Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Radio talk
Written on Tuesday, Oct. 29, 2002 at 1:08 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Thank you, Lola dear! :) My entry is fixed so that the first paragraph isn't larger than the rest! ^_^ It's not like it was a huge problem, but it was kind of annoying aesthetically-speaking.

I read the news today...Amber (aka "The Diva") says that I have a very good news voice, hehehe...I wonder if I should just make a career of reading the news on regular radio stations. :P Pam and I sub in for Jess on her show this Saturday, so I'll finally have the chance to try out a "DJ voice". *giggles* It probably won't work. My voice is so mellow and plain, if I want it to sound nearly as animated as a real DJ I'll have to do some over-exaggeration! That'll be a trick. Thankfully, I'll probably be much more animated with Pam there, because she's so wacky that it's kind of contagious...and besides that, I tend to be a little weirder when I'm with my friends. At any rate, I know it's going to be fun. And the casette thing down there is working again, so if I remember to bring a blank tape I'll be able to record our show; Mom is dying to hear me on the radio, LoL!

There's a winter weather advisory for tonight, which has me ready to gleefully take out my boots in preparation. Sure, we're only supposed to get 1-2 inches of accumulation, but considering that it's only the end of OCTOBER and we're already getting advisories for snow, I have very happy expectations for the upcoming winter. ^_^ The only downer of it all is hearing all the people whining and complaining about it (like my roommate). Just be happy we don't live in Siberia or something! Yeesh...

Amber invited me down to visit her and Kristin last night. It was a pleasant change from my usual nights of watching movies over at Lauren and Amanda's room. Don't get me wrong, I love spending time with those two, but it was nice hanging out with people my own age for a change, too! I was invited out to the Loomis for Amber's 22nd birthday. I think they're planning on going out on the 8th or 9th, something like that. I have to find out when Amanda, Lauren, and I are spending our weekend in Pittsburgh, though. I don't think that's until the following weekend, since we're going to see the premiere of "Harry Potter and the CoS". But it won't hurt to check anyway.

After reading the news, Amber also invited me to join the...shoot, what's it called, something like the National Association of Collegiate Broadcasters...I know that's wrong, but it's something along those lines. At any rate, it's something that I was actually interested in, but I didn't think you could join until you were an upper classman. It costs $35 a year to join, but that's hardly an exorbitant fee. And anything that might help me in the future with a career is a help, right? It meets every Thursday at 5pm, but I forgot to ask her exactly WHERE it meets, lol...I won't be going until next Thursday though, because this Thursday is basically just planning their weekend trip (I think it's a Regionals thing). I'll have plenty of time to ask.

Tomorrow is when we get to pick our show times! If I don't get offered a spot of any sort, I'll be so depressed. I'll have to be someone else's cohost, instead of being the one to pick out cohosts (assuming I even got THAT lucky, hehehe)! I honestly think I'll be able to land the morning show, because no one else is going to want it. But with my luck, that annoying girl Jess will decide that since SHE can't get any other show, she'll go after mine instead (I think she heard me talking about wanting the morning show). Amber and Kristin were telling me last night that Jess kept sitting in with them even after she got 11 sit-ins! I was jealous in a way, because I was the one who'd wanted to get a nice even 10 sit-ins...but one of hers was a cheat, and I got all mine finished before her anyway, so I guess it's alright. And besides that, they were both saying that Jess has no talent, heh...Apparently, she likes sucking on cough drops while she's on the air too, which of course makes a wonderful noise over the air waves. :P I just have to hope that she doesn't get a show next semester, 'cause I certainly don't want to have to run into her at meetings and things...

While Amber and I (ha ha...Amber and Amber) were walking upstairs, we walked past Ian, who's a DJ trainee that got to take over the 12-3 slot on Tuesdays with Gaby. His DJ name is "DJ Flyboy", which I find really amusing. So when I saw him today, I was like, "Dee-jay FLAH-boy!" He laughed and looked down at the ground for a few moments, hehe...it was cute. If people have funny DJ names, I like calling 'em by it...Maybe once I've become a DJ, whenever the other DJs see me they'll be like, "Hey, Wench!" *laughs* Strange dreams, eh? ;)

I called Geoff last night and left a message on the answering machine. Told 'em I'd be free tonight after 8:30, then said I wasn't going to call them anymore because "even though you're both sexy beasts, you never pick up your phone!" We'll see if he actually calls tonight. It'll be the only night that I actually sit here in my room for him. Sure, I shouldn't even sit here tonight, but 1) It'll give me the opportunity to do my homework for tomorrow, and 2) I would like to talk to him. But I'm not going to sit around and waste away for him. I've got something of a social life now, after all! ;)

Kristen's boyfriend Tom is coming up this weekend, and will be staying in this room. Lauren already told me that I could spend the night there, but I'll probably just spend all day there and then come back here late enough that they'll both be asleep. The crappy part of it all is that Tom will be sleeping on the floor, so I'll have to step around him...unless I can convince Kristen to make his bed right underneath her loft. That wouldn't be so bad. But I mean, a guy sleeping in here...that's going to SUCK! I'm going to have to get dressed in the bathroom! *growls* If this weekend doesn't go well, I won't allow him to stay again.

Anyway, I'm really really tired and I can't concentrate, so I'm just going to post this and go lie down or something.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!