Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Good job, Berry!
Written on Monday, Nov. 25, 2002 at 10:40 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

That was fun.

I wasn't able to get to sleep until around 12:30 this morning...I was as excited as if this had been Christmas morning! *giggles* Then I woke up again at 4 o'clock anyway, so I lay there in bed for a few minutes and finally jumped up to start getting ready. I didn't want to wake Kristen up, since it was so early in the morning, so I grabbed all my stuff and went down to the bathroom to fix up. It was so nice having all that space to myself! One person came in, but that was it. I wish I could have my own bathroom again.

Anyway, I got all my stuff and began the walk down to the station. It was admittedly rather creepy walking on campus at that time of morning, because there was absolutely no one around. I was afraid I was going to get jumped or something, hehehe...I had to stop off at the Public Safety building to get them to unlock the studio door, but then it was all me! I didn't sign on 'til a few minutes after 6 because I had to program most of my show...and it's a good thing I took that extra time! By the middle of the show, I was panicking because I didn't have enough songs to last me through 'til the end! As it was, I just made it (though as I found out when the next DJ came in, I only had to program 'til 8:30 anyway, 'cause we have to play these stupid mini-show things).

I think I did alright. Pam called in at one point to say she'd just turned the radio on (I'd left a note on her door, hee hee), and then a little while later Andrea called in to request a song. She didn't even know it was me at first, but then she was like, "Is this Amber?" When I said yes, she was like, "This is Andrea!" We both thought it was kinda funny, hehe...after she requested her song, she was like, "Well, I'll see you in class!" (which just happened to be at 9 am)...Oh well, I guess it was one of those 'had to be there' moments. ;)

The DJ who came in after me is really nice. He even likes the same cheesy music that I do, LOL! When I put in Queen's "We Will Rock You" and said that they were one of my favorite bands, he lamented that there was very little Queen music that was Format 1 (the only stuff we can play during the day). And he approved of my choice of the Barenaked Ladies' "One Week", hehehe...

I think I did a pretty good job of grouping songs. You're not supposed to just put songs wherever you want them (y'know, like having Britney Spears right next to a country song or something), so what we were told to do is group like songs together, and then use jingles or commercials to segue between different genres. I didn't think I'd be able to do that, but it was actually pretty easy! I had my "Classic Rush" at one point, where I played a few 80's songs and ended with The Guess Who's "No Sugar Tonight"...it was great. *giggles* I wanted to play "Safety Dance", but that CD was gone!! >_< So was the CD with The Guess Who's song on it, but I reminded myself aloud that I had a copy of that song. :P

Right now, I'm listening to my work to see what I can improve on. :P It probably sounds conceited to listen to your own show, but I can't tell how badly I'm doing while I'm doing it, so I like to be able to listen to it later. I'm proud of my seguing job between songs, LOL! And my voice volume is much better, too. All I need to do now is get some funny little ditties or something, like they play on major radio stations' morning shows. Then I'll be all set. ;)

Anyway, I'll stop boring you with all of this and go work on the final draft of my Reading Report. I know I'm going to fail this one...it was a terrible article to do a report on, but there wasn't exactly enough time for me to do my other work AND look for a better article! So I'll just have to deal with what I have. So there!!!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!