Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Not exactly what I'd imagined...
Written on Thursday, Aug. 15, 2002 at 8:44 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

The folks at C-SOP have made themselves my enemy. :P They won't be back to do the dairy aisle for two weeks, so why couldn't they have just delayed the reset of the frozen food section??

Geoff's like me in that if he knows he has to get up insanely early, he has a big problem sleeping. On Tuesday night, he only ended up getting one hour of sleep before he had to get up at 3 am Wednesday morning. Got in at 5 am, and didn't leave that night until after 6 o'clock. He came in again today at 5 am, and I'm fairly certain he's probably either just leaving the store right now (it's about 6 o'clock), or he's still there. And he looked terrible today. He hadn't bothered shaving, his eyes looked really tired, and by the time I left he was suffering from a major headache. Someone suggested that it might be a migraine, since he was feeling sick to his stomach and it sent pains through his head if he moved. :

I called his store phone this morning and asked if he'd have even 5 minutes to spare, and he said he didn't really think so. He had an 'IDL' (a satellite broadcast thing straight from Slaveway) from 11 to 12:30, so around 10:50 I approached him and asked again if he could spare a few minutes. He gave me a dubious expression, and so I immediately replied, "Okay, nevermind!"

"What is it?" he asked, walking backwards so he could still talk to me.

"It won't even take three minutes!" I insisted, and left it at that. I figured he'd seen me walk to the break room (I wasn't about to go following him), but it turns out that he went to the bakery searching for me, and I think I heard him ask Tim (the Edy's vendor guy) if he'd seen me. Oops...I guess that probably didn't improve his mood much, having to search for me. He found me in the break room, though, and sat down across from me.

From my purse, I plucked the CD, telling him that he didn't have to open it now if he didn't want to. Of course, he opened it. ;) When he saw what it was, he laughed softly in a way that made me think, "Oh no, he's just bought it, and now I've bought him another one!" When I voiced my concerns, however, he said that this was a shortened version of the one that he'd had before (the one that has the huge crack in it). I still found myself just as disappointed as if he'd already bought it, though; I couldn't even get something as simple as THIS right! As I sat there preparing to start moping, Geoff said thank-you, then said, "That was really sweet." He stood up after looking at the case for a few moments, then, as if he didn't know what to do, he tentatively reached out and put his hand on my shoulder, thanking me again. I sprang up from my seat, and he immediately opened his arms for a hug...then thanked me a couple more times. :P Still, I was feeling rather bummed.

I didn't really talk to him for the rest of the day, because he was so busy with the C-SOP stuff. I still wonder why he had to be there with them all day, because they seemed to be doing just fine on their own. I'm also ticked off at EJ for leaving it all to Geoff today. Couldn't he have postponed his vacation one day? Geoff didn't have anyone to help him today, since Ben couldn't come in (thanks to the whole hour-cutting thing).

Clocked out at 3:30 (I didn't finish two parts of the setups, because I'm just so TIRED of that stuff), but Mom couldn't leave until 4:30 because she had to make up an hour. I stood with her in the HBC aisle for awhile, fronting a couple of shelves, but eventually I wandered back and started talking to Geoff. You want to hear something ELSE that's pathetic? There were carts of frozen stuff that we're no longer going to carry at the store anymore. We get credit for it, but we had to throw ALL of it out. It was all perfectly good food, but because we don't carry it anymore, it had to be thrown out. So that's what Geoff and another kid were doing: cutting open the packages, throwing out the food, and then saving the boxes/wrappers (because they'll be scanned and sent to some company so we get credit for all of it).

The funny thing is, if this had been a few months ago, I would have completely avoided Geoff because I would have taken his bad mood as being a sign that he didn't want to talk to me. Today, however, I just slouched against a shopping cart by the compactor while he threw out stuff, and we talked just as cheerfully as if it had been any other day. I was selfishly disappointed that he and I wouldn't be able to go out tonight, as we'd tentatively planned on Tuesday, but at the same time I would've felt guilty if he HAD agreed to go out. He needs some serious sleep...but the worst of it is, I doubt he'll end up getting it. :

Just before I left, I walked back to where he was standing at the dairy cooler and hugged him again. He sort of pulled me against him that time, which was quite a lovely feeling. ;)

But I still didn't get kissed. *chuckles*

Oh well, I've still got a week left to try! ;)

~~~~

Augh, I've still got so much shopping left to do before I leave for Clarion next week! I've got to get new clothes (because my not-at-work wardrobe consists of the same pair of jeans and a couple of t-shirts)...There's still more office supply stuff I have to get...! I think I'm going to have to devote this entire weekend to accomplishing all that shopping, because mostly likely, it'll be the last opportunity I have to shop before I leave.

*sighs* This is going to sound random, but "Days of Future Passed" (especially the first song) is such a gorgeous album. I'm sitting here listening to it right now, and the instrumental music is so lovely that I find I don't even feel like complaining about everything I still have to do!

I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes "Nights In White Satin" (well, the instrumental parts, specifically). It's definitely my favorite album of all the Moody Blues CDs I have thus far (a collection which has quickly swelled to a total of six, all within a relatively short time). I think the next one I get will be "Seventh Sojourn". I know, like all of you care. :P

Dawn is a feeling,
A beautiful ceiling...

Okay, I'm going now. I hope Mom gets off the phone soon so I can go online!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!