Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Allergies or sickness?
Written on Friday, Sept. 20, 2002 at 2:17 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I think it's that time where all students are going to start getting sick. Miranda feels bad enough that she's going to the doctor, John wasn't feeling all that great, Jen doesn't feel good...and I woke up today feeling rather icky myself.

I ended up doing a naughty thing, everyone...I skipped my first class. Heh...well, it was literally my first class of the day, but it's also the first time I've skipped one (this year)...anyway...

To be honest, I doubt I've missed anything detrimental to my understanding of the class. It's my computer science class which, as you probably know already from my numerous rantings, is my easiest class. Every day I just kind of sit there in a bored stupor, waiting for the time when we can get out so I can do something more productive...well, maybe not productive, per se, since all I do is sit here at my computer. ;)

Still, that hasn't been enough thus far to make me want to just not go to the class. I'm a 21-year old freshman, after all; I came back to school because I want to learn, not because I was forced into it and would therefore rather party all the time. But this morning, as my clock neared the 7:45 mark, I realized that I was just too tired to even think about getting out of my bed. And so I turned off my alarm. Or, I should say, I reset it for 11:30 so that I could get up for French (which I will NOT miss unless I'm deathly ill). Kristen woke me up at nine, thinking I'd never set my alarm, but I told her I'd just skipped it or something...I think I was still half asleep, so maybe I just said something about sleeping through it.

She came back at 11 to put her stuff away, and asked me when my next class was. Since I was still asleep, I mumbled something about it not being until 1, and she left to go to lunch. When I woke up at 11:30, I was still so tired, one would have thought I'd never gotten any sleep in the first place. I just lay there for another 5 minutes, then finally dragged myself out of bed and began getting dressed.

I've been sneezing and blowing my nose quite a bit the past couple of days, and today the back of my throat (kind of behind my nose, if that makes sense) is sore. BUT, I'm not going to pass it off as an illness just yet, since these are pretty much the symptoms of my allergies. When I was in French today, I just kept feeling more and more tired, and when she told us to get into groups of two, it was an effort to turn my head to look at the girl next to me, and then smile at her. It was even more of an effort to actually get my mouth to form words.

Right now, I could just fall over and lapse into unconsciousness. I think it might have something to do with food...I forgot to eat before I went to class. I know that sounds unbelievably irritating, since it's usually what skinny girls like to say, but I seriously forgot to eat something! I'd only given myself just enough time to get ready, and I'd remembered at one point to eat, because I needed to take my multivitamin, but then I ended up forgetting because I was busy checking emails really quickly before I left. It wasn't until I was walking down the stairs outside that I remembered I hadn't eaten. So that could definitely be why I'm feeling sluggish.

I hope it's just allergies and not something more serious, because I don't feel like having to deal with a cold or something like that.

I was going to travel out to Walmart again and buy some embroidery stuff, but then I remembered that Pam and I are supposed to be going down to the radio station to do a sit-in. That's at 3, so I could probably still technically catch the 4 o'clock bus (since we'll most likely be out by 3:30 or so)...But I just don't feel like doing anything today. Maybe I'll do it tomorrow, since I've got the whole weekend to myself.

For the moment, I'm going to go get something to eat and hope that that makes me feel better. I'd take a nap, but it's 2:15 and so I wouldn't have all that much time to sleep. That would probably be considered a 'power nap', but unless I get to sleep like 2 hours, I wake up feeling even worse than when I went to bed. So napping is out of the question. Food, however, is not!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!