Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Most Embarrassing Moment
Written on Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2002 at 5:37 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

The weekend that Mom is going to the Heritage Festival is the 11th. AND, as it turns out, my little booklet thinger was very sneaky in its announcements. Mid-semester break does, in fact, begin on Thursday...at 10 pm. So basically, it's not even a day off. Isn't that a rather silly way to start things off? "We're gonna have a vacation after 10 o'clock tonight." If I actually had a class that lasted 'til 10, I'd be skipping it an awful lot. As it is, if I can get bus transportation, I'm planning on skipping Thursday's classes anyway. There are only two, and one of them is the dreaded Earth Science, so I don't think I'll end up missing anything there...unless there happens to be a quiz/test, in which case I'll be mightily peeved.

I decided to write another email to the professor in charge of the Comm department's website, just in case maybe he didn't get the first email I'd sent. And sure enough, he hadn't. But instead of saying, "Oh yeah, sure, you can do it!" he told me that I had to get permission from WCUC's Executive Board first.

That sounds perfectly reasonable. It's the reason why I asked the WCUC folks in the first place!! I feel like I'm being sent in circles, like a kid who's first told by his mother "go ask your father", and then told by his father, "go ask your mother". I wonder if the guy teaching us at DJ training is on the exec board...one would think so, right? If I'm given the opportunity, maybe I'll ask him about it tonight. I don't really think the station has a group email address, or any way of letting me contact them as a whole. I talked to the Program Director and the Director of Advertising at the general meeting, and they were both all for it, so I don't see why everyone else wouldn't be...

The best part about all this, even moreso than actually being able to work on the website, is that if I'm permitted to update it...I'll have a subject for the promo I have to do as part of my DJ test! "Check out WCUC's home on the web at blah blah blah..." Ooo yeah, killing two birds with one stone is always a good thing. :P

Urgh, in about 20 minutes or so, I'm going to have to start heading down to Becker to see if I can do another sit-in. This is, of course, assuming I haven't gotten the schedule completely screwed up. X_X I'm paranoid to go down now, after my disastrous experience on Saturday! But we're supposed to get in at least one sit-in a week, and so I'm due for my second. The nifty part is that, if I remember correctly, this DJ is in charge of the Classic Rock show. I might just try to find out what year she is in college, so that maybe I can take over after she graduates...? *grins* Pam hasn't even done one sit-in yet, and she's the one who's been so vocal about, "I'm gonna be a deeeeee jay!"

I looked over all the terms again that we're supposed to know, and I think I've got them all down. I also memorized the power-up/power-down process, just in case we need to know that. Ah, bless this photographic memory of mine...it only took me a few minutes to get that thing memorized! Woot! That's how I used to study for vocabulary tests too, lol... :P

Today in Writing, we had to pair up with someone and then exchange the rough drafts of our Reading Reports. I had just finished asking Miranda to work with me when I heard a masculine voice go "Aaaaambeerrrrr..." I immediately turned to look at Kevin, and he beckoned me to sit in the chair in front of him. I informed him that I was working with Miranda, but then Ashima wandered over and asked if Miranda was working with anyone so I got to work with Kevin anyway. :P Miranda made some kind of comment before Ashima came over, and Kevin was like, "No, she's mine!" *chuckles* Riiiight...

Anyway, he corrected a lot of stuff on mine, but after it was done, he said, "I think you'd get an A on that." A little pause, and then later: "You're a really good writer. Even without reading the essay, I could read your summary and know exactly what he was talking about." I did my little thing where I hunch up my shoulders and sort of duck my head and grin all pleased-like. "You're so nice to me!" I laughed.

And I actually really like my professor now. At first, I thought she was going to be a mean wench, but today she was telling us about how she actually doesn't mind teaching this class because there's a real feeling of camaraderie amongst the students. Teachers don't usually say stuff like that, and given her personality type, I know she wouldn't say it just to say it...So I felt like running up and hugging her. *giggles*

After class, Lauren, Kevin and I walked back toward our dorms together (as usual). Everything was going fine until Lauren started whining about how Kevin was so mean to her. See, she's a really big drama queen. Huuuuuuuuge one. And generally speaking, I like her, except for when she gets into these moods. It's almost like she's begging for us to just sit there and console her and tell her how wonderful she is and blah blah blah...just attention, basically. But I don't have much patience for that sort of thing, and so after a certain point I just let her go on and on without offering up anything. Well, as we got to the back door of Ralston (their dorm), Kevin was like, "What about all the mean things you say to me? You don't hear me complaining about it."

He wasn't whining or saying it in an immature way; it was an honest question meant to combat all of her accusations. But from that point on, things just got really awkward and uncomfortable for me, because I could tell they were both getting angry. Kevin told Lauren that she was a drama queen, and he said something else, and she was like, "Exactly, which is why I should die."

Complete silence. I felt like piping up and saying, "Well, on that note...!" But Lauren put her schoolbag back over her shoulder, stood up (she'd been sitting on the steps previously), and murmured, "Are we ready to go now?"

"Amanda and I are going to the rec center," Kevin replied, in that tone of voice like, "I'm not going with you anyway." He said bye to me, and then I waved to Lauren...and hastened off toward the safety of my own building. I hate it when they get into arguments like that. I feel like I'm doing something wrong by standing there and listening to it.

Speaking of uncomfortable, though...Want to hear my Embarrassing Moment of the Year? It won't take long for you to figure out what happens, but just listen to my tale.

I take showers in the late evening now, because it's so much less hectic than in the morning. Since there's rarely anyone else taking showers at that time, I can have my pick of the stalls...and I always pick the one against the wall, right near the window (so that no one has to walk past my stall--and thereby accidentally see my naked bum through a gap in the curtain--and I get a cooling breeze as well). Last night, someone was in the shower that was second from the wall, but the one I usually use had its curtain drawn closed. I almost went into the third shower from the wall, 'til I saw used band-aids in there (yeah, gross). Part of me didn't think anyone was in that last shower anyway, since it's happened before where the curtain's closed but no one's inside. I stepped into a vacant stall and bent over, looking for feet in the changing area. When I saw none, I carefully peeped into the end stall and found that it wasn't being occupied.

So I took it over.

I was in all my glorious pudgy nakedness when...woosh! The curtain was whipped aside. I immediately curled up in attempt to hide all my girly parts, and I gave a little squeal as well (which, looking back on it, was an incredibly weak squeal). I don't have any idea who the girl was, as my face had been averted (and I wasn't about to turn just so I could see who had gotten a glimpse of me), but she just mumbled sorry and left. I was most definitely mortified...But at the same time, I can't help but laugh every time I think about it, because it was just so random! It irritates me just a little because she didn't bother checking (as I did) to see if anyone was inside...Most girls will kind of poke the curtain or whatever and wait for anyone within to protest. So a part of me wonders if maybe that stall HAD been 'occupied'...like maybe she closed the curtain and ran back to her room to get her things...? But still, that was a tad on the rude side, just whipping the curtain back like that.

I hope you all got a good laugh at it, though, because it certainly IS amusing, overall. If still really embarrassing...

Another 10 minutes, and I'm going to head down to Becker. Dinner will have to be forgotten tonight, but it's not like I ever eat anything good down there anyway. Breakfast is my favorite time, because I love breakfast foods. We have a 'chef' called "Dangerous Donna" who makes various things each night. Last week, she made apple-cinnamon-pecan crepes one night. They were very yummy. But that's the only time she's ever made something I wanted to eat...and of course it happened to be dessert food. ;)

Tomorrow, I have to get up at 9-ish so that I can be ready to go down to Becker at 11:30. I will remember to go down there and read the news this time! *giggles* I still can't believe I didn't get there all those other times I've been scheduled...I wonder who they got to read the news in my absence? I'm sure it wasn't a big problem, or else the girl would've been irritated with me, but it's still not a GOOD thing to just ditch responsibilities like that (even if it wasn't on purpose)!

Okay, I should go now and get my things together. I hope this girl doesn't already have a sit-in for the night, because I'm really hoping she'll show me more stuff than Ryan did! Speaking of the Cute One...He's going to be at DJ training tonight, as Larry's second-in-command. *grins* Eye candy for meeee!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!