Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Time to cash in!
Written on Monday, Dec. 02, 2002 at 11:22 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

When I woke up this morning, the only thing I could think about was that I had to go to Writing today. Then it occurred to me that I still have two bright and shiny skip days that I never cashed in for that class. Thus, today I'm using one of them. As soon as I'd made my mind up about it, my day suddenly looked so much brighter! Not wonderful, of course, because my essay is still due on Friday by 11 o'clock in the morning, but much less stressful. Had I gone today, I would have had to sit there in misery, knowing that I had absolutely nothing to work on because I hadn't even gathered my sources yet. Today, I'm bound and determined that I will work on getting those during the time that I would normally be in class.

Kristen actually listened to me last night when I told her that I always seem to get better grades if I do these things at the last minute than when I start on them well in advance. I'd expected her to just kind of scoff at me, but she actually listened and remarked, "You're one of those people who works best under pressure," or something like that. I was surprised at her response, considering she usually doesn't seem to tolerate procrastinating folks like me. She always gets her stuff done days in advance...which is actually a good thin, 'cause it takes the stress off early on, but I've never been able to get all my homework done so far in advance. The times I have started on English papers weeks in advance, I always ended up getting really low grades on them. This has taught me that despite what my professor keeps trying to tell me, doing things a few days beforehand really isn't a bad thing...for me, anyway. I would rather get a B or even a C+ for something I worked on the night before than get a C- or lower after I worked on the thing for a week.

I'm so ecstatic; next week, I might be able to go home on Wednesday! The semester doesn't officially end until the 13th, but two of my finals are on Monday and my Earth Science final is on Tuesday. I'm not sure when our group presentation in Message Design will be, but that will hopefully be on Tuesday as well. After that...unless there's some kind of meeting we have to attend on the 11th or whatever, I'll be home free for FIVE WEEKS!!! The down side to this is that I'll have to find a job, but I doubt I'll be able to find one because who wants to hire someone for a few weeks at a time? Tim was trying to convince me to apply at the store where he works (which is just down the road from Genuardi's), but I'm not sure I want to work there. At least I'd know someone though, right? Hehehe...And that store is still family-owned, so they'd hopefully be more understanding of the whole college thing.

I wish I could take a nap. Technically, I could have, but Kristen's back now and I don't want to just turn the light off on her and be like, "See ya, I'm taking a nap!" She said she really wanted to take one, but she has to get research done for her speech that she has to make. Not sure when it's due, but she works better when she's NOT under the stress of a nearby deadline. ;)

I finished my web page for CIS! Aren't you proud of me? All I had to do was fix up a few things, then print it out. The printing process was excrutiating and I never want to go through that again, but other than that everything was quick and painless! The one thing that's bothering me is the fact that I've had to direct-link all the images. Apparently, there's a way to upload graphics to your own little section of the Clarion web, but the professor didn't tell us how to do it and I figure this page is only going to be there for the duration of the assignment...so I guess the direct-linking thing won't be TOO bad. And it's not like I'll have hordes of people going to look at it, either! It's a very boring page...though it looks almost identical to this butterfly layout because I put the same design there. *giggles* I couldn't stand that boring, rudimentary white page! Now that I know how to do CSS and stuff, I fully intend to use it! :P

Did I mention that I can't wait to go home again? I figure I can get in at least one full day in with Geoff...what do you think? ;) I know, I'm a sad, sad person.

Anyway, I'm going to go now. Wouldn't even be worth it to take a nap now, since I have to go to French in a little over an hour. "Power naps" do not work for me. So I'll find something else to do instead!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!