Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Bonding Day
Written on Tuesday, Dec. 03, 2002 at 1:31 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Yesterday shall be known as Roommate Bonding Day. *chuckles* See, there's a door-decorating contest going on in this wing. At first, neither Kristen nor I was very interested in getting involved--after all, neither of us had the time or money to go out and buy decorations. But last night for some reason, the decorating bug got into us. It started off really simply: Kristen was taping these cute little snowmen she'd cut off of a plastic bag (hehe), and then she suggested that we make festive nametags for our door and that I put new costumes on my little Powerpuff Girls cutouts. So that's what we did. But then she found this tissue paper in a box one of her relatives had given her, and she was like, "This is snow!" So she taped it to the bottom of our door. It looked pretty silly, so I suggested that we make elves or something out of construction paper.

Our official starting time (including her taping up the plastic baggie pieces) was before 5 o'clock. We stopped to go to the Union meeting (and it turned out there wasn't one), then stopped again for dinner, but those were really the only two breaks we took. Kristen made a really cute snowman while I was at dinner, and then while she went to an English Club meeting I started making our elf. Being the perfectionistic person that I am, I couldn't just cut out a circle for the head and then slap on a silly little body. No, I had to first draw out what I wanted the elf to look like, then meticulously cut out the pieces. He's a little anime looking thing, because that's the only style in which I know how to draw, but he's still really cute. We took an old shoe string of Kristen's and wrapped it around him, then taped paper Christmas lights to it...so it looks like he's tangled up in Christmas lights. We also made a little tree, to make it look like he was trying to string the lights up on it.

Gustav the Swedish elf and Billy Bob the French snowman are very adorable on our door. *giggles* I'll take a picture once we've finished all the other decorations.

Both Kristen and I had a lot of fun making this stuff. I think this is the first time we've really done anything together before! I mean, we go to breakfast together every other day and sometimes even go to dinner (though not much anymore), but we've never actually worked on anything together. Most of the night was spent laughing and joking about stuff. It was really fun!

At dinner last night, Lauren was lamenting the fact that all of her friends have a boyfriend or girlfriend. "I'm ready to just hang myself," she stated (she's convinced she'll never find anybody).

"Um, I don't have a boyfriend, either," I reminded her.

Immediately, Lauren contradicted me. "You went over to the Grocery Guy's house," she retorted. I started laughing.

"That doesn't mean anything!" I exclaimed. But both she and Amanda are adamant that Saturday night was something serious. It's amusing, really. Lauren stated that Geoff and I are 'unofficially dating', which of course does wonders for my ego but I still know it's not true. I mean, maybe I'm just not seeing the same things that they are, being obviously too close to the situation, but on the other hand they've never seen Geoff and don't know his personality or behaviors. To me, Saturday night was just a friend inviting another friend over for dinner. I don't think I exaggerated or embellished my tale at all when I told it to them (I even told Amanda about how I'd been shafted!). But oh well, it's still nice to ponder the possibility of them being right. ;)

Apparently, my Writing professor actually noticed that I wasn't there! Kevin and Lauren were both like, "Yeah, she said, 'Oh, Amber's not here,'" or something like that, and I remarked that it was a little scary that she'd notice. "Well," Lauren reminded me, "you're the one who's always making funny comments under your breath..."

^^;

It was kind of nice being noticed, though. I always feel like that little shadow that, subconsciously, people know are there but never really notice. I don't think I'm a very memorable person, hehehe... :P I just hope she thinks kindly about me when she gets this last essay (whenever I write it), because it's undoubtedly going to suck!

Ugh. I have to put my shoes on and run down to Message Design now. According the little weather thingies over there on the left side, it is bitterly chilly outside right now! I have no winter jackets. I wore my fleece yesterday, but I think that was even worse than wearing my layered windbreaker over a sweatshirt! I've never had the need for a winter coat until now, probably because I'm rarely outside for more than a few short minutes. But now I need to buy something warm....fast. Actually, wait...I'll be going home in a week, so it doesn't matter! Ha ha ha! ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!