Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Nightmares
Written on Thursday, Aug. 08, 2002 at 8:00 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Last night was the first night in years that I've had a real nightmare. Sure, I've had dreams every now and then that've been mildly disturbing, but last night I had one that scared me so much I actually woke up...and couldn't go to bed for a little while after that. It's also one of the first dreams that I can't explain in much detail, because it's so hard to describe. And for that, I'm sure you're all grateful. ;)

It started out with me walking ahead of a few people on horseback, I think. I turned to look, and the one girl (who was chubby and short-haired and annoying) had this really weird expression on her face. Her teeth were bared almost in a snarl, but it was different...at any rate, at some point everything shifted, and that girl had the same expression, but she was lacking the lower part of her body...it was just from her chest up, basically, and she had no arms, either. This is the hardest bit to explain, but she was all red...not bloody, more like her skin had been stripped off or something. Her eyes were black X's, and her mouth was in that same sort of snarling expression.

Then all these other people were showing up the same way--only the upper half, their eyes black X's, their mouths in permanent snarls--and no one could figure out who/what was doing this. At one point, I stopped in front of this really fat woman who looked like she was kneeling on the ground. I asked her if she could stand up, and she shook her head apologetically, then leaned to one side and moved what little was left of her leg. There was no gore or anything, but it was still gross and really really scary.

So I woke up, and panicked momentarily because the room was so dark and I couldn't see anything. Then I attempted to get back to sleep, but I guess maybe I wasn't completely awake anyway, because I went right back to dreaming. This time, I was in my dorm, and my friend Chelsea was going to be in the room right next to mine. Things shifted again, though, because her roommate ended up being one of those people that I mentioned up above (all red, etc. etc.). I was laying in the top bunk, and the girl was just kind of placed in the bottom. Then we found out how this 'epidemic' was occurring: when I swung my legs over or tried to get off the bed, she'd 'wake up' and grab me, then do the same thing to me that had been done to everyone else.

I was so freaked out that I woke up again, and I had to keep telling myself to think of something different. For awhile there, I was so scared that I contemplated listening to one of my Moody Blues CDs just to calm me down. *shudder* I hadn't even watched any scary movies or anything last night. True, I had read a few pages of The Diary of Ellen Rimbauer, but there hadn't been anything particularly gory in that. I remember being slightly uneasy when I went to sleep, though. It's funny that I didn't have that nightmare until close to when I had to get up for work, however...you'd think that if I was going to have a nightmare from reading that book, I'd have it sooner to when I fell asleep! Ah well, the mind works in strange ways.

At work this morning, Frank was in a pathetically bad mood all because Alex left him a note last night. True, the note WAS sort of ignorant, but Frank takes everything way too seriously. Not that I'm the most easygoing person in the world or anything (Mom always seems to be telling me to lighten up), but everything just seems to be a life-or-death thing for Frank. He'll end up giving himself a heart attack at this rate.

Ugh, he's getting his wisdom teeth cut out tomorrow. *shiver* I have to get mine taken out, too, but I've never had ANY sort of surgery done before, so I'm going to prolong this as much as I can. Whenever it DOES happen, however, they'd better have some serious sedatives ready, because if I'm awake, it'll never happen. They'll have to strap me down.

Anyway, Mom's finally off the phone, so I can go online and post this now. I have to go in with her at 5 on Saturday, instead of at 9:30 like I've been doing. Linda's off on Saturday, so if I don't go in with Mom then I won't be able to go in at all. And Saturday is when Geoff and I are goin' out, so it's not likely that I'll let myself miss THAT! I'll just sit back in the break room 'til 9:30 or so (with any luck, I'll sleep a little bit), then work until 4:30 (or whenever Geoff gets finished). Then, hopefully he'll be gentlemanly enough to drive me home, hehe!!! ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!