Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Yay, friends!
Written on Saturday, Aug. 31, 2002 at 1:19 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I guess being left here over the weekend hasn't turned out to be so bad...thus far. Mind you, it's only early early Saturday morning (10 minutes 'til 1 am, hehe), so I might become bored out of my mind by the time classes start again. But tonight was really nice.

On my way out of my room to go to the bathroom, I passed by this girl that lives in the room right across from me. "You stuck here over the weekend?" I asked, trying to be friendly and sociable (up to this point, she's seemed kind of reluctant to talk). She smiled and said yeah, and as we passed each other, I turned and asked how far away she lived. She told me that it was about 5 hours, which is about what it takes to get to where I live. When I came back to my room, I heard her call out to me as I was unlocking my door. Asked me where exactly I lived, and when I told her, I found out that she's only about an hour away from me! Well, maybe a little bit more, I'm not sure.

Anyway, it was about 6 o'clock, and nearly the whole floor was empty (because most girls had gone home for the weekend). "Have you gone to dinner yet?" I asked her (her name's Catherine, by the way). When she said no, I asked if she wanted to go down to the dining hall with me, and she said yes! I was really happy, not just because I wouldn't have to eat alone, but because I'd made another friend! I'd been thinking for a little while there that I'd pretty much be stuck with the two girls I met at orientation, and my roommate...which is perfectly fine, of course, it's just that half the time they're busy when I'm not! So having a wider circle of friends is definitely nice.

When we came back from dinner, we both went to our rooms, but we left our doors open. I got to watching "The 10th Kingdom", though, and before I knew it, I looked over and her door was closed. So I closed mine and continued watching the movie. My room grew darker and darker, and the next time I looked over, it was a little after 8 o'clock. I started getting depressed at that point, thinking about how I'd be here alone for the next few days. Mom called then, so thankfully I wasn't able to sink any lower.

We were midway through our conversation when I heard a soft knock at my door. When I went to answer it, it was Catherine! She'd just ordered a pizza and wanted to know if I wanted to come over and share. About 10 or 15 minutes later, she knocked again, and so I shuffled over. We were watching "The Cosby Show" on Nick at Nite, but as we were about to watch the second episode, two girls knocked at the door. They wanted to know if one of us would take a picture of all of them, so Catherine and I went down to another room. There were...maybe 5 or so girls in there, watching "Dirty Dancing", and they invited Catherine and me to stay and watch it with them!

I was surprised and really pleased, because all of them were girls that I'd previously passed off as being...not snobby, really, but just not exactly friendly to those not in their little group. But we had fun! After the movie was over, they decided to watch another one. Unfortunately, none of the other DVDs this girl had interested me, and we ended up watching "Hardball". I was almost tempted to just tell them I wanted to go to bed, but I decided that it would be good for me to hang out with them for a little while longer.

The movie, however, sucked (well, I didn't like it, anyway), so when one of the girls said she was tired and was going to bed, I got up to leave as well. One of them said that we had to do this really often, but I'm not sure if I was included in the 'we', hehe! :P Oh well, either way, I'll be fine! At least now when I see these girls, I can say hello and smile at them!

Tomorrow at 2, Catherine and I are hitchin' a ride on campus transit and going to Wal-Mart. *smiles in bliss* I haven't gotten to go to this Wal-Mart yet, so it'll be fun to get out! I'd like to get some little things with which to decorate my side of the door...but I think Kristen said she was going to try to remember to bring back construction paper when she came back on Monday. So maybe I'll just buy a cheap shower curtain for my closet instead. Our closets have no type of curtain to hide our stuff...which actually, come to think of it, isn't so bad. Maybe I won't buy one, after all!

Anyway, I think that's all...except that all day today, I've had The Moody Blues' "Lovely To See You" stuck in my head, specifically this part:

Wonderful day for passing my way.
Knock on my door, even the score
With your eyes.

Lovely to see you again my friend.
Walk along with me to the next bend.

Well, those are the lyrics I found on a website...I never include the 'for' in the first line, hehe...I prefer to think of it as "Wonderful day, passing my way" because it sounds so bright and optimistic. *grins*

Anyway, I have to go use the facilities now. You're welcome for the information.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!