Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Irritating boy!
Written on Monday, Nov. 04, 2002 at 6:38 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Ya wanna know who just ticked me off? Frank. I would like to pummel him until all my frustrations have been vented. Since you are such a good listener, Diary, I shall endeavor to take out my anger in a non-aggressive way and explain it to you.

See, Frank has this habit of whining. I've mentioned it to you before, Diary. He'll just go off on a tangent about how life is so unfair, and how everyone is out to get him in some way or another, and usually I just sit there and let him rant about it. However, if we're online when he's doing this ranting (which is always the case, now that I'm at college), he typically says really stupid things like, "Someone fell asleep over there!" or "Are you still there?" because I'm apparently not saying enough to him. What can one say when some guy's whining on about how he can't date anyone because all the people he works with try to ruin it for him? First off, I know that he is highly prone to exaggeration, and so I'm not going to sit there and go "Aww, you poor baby!" which is obviously what he must want me to do. But even if I didn't know that, one can only say "aww" so many times before she wants to vomit from the absurdity of it all.

So tonight, when he told me about how Beverly was apparently trying to ruin the blossoming relationship between him and some person he refuses to name, I decided that for the first time I'd try to give him some advice. Giving advice to Frank, however, is a tricky thing. See, on top of being prone to exaggeration, he's also overly sensitive. And I mean VERY overly sensitive. He takes everything as being some kind of personal affront, and so that's part of the reason why I've never actually tried to give advice to him before. But tonight I just wanted him to shut up...though admittedly, I started it by asking him why he IMed me last night saying simply "I HATE BEV!!!" in huge letters (I was away at the time). Anyway, I asked him if this person he's going after works in the store. If so, I explained, you have to keep the relationship a secret if you don't want anybody interfering with it. Grocery stores are notorious gossip mills, and many people (the older women especially) can turn somewhat malicious in their need to stir things up. So if he doesn't want anyone to 'ruin' his budding relationship, he has to keep it quiet. If this person doesn't work at the store however, it's still necessary for him to keep things quiet for the same reasons that I mentioned above.

Frank wrote back saying that he hadn't even said anything (Yeah, right), but that people just started talking and making up stuff. So, in as gentle a manner as I could (and I swear to you, Diary, that I was being completely polite and non-accusatory), I told him that maybe he's just overly sensitive, and that he needs to learn how to ignore those people because if they see they can get him riled up, they're going to continue to do so just for the pure entertainment value. Hello, didn't we learn that in like first grade?

Well. It was apparently the wrong thing to say. I don't even remember the exact response, but it ended with something like, "Not to piss you off, but I didn't tell you this so you could yell at me." (all in lower case, though, of course.) WTF???? I wish I hadn't just gotten rid of that IM window, so I could prove that I'd done nothing of the sort. Even when I retaliated at him, I remained rather calm. I informed him that I wasn't yelling, that this was an example of what I meant by him being "overly sensitive", and that the only reason I decided to give advice was because it seemed the right thing to do. "I'M tired of hearing all these rants and then getting yelled at because I don't say anything in response!" or something to that effect...that was the most heated I got. But I was fuming. I just cannot stand this kid. I wish that he would spontaneously combust or get abducted by aliens...something!!!

Okay, I just went to dinner with Ashley and Meagan and some of their friends, and that was fun. I like Ashley and Meagan. Meagan likes The Doors and Led Zeppelin and other bands like that, which is nice because even though I don't listen to a lot of that kind of music, I still prefer it over what most people listen to...Her side of the room looks like some kind of psychadelic hippie-esque shrine, hehe...She's got posters of The Doors (one of them I wouldn't mind having, as a matter of fact), little things that she's made...it's really cool. And then there's Ashley, who's a real sweetheart...and to think, when I first met her I wasn't so sure I liked her!! :P

I don't know what's up with Lauren. I just didn't feel like going downtown with her, Kevin, and Amanda this afternoon, but she seemed to be in a bad mood anyway. Then Ashley invited me to dinner, so I went with them at 5:30, but then "The Gang" arrived at 6, and I felt as though I was being rude or something because I went to dinner with someone other than them! Anyway, Lauren just like ignored Ashley for some reason, and it seems like she's been doing it a lot lately. It's stressing me out and getting me quite upset, because I don't WANT to have to feel guilty for hanging out with Ashley instead of Lauren, you know? Kevin's friends with Ashley too, but I don't know if he feels guilty like that. I think maybe I'll talk to him about it sometime when we're by ourselves and see what he says. It helps to talk those sorts of things out.

Anyway, I'm going to go now. I'm feeling really upset right now for some reason, almost like I want to cry...and I'm not really sure why! Gah...It's probably just a combination of these social problems and all of this Writing homework that's been piled upon me.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!