Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Pass the butterbeer!
Written on Friday, Dec. 06, 2002 at 11:44 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Hey, let's all pause a moment while Berry does her happy dance!!!!

*proceeds to do a very exuberant happy dance*

Yes, my Writing class is officially OVER. No more stressing, no more doing essay after essay after essay...at least, assuming I pass the course. ;) I handed in my final essay around 10:45 this morning, and my walk back home was considerably more pleasant. In fact, I wanted to skip and frolic and whoop for joy that the pain was finally all over! 'Course, because I was all rushed trying to get my Works Cited page finished this morning, I ended up forgetting to cite one source. But at this point, I'm just happy that I got the darned thing done at all. As long as I don't fail the paper, I should still pass the course. At least, that's what I'm hoping!

I let Kevin and Lauren read my essay last night (which I had cranked out in about two hours, after having accidentally missed my last Earth Science class). I was of the opinion that the entire 5 pages were crap, but both of them said that it was actually pretty good. That could have just been because they were friends, though. I needed to fill out a peer review-ish sheet, so in the end I had Kristen do it because it was about 1 in the morning and I couldn't call Lauren up again. I was really nervous about having Kristen read it, because she's in the Honors Program and I know she's really really critical about papers. But even she said it was good, and she hardly marked my paper up at all! Once again, though, I have to wonder if it was because a)I'm her roommate, b)It was late and she was tired, and c)I told her not to worry about marking it. :-P Oh well, at least I got some other input.

Before writing my own essay, I had to go down to the library to read over Miranda's and peer edit it for her. Up until now I'd been thinking that Miranda was a good writer, but when I read that essay...it was wretched! And I know that's a terrible thing to say, but it was really bad. Ironically, it's what inspired me to finally write my own, after I'd decided that I just wasn't going to do it because I couldn't think of anything. Anyway, I did tell her that her biggest problem was repeating the same basic stuff in every paragraph (each paragraph's ending sounded like a reiteration of the previous paragraph's ending), and I corrected some minor stuff, but that was about it. The biggest suggestion I would have had was to write the whole darned thing over again, but considering I hadn't even written my own paper yet, I felt I had no room to talk. :P That's probably another reason why I wasn't as thorough with my editing as I should have been: I was still stressing over my own essay.

But now it's all over, and I'm happyhappyhappy.

I called Geoff yesterday at work to see if he'd be home that night (I decided that calling him at work was the only way to get him to pick up the phone), and then I called him around 8 o'clock. His day off is Monday, so I can't get him to drive up here to get me on Wednesday. :P Oh well, you can't blame a girl for trying, right? I did try telling him that he had to take a whole week off while I was home, hehe...I don't know why I wanted a whole week, since we wouldn't be seeing each other every day, but I suggested it anyway. He told me that he'd been planning on trying to get a week off anyway, "just to use up some of my weeks." Surrrrrrre. ;) Hehe, just kidding, that really could have been his reasoning. I just prefer to think it was because of me, because it's an ego boost, heehee...And for once, I was the one to end the conversation! Usually we ramble on and on, but I'd just seen him and so there wasn't really much for me to say other than asking him to stop by Clarion. :P After I'd said that I had to go, he said something to the effect of "Give me a call soon." ^_^

Going off onto a mini-tangent, when I went in to work with Mom on Saturday and talked to Kay, she asked me if I was still hung up on Geoff. People seem to think it's kinda sad that I've been going after him this long, and yet nothing's happening. What irks me about it is that it only SEEMS like such a long time because everyone's known I've liked Geoff pretty much from the beginning (which would be October of last year, hehe). But think about it from HIS point of view! The guy didn't even know who I was last year, and all this time has been spent forming a friendship! I'd rather be friends with a guy before I dated him anyway because I'd be more at ease. So yeah, it's a long time for me to have liked him without any 'results', hehe, but considering I started from not even knowing him all that well, I think I'm doing pretty good!

Kevin's going home this weekend, which is kind of odd. We're going home next week, lol! Oh well, maybe his parents are making him go home because of some kind of event. At any rate, we agreed to eat lunch together at noon today (augh, that's going to be messy; noon is always super busy), and so I should probably post this and get going.

Y'know, even though I don't hang out 24/7 with these guys, and I sometimes get irritated with them, it's really nice to have such a close friendship with Lauren, Amanda and Kevin. I like to know that they're always there for me, and I like being there for them as well...though thus far they haven't really seemed to need my support. ;) Still, it's kind of amazing how close we've gotten in just a few months! I hope we stick together all throughout college. :)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!