in the same department as her, so that should be okay. In a way I'd rather be back in the bakery, but I've heard it's so dreadful over there that I should probably be glad to move to a different department! And I won't spend all my time socializing with Mom, either, which I'm sure she's afraid I'll do. I know how to work, hehe...I just need to be trained a little in that department, first!

Still, I think I'll see if I can't take an entire week off, either right at the beginning or at the end of my vacation. I do deserve SOME time off, after all!

I hope I can get home tomorrow. One extra day being stuck here isn't bothering me too much, but Kristen's going home tomorrow (along with most of the rest of campus), and I don't wanna be stuck here by myself!! It was really icy out tonight; I nearly fell over a few times! I hope they put more salt out on the roads by tomorrow.

Last night was really fun. I felt cheap 'cause I didn't have presents for anybody, but Kevin, Lauren, and Amanda all had stuff for me! One of Kevin's presents was from his girlfriend, too...it was an old CareBear. ^___^ The best part of it, for me, was that the bear had once belonged to his girlfriend, but her mom was going to give them all away and she said she wanted to give me one...and she's only met me once! And that meeting was less than 5 minutes, and we really didn't even talk! So I really thought that was a sweet thing for her to do. 'Course, everything I got was really great, and it wasn't all bought, either. Lauren made cards for everyone--mine had me in tears, I was laughing so hard--and Amanda wrote us all these short little stories. She confessed that her writing skills were terrible, and yes I have read better things, but that didn't even matter to me. What mattered was that she put so much thought and effort into them. I think this was probably one of the best Christmassy things I've ever had before, because I've never had more than one friend who ever cared enough to put so much thought into things! It wasn't even about the gift-giving...it was just the realization that my friends are so wonderful!

It was definitely a great ending to a day that, overall, was one of the worst on record. We ended the night by writing these funny little stories. One person would start by writing a sentence, then they'd hand it to the next person. When the story was again handed over, the first sentence had to be covered up so that the third person could only see the second sentence, and so on. I've never done anything like that before, but it was hilarious. Our second story morphed into something completely different from the beginning sentence! They were both a little on the dirty side, lol, but it was still a fun activity.

Anyway, I guess that's it. Geoff's AOL screen name no longer exists, and I'm all but dying of curiosity to find out why it's disappeared. So I think I might try calling him. :P And then in another hour, Kristen and I will be watching "Bridget Jones's Diary," which I've never seen before! I hope it's good!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!