Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: My new job
Written on Thursday, Oct. 31, 2002 at 1:11 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Last night was the fateful radio station meeting...the one where I'd find out whether or not I could get the morning show. Well, it turns out that we won't actually KNOW for a week or something like that, because instead of telling them what show we wanted and getting instant gratification (or disappointment) we had to write down our top 5 choices on this sheet and then hand it in. You wanna know what happened? I am SO peeved! See, all this time I'd been thinking--and Amber and Kristin had been thinking--that no one would want the morning show. I mean, who wants to get up at 5 in the morning (or even earlier)? But it turns out that some guy named Tyrone also signed up as wanting the morning show! *cries*

Yes, technically it's a good thing, because I'd have a cohost every day of the week. However, I don't know this guy--didn't even get a chance to SEE him--and so it's not exactly going to be the best environment for me, for awhile at least. I'm also afraid that he'll like music that's so drastically different from mine that we won't get along. Granted, since this is a daytime show we can't really play anything THAT bad, but he might lean more toward R&B stuff and I am most definitely NOT an R&B sort of person. Anyway, then there's the superficial problem of having to compromise my show ideas with someone else. :P I know it sounds stupid, it's just that when you get something in your head, you kind of make it your baby, you know? I'd intended to call the show "AM Rush", and either every hour or every show I'd be like, "Okay, today's Rush is...The Beatles!" or something like that. It would be a block of two or three songs by that one band, and in the 6 am hour I'd be the one to pick it, but after that I'd take calls, blah blah. OH! And then there's my "Thankless Trivia" idea! Well, I think he'd probably go for that, because it's a fun idea.

At any rate, I'll get over it. Kristin said he was a really nice guy, and so I'm hoping I'll get along with him alright. Mel, the station manager, said that we could be cohosts (well, she told me; he'd already left), so I think we're going to get that timeslot. I just hope he and I get a chance to talk to each other before next semester so that we have a good rapport going beforehand! :P

Before the show scheduling thing actually started, Amber stood up and announced that she, Kristin, Larry, and someone else needed 'apprentices' because they were graduating this year and needed people to take over their spots on the Executive Board. After I finished with my paper and handed it in, I ended up passing by Amber and Kristin. Amber asked me if I was interested in her job (which is Music Director), and I was like, "Yeah, I was going to ask you whether it was a hard job or not!" She assured me that it wasn't, so I said that yeah, I'd be interested in it. Sooooo, she's going to show me a little bit of it this semester, just to see if I still want to do it, and if I do then I'll be trained next semester, and then starting Fall of 2003...I'll be on the Executive Board!!!! :D

Can you imagine? When I first started DJ training, I'd had the hopes of moving my way up to Exec Board. I figured it'd be my junior year, at best, before I was eligible for a spot on it, but I'll just be turning sophomore, wahoo! I'm so excited. I never would've gotten something like this in high school, since it was all a popularity contest and nobody even knew I existed. College rocks!!!

Oh yeah, and on that last DJ test I took, I got a 53 out of 50. I missed two of the extra-credit questions. ;) So there's no doubt of whether or not I passed DJ training, LOL! The odd part is, I have the know-how behind it all, but at this point I don't feel I have the personality for being an on-air talent. Maybe that'll just come with time. Many of the other kids on the air don't have much personality either, so it's not as if I can't get a show at college...it's just my future career that would be hindered. But that's okay, because I'd probably rather get a behind-the-scenes type job anyway.

Oo, guess what else happened. I called Geoff and Tim (despite my resolve to only call that one time), and Tim actually answered!!! I talked to him for all of 10 minutes (if that), and then suddenly Geoff came home. I don't even want to see my phone bill, but it was worth it to talk to him. I think I shocked him a little bit by how much I've changed personality-wise since I left...He hadn't heard about the incident at Mission Improvable (where I asked that guy if he was for sale), and he said that that definitely didn't sound like something I'd normally do. Hehehe...Surprising people is so much fun. I'm definitely becoming more outgoing.

Anyway, I got a little purple slip last night saying that I'd received a package, and I have a strong suspicion that it's from Amazon.com. If it is, I need to tell you all that they are a TERRIFIC company to buy from. At least, I've only ever had great experiences. Their shipping rate is unbelievably fast; they told me that because I got free shipping, my shipping time would be between 5 and 9 business days. I got a notice that my books had been shipped on Monday, and I got a slip from the mail place notifying me of a package yesterday. That was what, like 2 or 3 days it took for it to get here! And even when I pay for shipping, it's always 2 or 3 days. I would never hesitate to buy from them, because they've always been very reliable. *pats Amazon.com on the back*

So yeah, I want to go down to the mail place now and get my package so that I have time to come back before I have to run down to Becker again. Our group is working a little more on our Message Design project. If Aaron doesn't show up, I will personally kick him off the island..though I suspect he'd be voted off anyway.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!