Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: They smile in your face...
Written on Saturday, Aug. 03, 2002 at 4:23 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I should've somehow forced myself out of bed at an earlier time yesterday. If I had, then I would have been tired enough to go to sleep early-ish, and I could have woken up at 3 with relative ease. But no. I had to get up in the middle of the afternoon, and then I didn't get to sleep last night. At all.

I passed the 24-hour mark sometime around 2:30-ish, but I'm only starting to feel really tired now, as I sit here typing. I think I hear thunder outside. Oh, please let it be thunder; we need rain so badly!

I've had "New Horizons" in my head all day. Which reminds me: I don't think the graphic for my Moody Blues webring shows up. Blast it--why can't some free webhost allow you to link itty bitty gif files? I guess they all add up, but companies like 'Yahoo!' have GOT to have enough money to cover it, right? I mean, if they could swallow up GeoCities as if it were nothing...

Oh, let me rant about my day. Got in at 5 and read the note that Karen left for me, telling me that she'd base-iced some of the cakes for today, and that I should finish the two 9 o'clock orders and then just base-ice the rest. I was like, "Okay, sounds good enough to me," so I set to work.

Mare came in around 6 and was telling Debbie something that I just knew had something to do with me. Anyway, a few minutes later, the truth emerged: yesterday, Karen had been whining about the fact that I was coming in so early today. You'd think she'd be glad for it, since it would mean we wouldn't have to rush around so much, but I guess that wasn't the case. Anyway, she said something about coming in at 8, and Mare said, "Well, isn't Amber going to be in at 5?" I don't remember the EXACT way she worded it, but Karen replied with, "Yeah, but you know how slow she is."

That part pissed me off, true enough...I mean, who is SHE to be calling someone else slow when she could have her picture put in the dictionary next to that word? What really stung, though, is the fact that she could say something so mean at all. I thought she was my friend. I thought she was actually kind of on my side...but obviously she's only out to help herself.

I was so irritated at her. And then, to make matters worse, she didn't even show up at 8! OR 9...Finally, around 9:30, she called and asked me how things were going, and I should have let her have it right there, but I was just really gruff with her, and all but hung up on her at the end of the 'conversation'. She didn't even show up until close to 10! How irresponsible is THAT??

As soon as she came in, I finished the cake I was working on and then left her. She managed to get all the cakes done, but it took her practically all day. Meanwhile, the gourmet case was all but empty, the case where we keep various kinds of cakes WAS empty, save for one or two items...What did she DO all day yesterday? Apparently, she base-iced those few cakes between 5:30 and 7 pm. Big deal; I base-iced the other half, decorated two cakes, and talked to Debbie and Mare a little bit, and all under 3 hours! So then what did Karen do between the time she came in (probably 9) and 5:30? She went up to the bar during her lunch break (that's nice)...and she only had 3 orders to do. She didn't have time to put anything out in the cases?

Dave pulled me from doing setups to make a few strawberry shortcakes to put out in the one case...he was really irritated, which made me a little nervous. So when I saw him a couple of minutes later, I was like, "I didn't do anything to irritate you, did I?" He assured me that he wasn't angry at ME, so I think he was miffed at Karen.

I saw Kirsten a little bit later, and she came up to me and said, "Until Karen gets some cakes out there, would you just lie on that lower shelf for awhile?" I cracked up and asked her if she wanted me to move around at all, or just lie still.

Mom told me on the way home that Geoff had been in this morning to get his paycheck. *sniffle* A little hello from him would have been enough to cheer me up! Ah well. ;)

As I was throwing trash out this afternoon, I saw Ernie walking in my direction, and I could've sworn I heard him say my name. So I demanded to know what he'd been saying about me, and he replied with something like, "There is nothing more I can say that hasn't been said on the men's room walls!"

*grins and winks* So hey, I'm so good, they're writing about me in the men's room. I'm a regular...man's lady! (somehow, that doesn't sound as good as 'lady's man'... ;) )

Mom promised him a couple of drinks, so we're going to have to get Geoff to go out, too. *grins* Wow, he's going to have quite the social calendar!

Alright, this whole 'being up for over 24 hours' thing has finally gotten to me. I don't really want to go to sleep so early, though, because a nap will just leave me groggy and headache-y...and besides that, even if I only slept a couple of hours, I'd be up at 7...which would mean I'd just be going to bed again soon!

Okay, holding two conversations at once, so I need to cut this short! I know, like you're all crying. ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!