Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Our Show
Written on Saturday, Nov. 02, 2002 at 11:45 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Ambra and Pamera entertained the Clarion masses for 3 hours this afternoon/evening! *giggles* Before walking down to the studio, I was listening to Eric's show, which is all Oldies. His music is great; I always really enjoy listening to what he plays. Today, he played the full version of "Nights In White Satin", complete with Graeme's poem at the end! I was so elated that I nearly called him up right there, lol...but he's only met me once, so he wouldn't know who I was. ;) Anyway, as soon as we got down there I walked into the room and said, "Eric, I'd just like to tell you that I love you--in a purely non-threatening sort of way. You played The Moody Blues, and they're my favorite band!" :P

We started off the show with that "Shrek in the swamp karaoke dance party!" song (hehe..I like that line), and then we signed ourselves on. Well, I screwed up because I'd forgotten to put a blank tape in, so instead of talking up the next song like I'd wanted to, Pam had to do it and I felt like the whole thing was screwed up...because the first song was Gary Puckett, which was dedicated to Mom! *sniffles* Oh well, I played the dedication part to her over the phone, and she was happy with it. ;) Things were going pretty well, though as I listen to it, I'm seeing how bad we were at segues and volume control (both OUR volumes, and the machine volume)...Oh well, it was our first time!

At the end of "Bohemian Rhapsody", where they go, "Nothing really matters...to meeee," Pam and I put on the microphone and sang with them. I found out later...well, was reminded, rather, that the Rec Center here on campus keeps WCUC on all the time, which means that they heard all our goofing off! It was great. *laughs*

Oo, then halfway through the show, I dedicated "Roundabout" to Geoff. ^_^ I played that over his answering machine, lol...wonder if he's heard it by now or if today's one of his "Not going to listen to my messages for three days"... ;)

Things got hectic toward the end, because all these people were calling in a row, and then Pam got confused with the CDs, so we were a little short with each other for a couple of minutes. However, all in all the show went really well! All of Pam's friends were listening to it (I got a little put out because when they called and I answered, they were like "Pam?" hehe)...HEY! Laura, remember that song line that reminded you of another song? Could it be "The Bad Touch", by the Bloodhound Gang? LOL! We played that song on our show, and those lyrics are in it. As a matter of fact, when you first mentioned those lyrics, that's the song it reminded me of! Anyway...

Lauren, Amanda, and Kevin had all been listening but apparently didn't hear us give out the request line number so they never got through. Anyway, they gave me a huge ego boost by telling me that I have a "good radio voice". *beams* I don't really know that I believe them, since they were probably only saying that to be nice...though actually, Kevin has this tendency to let us all know if we're not doing something well, lol...With my story, for example, he'll tell me when he thinks his character is getting "too stale". So I guess for his part at least, he was being honest. He said I have radio humor too, whatever that means. Hehehe...

The one thing that's kinda funny (for me) is that I haven't cringed at all when my voice comes on. For the longest time, I couldn't stand to hear my own voice, because I thought I sounded so dorky. I'm sure I still wouldn't be able to see myself on film because I look so round and dumpy (and right now I'm not feeling quite so conscious about my figure). But it's a good sign to not mind my voice as much as I used to. In fact, when I first started listening to the tape tonight, I was like, "Wait a second, is that me?" It doesn't even SOUND like me! I don't know if that's a good thing or a bad thing. ;)

As usual, after a really big event that I've been building myself up for (such as this), I feel completely drained. As soon as the euphoria's over (which lasts maybe 20 minutes or so after the event has ended), I actually get somewhat depressed and don't want to do anything except sit in my room. I've mentioned it somewhere before, but sometimes I feel like I'm a battery. My 'happy cells' are charged to capacity and I'm just flying high, and then it's like that one event just drains everything and I'm left with only the negative cells. Sometimes, it doesn't even have to be a 'big' event to get me like that; I can feel drained after one of my 'high points'. This is why I feel like I might have some form of bipolar disorder...Oh well, my entry isn't supposed to be depressing! *grins*

Okay, I think I'll go now. The Gang's going to brunch tomorrow around 11, so I need to actually set my alarm to wake up! : Oh yeah, and then we're going to the mall around 2, hehe...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!