Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Qui est Oscar Lake?
Written on Sunday, Oct. 06, 2002 at 3:22 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

In keeping up with my trendsetting friends, Lola and Jam, I installed a new weather gadget underneath my Weather Pixie. Unfortunately, Clarion is so far out in the middle of Nowhere Land that the closest reading I can get is from DuBois (which is 45 minutes to an hour away). But this little gadget is supposed to be more reliable than darling Weather Pixie.

And let's face it: when you're reading someone's online diary, the very first thing you want to know is what the temperature's like in their area.

I didn't get to bed until after 3 o'clock this morning, because I'd brought out those French learning CDs I bought before I started college. Remember, the ones I'd hoped would help refresh my memory? The 5th CD was a game called "Who is Oscar Lake?" or something like that, and so I played that through from start to finish before going to bed. Really cheesy game. Only certain people are real people (the ones you have to talk to) and the rest are computer-generated. I cracked up when the human police inspector was surrounded by a group of very obviously computer-generated policemen. But the game was still fun. I lost, hehe, but I had fun playing it.

I'm not quite sure if I learned anything, though...

Didn't wake up until after one again today, though at least it was earlier than yesterday. Still, when Kristen comes back from wherever she went, I just know she's going to rib me about it. :P That's okay, I made fun of her hair last night. *smiggles* One of her friends dyed it, and it's a really bright gold color. At first, I wasn't sure I liked it, but the color actually suits her. It's not white-gold, but more of a very yellow gold...I can't explain it, but it looks natural..well, it will after it tones down a teeny bit, hehe... ;) But I still like it. To tease her, though, I wrote a note on my whiteboard: "I'm charging a mere FIVE CENTS to see my roommate's fluorescent hair!" Heehee...She left to go brush her teeth last night, and only moments after the door was closed, she opened it again with that "What is THIS??" look. I assured her that I thought her hair looked fine, and that I was just waiting 'til she saw that before I erased it, hehehe...

We've started calling each other 'Roomie' now, and as lame as this will sound, it kinda makes me happy, hehe...Before I came here, I had this hope that my roommate and I would be really good friends, and when we greeted each other or whatever we'd be like "Hey, Roommate!" *laughs at herself* Yes, I wish for strange things sometimes. ;)

I, once again, am procrastinating. I just can't bring myself to start on that Writing assignment! Actually, I have two of them, because I'd like to rewrite that Reading Report and see if I can't get a better grade on it. It's nice of her to give us that opportunity, I suppose...This essay is only a rough draft, which means it's allowed to suck, and yet I STILL can't start on it! I hate this feeling. I want to go back to high school and write a silly theme. :P

The professor told us one day that we're writing on a university level, and not a community college level. Ouch...That just sounds so condescending! I was never aware before how much more prestige came with the word 'university' than 'college'. For me, the two words were always synonymous (though I did always wonder why some schools were named 'college' and others 'university'). I guess, in the back of my mind, I always thought that community colleges were a step below other colleges and universities...otherwise, maybe I would have relented and taken classes at the community college closer to home. But I wasn't aware that their writing standards were lower...Maybe that's just my professor's prejudice or something. Goodness knows her standards are impassible for everything else...

I think I'm going to try playing that Oscar Lake game again, but this time, I'm not going to let myself be framed for the crime! Maybe I'll try to get a screen capture of that silly inspector and his animated minions...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!