Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: The Annoying Pam
Written on Friday, Sept. 20, 2002 at 4:59 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

There's something about Pam that just makes it impossible for me to get along with her for extended periods of time. Actually, I know what it is.

I, as I've mentioned before, am a retro kind of girl. I love 60's and 70's music, I think vinyl albums are the neatest things ever (to own, anyway, not necessarily to play 'cause they're a big pain)...I just love all that old stuff. Over the years, I've come to expect that this interest of mine isn't going to be considered 'cool'. In fact, most people consider it to be rather dorky. But just because I've realized this will occur doesn't mean I particularly enjoy being ripped on for it.

Pam (again, as I've mentioned before) feels this need to insult me about everything. I don't even know if she realizes that she's being rude and inconsiderate; she does it with just about everyone. But whereas most people put up with it, I'm getting to the point where I'm going to tell her where to go the next time it happens.

We drove down to Becker with Jess today, and Pam and I got to do a sit-in with Larry. Larry's the guy who's running the DJ training, so I knew that it would be a good idea to sit in with him (since obviously, he'd know what to show us). I was getting along fine with Pam at first, laughing about weird stuff and just generally enjoying her go through all the first-time-sit-in stuff that I'd had to go through.

After our time was technically up, Pam went into another room to talk to Jess (who was programming her show for tomorrow). I decided to wander back, and I discovered that they were in a room entirely comprised of vinyl records. It even had that musty sort of smell that accompanies old books and records and things like that...do you know the smell I'm talking about? I love it. Not so much that I'd ever want my house to smell like it, but it just brings to mind old libraries...Anyway, I said something to Pam, and just as she and I were about to walk out, I caught sight of the letters "YE". Immediately, I knew it was the band "Yes", and so I rushed over. Sure enough, there were a couple of albums there by that band.

"Oh wow, it's Yes!" I exclaimed softly, eliciting laughter from Jess. The laughter I didn't mind, because I knew she wasn't being purposely insulting or derogatory toward me. But then Pam said something (maybe that I was a freak or whatever), and then said, "I'm not listening to your show!"

I know that, on its own, that doesn't sound like anything. But I am so SICK and TIRED of her getting on my case for every little thing that I do which doesn't fit in with her idea of what's 'cool'! Indignant, because I knew she had no idea who Yes even was, I informed her that they were a classic rock band (classic rock, to me, is much less 'dorky' than listening to Oldies, so I don't understand why it deserves to be insulted), but of course she didn't care.

"You know," I said, "you have a real problem with insulting people."

And she just DIDN'T GET IT. She laughed at me! And then she just continued trying to joke with me and whatnot, as if she'd never done anything wrong, as if she was my best friend in the world...This isn't happening again. If it means that I'll never speak to her again, that's fine. I can do without the constant insulting. My self-esteem is low enough as it is, so how am I supposed to build it up when she's always saying mean stuff to me?

I let her read the weather, because it was her first sit-in. She went into the adjoining studio, and I looked over at her at the same time that she looked up at me. I gestured for her to put on the headphones, which she did...but then when the weather music started up, Larry was trying to talk to her through the headphones...and I looked over to see she didn't have them over her ears anymore! He stopped trying to talk to her and just let her get on with reading the weather, but then on the air he said something about what had just happened, and then said it was a rookie mistake. By that point, I didn't even have any sympathy for her, which sounds terrible. All I wanted to do was get away from her.

Anyway, after Jess finished programming her show, I got up to leave. I took the sit-in paper from my purse and handed it over to Larry, and he was like, "She's got three done already!" and waved my paper around. In other words, he was very impressed. Most people wait until the very last minute to get all their sit-ins done, so I'm probably one of those rare birds who's actually getting it done on time. Then again, I actually want to do this, which is why I'm getting so many sit-ins done. Were it an assigment for Writing or Earth Science or something, then I would be putting it off to the last minute, hehehe...

Bill Adams came in at one point and asked if any of the trainees were 'exceling' or something like that. There are several open slots for shows, and he wants them filled up. Larry said he wouldn't be able to tell until after we did our promos, and then of course Pam jumped in with, "I'm exceling! I'm a fast learner!" and blah blah. Yeah, you're exceling alright, just NOW doing your first sit-in...real motivation there...

Sorry. I don't HATE her or anything, I'm just so angry with her. The worst of it is, even though she irritates me so much, I'm always trying to help her out with this radio stuff, like suggesting when she should go do a sit-in and helping her remember certain things...then I feel like she's not even grateful when she goes and does stuff like insult me!

I bought a sandwich down at Gemmell. Even though I had no Flex Dollars, I could still buy stuff with cash, and I knew I needed something that was actual dinner food, as opposed to chips and whatever. So I bought a ham sandwich for $2.75, and a bottle of Peach Papaya juice (the Fruit Works stuff). This sandwich is horrible. It's very blah, and I have no condiments for it. Oh wait! Yes I do! I have honey mustard! But if I use it this once, it'll end up going bad because I won't be using it for anything else...Oh puff, I'll just eat the sandwich plain. It still does the same thing.

I should plan when I'm going to do my next sit-in. I'm not going with Pam; she can find her own time to do it. Before The Insult, she said something about always coming down with me, but heh! That won't be happening unless I desperately need to get the sit-in done. She lost the paper we need to have the DJs sign, and Larry was all like, "Sorry, I have no record of you being here today." Teasing, of course, but it was still funny.

I'm going to go now. I'm still feeling really tired and sluggish...I'll probably call Mom tonight after Kristen leaves (she's going camping). Maybe I'll work up the nerve to call Geoff again. Then again, probably not. :P

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!