Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Smarter than the average bear!
Written on Monday, Oct. 07, 2002 at 11:48 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I get to go home this weekend, yippy skippy! Well, it won't really be going home, 'cause I'll only be there for a few minutes or whatever before we travel down to Virginia...but nonetheless, I'll get to see Mom and I'll be able to do stuff, so that'll be nice. If I could be assured that people would come up and visit me (like *coughGeoffcough*), then I'd just stay at home, because I'd really like the opportunity to sleep in my own bed again. But it'll still be nice to go down to Virginia and see my relatives.

I got my vintage shirt today, and guess what? It's too narrow in the shoulders for me! *wails* The sleeves are SOO neat, too, so I'm kinda irritated over not being able to wear it. I'll either sell it (hee hee), or just stow it away so that one day I can say, "I have a vintage 60's shirt!" and people will just fawn all over me because, after all, having a vintage 60's shirt is just about the coolest thing ever. :P Anyway...As I was walking down to the mail center (where UPS packages go, since apparently UPS can't deliver a few hundred feet down the road to our usual pickup spot), I met up with Kevin and two girls that he went to high school with. I don't really like them because they have a sort of snooty attitude, but Kevin was like, "Hey, what're you up to?" When I told him I was going to pick up a package, he said he'd walk with me. Well, not only did he walk with me, but he carried my box back up the hill, too. I'm really enjoying the fact that my two favorite guys are gentlemen, hehe!

We stood out in the middle of the parking lot talking for about an hour (all the while watching out for the cars turning in and out of the lot around us), and then Kristen came over so I walked in with her. I can't wait to show him the story I've been working on, hehe...I think he'll get a kick out of it.

Last night on the phone, Mom told me that back in second grade my teacher had really wanted to put me in advanced classes. But Mom wouldn't let her, because she didn't want me to a)Become one of those people who looks down on those NOT in the advanced classes, and b)Feel kind of left out and whatnot. I'd never known about this before, and it probably would have never come up except that I mentioned my friend Kathy (who's a junior in high school this year) is taking an AP class. "I feel so stupid!" I lamented. I mean, Kathy, the girl I've known since she was in kindergarten, is doing more things than I ever did; and then there's Caseybug, who's in all AP classes, and my roommate is in the Honors program...I've just been feeling really low on the intelligence totem pole lately, I guess. In 11th grade English, I remember my teacher wanted to put me in the AP class; and in my 12th grade Psychology/American Government class, the teacher wondered why I was in the lower class because I should have been in the higher level. I'd kind of forgotten about both those instances until Mom told me about second grade.

On the one hand, I'm glad that I was kept out of Honors classes. With my lack of self-discipline, I would never have been able to handle the workload. At the same time, though, I can't help wondering how different things would be if I had spent my school career in the higher-level classes. I'd probably be more confident of myself, and I certainly wouldn't question my intelligence as much as I have been...Oh well. At least I know I could have done all that. It makes me feel a little better.

I'm going to force myself to stop this procrastinating and finish my rough draft for Writing. Kevin pointed out that we're supposed to have 3-4 summaries from one of the essays we read, and I'm really starting to get irritated. I am so SICK of having to write about this stuff. It's like beating a dead horse; you can't get any more out of me on this subject than you already have! I'm just repeating myself now in this essay because it's all the same stupid crap that I've been writing for everything else! I'm telling you, when this semester is over and I no longer have to take Writing 111, I am going out to the bar and celebrating. :P

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!