Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: In the news...
Written on Thursday, Sept. 19, 2002 at 1:09 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Okay, kiddies, here's the news for today!

Oh wait, I'm still in news-reading mode. *giggles* I just came back a couple of minutes ago from my first-time news-reading session. I learned a couple of things from the experience:

1. Bring a pen.
2. Come down to the station MUCH earlier than half an hour before showtime.

I think I got down there a few scant minutes before 11:30, and I told the DJ (Kristen...there's a THIRD one I have to remember) that this was my first time reading the news and I wasn't sure how to go about everything. Turns out, this is her first time doing a daytime show (she usually does night shows), and so she didn't know how to do the news, either! X_X

I had to go find Bill Adams, the adult guy whose name I didn't know last time I talked about him (when I was at the general meeting)...He came over and showed me how to get the news and how to go about telling it over the air. See, there's this computer. The AP Newswire computer. We have to pick a national news story, two local/state stories, a sports story, and then we have to read the weather. I wasn't aware that I was going to have to pick the stories myself! :P

After picking my stories, I had to write teasers for them, and then I had to rehearse both what I was going to say and how I was going to read the stories (to make sure I didn't stumble over the words). It's not as though this was all particularly DIFFICULT, it's just that--especially for my first time--I would have liked a bit more time to get everything together. As it was, I pretty much ran right up to the line, growing unbelievably frantic when I realized I needed to pick a new local story! The one I'd originally chosen was good, but I didn't know how to pronounce the last name of the guy in the story. With most of the other stories, the confusing names have a pronunciation thing right after it. But not THIS story! So I had to hastily scribble down a new teaser right as the last notes of the last song were playing.

I worked pretty well under pressure, though. ;) I messed up on a couple of names in the sports story, because I hadn't actually read that one all the way through, and I stuttered once during the weather, but I think I did really well for everything else. And the best part of all this? I get to do it every Tuesday and Thursday! WOOT! Getting experience talking on the air before I actually get my own show is always good. :)

I was on such a high after I was finished. :P I mean, it's not as if I even did anything particularly special--I just read what was printed on my news sheets--but just the whole being-on-air thing...it was great! I think, other than the confusion of having to program songs and figure out which button does what, that I'll have a lot of fun talking over the air. There won't be anyone around in the studio, really, so I don't have to be self-conscious of people watching me. When I was little, I used to get Mom to buy me blank cassettes and then I'd make up really wacky skits and things on them...I just loved to do things like that. That's most of the reason why I knew I'd be okay doing the radio, because it's much the same thing...except I won't be making my stuffed animals talk to me. :P

I've got a class at 2, back down at Becker. >_< I hate walking all that way! It figures that the building that houses all the classes for my major is at the edge of campus. Oh well, at least my dorm is in the middle of campus instead of all the way over at the other end, like Nair and Wilkinson. I'd hate living there.

Last night, I did my sit-in. The DJ, Mel, is actually the station manager, so I asked her about the website (well, turns out she was one of the girls I'd talked to at the general meeting, too). If it were just up to her, she'd give me permission to do it, but she understandably doesn't want to make a decision without the rest of the exec board. So I have to go to the next General Meeting and go over my ideas with everyone. *gulp* That means public speaking. Man, they should give me an honorary spot on the exec board just for all this effort. ;)

As far as the test that I had to take (the one for DJ training), I definitely think I aced that one. I know I got a few wrong (such as the number for the request line), and I didn't answer either of the two bonus questions even though it turns out I KNEW THE SECOND ONE!!! *breathes heavily* Okay. I'm good. Anyway, for one of the questions, they asked what would happen if you played a Format II song during the day, and I couldn't remember exactly what they'd do, so I wrote "You're whipped with wet noodles?" But then I wrote a serious answer under it, hehe...

Umm...I know this is all boring you, lol...

When I got home, I called up Mom, since I wasn't sure if she'd call before the mandatory meeting we had at 9 pm. She told me she'd have to call back, because Linda was over, and so I decided to suck it up and try calling Geoff. After 4 rings, I hung up, thinking neither of them were home. However, less than two minutes later my phone rang. It was Tim. :P "I was just about to hop in the shower," he said, "and your boyfriend isn't home!"

We ended up talking for over 20 minutes...It started off with him saying something like, "Geoff says you're a computer genius, maybe you can help me with something..." I wasn't able to. *giggles* I think his computer harks back to the dawning of the computer age, so I tried convincing him to just get a new one. But he wouldn't listen. *sigh* Men.

He left a note for Geoff to call me, but I have no idea where Geoff had been or when he got home...at any rate, I never got a call, but he could've gotten back really late. Oh well, I'll deal with it, just like I always do. ;)

Oo, while we were on the phone, out of the blue Tim said something like "Oh, there's your picture!" I had no idea what he was talking about at first, so he reminded me that I'd sent Geoff some of the pictures from my birthday. I was like, "Yeah, I put them on a webpage and gave him the address..." So Tim said that if you right-click the picture, you can put the image on...well, it SOUNDED like he said a screen-saver, but I think he meant the desktop wallpaper. He said it was framed on the computer screen, which just furthered my suspicion that he meant the wallpaper. I'm not sure whether to be scared or amused that my picture is plastered on their desktop wallpaper...*giggles*

Okay, I think this is enough nonsense for right now. I should start getting my stuff together for class. Ugh, I dread to see what grade the professor gave that awful paper we had to hand in...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!