Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Rants and realizations
Written on Friday, Oct. 18, 2002 at 12:41 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

It is cold. I would like to wrap in wooly things like gloves and scarves and sweaters. As it is, I have a pair of purple gloves, a multi-color-striped sweater (in lurvely autumn colors)...and that's about it. I would have liked to have my purple gloves this morning as I made my chilled way to computer science, but alas, I'd left them in my room. I plan on bringing them when I go to French today, but it'll probably be a little warmer by then and I won't need them! X_X It's just impossible to win. :P

I got an email the other night from an older lady that I used to work with at SuperFresh. She told me that she'd seen Matt the other day and asked him if he'd heard from me lately. He said no, but then said, "I really liked hanging out with Amber." Of course, I got all excited about that. No, I'm not going back into my "I'd really love to date him!" phase, but I would like it if we could start talking again! He's worse than Geoff when it comes to communicating, though. Heaven forbid he ever become involved in a long-distance relationship, LoL! Anyway, I wrote him an email a couple nights ago, and he read it last night apparently (according to that nifty AOL mail function), but he hasn't written back. That happened last time I tried writing him, and I'm not going to fret about it this time. It would just be really nice to hear from him.

Ten minutes 'til I leave for French. Maybe I should stand up and get my things together. :P I'm so lazy. I've got most of the weekend to myself, which I am positively thrilled about. Kristen's going home today and coming back some time on Sunday, but hopefully it'll be late on Sunday! Lauren and Amanda think her newfound nagging behavior toward me is because she's comfortable with me now, whereas before she kept quiet because we really didn't know each other. Oh well, it still bugs me. I can't hate her or anything, though, because I know that generally speaking she's a nice person.

I realized last night that I'm glad my mom never let the teachers put me in the Honors program. Last night at dinner, my friends and I were sitting across from the table where all the Honors kids were. They're like a small cult. They don't really include people who aren't in the program with them, and they have this 'holier than thou' sort of personality. Kristen's tried a couple of times to get me to eat dinner with them, but it's like being a fifth wheel. None of them are outright mean to me or anything, but it's also obvious that I'm not "one of them". What makes them think they're any better than the rest of us, anyway? It's just a silly label that was placed on them! In the long run, I don't see them getting any better opportunities than I will. As it is, I've heard tons of people (before I went to college) say that college degrees hardly mean anything these days. People can major in rocket science and end up working at McDonald's for the rest of their lives. So honestly, how much better off are they being in the Honors program than I am in my lovely mediocre classes? I'm getting A's and B's thus far. I'm happy. And I don't treat the 'dumb' folks as if they're somehow less than me.

Anyway, that was my rant for the day. I just get annoyed at supercilious sorts.

Jess, as of next week, is no longer our RA. This past weekend, she came home drunk. And then I guess she found out yesterday that she's been fired (or whatever they do to RA's). So she has to move out of her room, and Pam says she'll be moving off campus. It sucks that it happened to her, but at the same time she's lucky that nothing worse happened. Not only was she an RA, but she was drinking underage (which, of course, is illegal). I'm not really anal about underage drinking, but if you get caught, it's obvious that there'll be a penalty. She's lucky she didn't get kicked out of Clarion, period. But still, I'll miss her. She was fun. We're supposed to get another RA, but I hope she's not really strict and retarded. I'd like her to be a little stricter than Jess, because sometimes it gets too rowdy up here, but at the same time I like the laid-back atmosphere of this wing. We'll just have to see.

I have to go to French now! Au revoir! OH NO! I forgot, we've got homework due, LOL!!!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!