Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Another eventless day
Written on Monday, Jul. 29, 2002 at 12:31 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Wow, today was another wasted day of doing nothing!!!!

Frank called me and told me that I got shopped (remember that Mystery Shopper thing I've mentioned before in here?)...I got three "No" responses, which is definitely NOT what the managers want to see. In fact, even ONE no usually causes them to gnash their teeth! Our last shop before I left was a 2.75, which is our lowest score ever. At least my 3 no's were part of a 7.something score, hehe...

The funny part is, I don't even care that I got such a bad score! Sure, it'll suck when the manager(s) get on my case about it, but if not for them, I wouldn't care at all. This whole mystery shopper thing is stupid to begin with. All it does is place undue stress on everyone, because they have to worry about kissing the customers' asses. I'm sorry, but 90% of the people who walk in that door don't even deserve the time of day, much less the slavelike attention we're supposed to give them. "Hey there, you rich yuppy! Can I wipe your kids' noses for you! Or how about some complimentary duct tape to place over their screaming mouths, since YOU OBVIOUSLY CAN'T TELL THEM TO BE QUIET YOURSELF!"

Sorry.

More and more, I am SOO looking forward to getting to college! The freedom, being able to say what I want and not having to worry about being fired for it...Well, not that I'd ever want to say something outright RUDE, but if someone deserved it (as most of these customers do), I could say something fitting in return and not get reprimanded for it!

The other day when I was at Johnny's, Karen told me that she's really noticed me becoming more verbal, and she thinks it's because I know I'm not going to be at work much longer. I definitely have been a little more assertive, but not as much as I'd like to be. For instance, I'd like to be more forceful with Jason, so he can't keep pushing his work off on me. And so he'll finally get someone else to deal with Evan each day, since I am NOT paid to be his babysitter.

I was looking at my schedule for fall semester, and I just smiled to myself. Sure, it's going to be tough, especially having to share a room with a complete stranger, but I just KNOW it's going to be so good for me!

I don't think parents should pressure their kids to go to college right after graduating high school. If the kids WANT to go, because they have a strong idea of what they want to do, then that's fine. But most teenagers have no solid idea of what they'd like to pursue, and I think forcing them into college at that stage is a waste. Many of the professors who spoke during orientation said that it's very difficult to place students into classes when their major is Undecided...and really, what is college for if not to shape you for your future career? Yes, there's the social experience, which is important, but if all you care about is social experience, you can get that elsewhere for free!

Taking time off for three years was definitely good for me. I didn't really feel pressured to get into college, so I was able to wait until I felt the time was right (and thankfully, I wasn't in my 30's when that time came around!). Maybe some people only need one year, or maybe they'd need four or five...I just don't think you should ever feel like you HAVE to go. Just go when you're ready.

Heh. Those are my words of wisdom for the evening. I wish I had something else to do! I've got my eye on three posters at eBay (I love that place, hehe), but I'm waiting for a reply from someone before I go ahead and place a bid. I emailed the person who won the bid for that Moody Blues poster, and I want to know if they received it yet (and what shape it's in) before I do any buying of my own. It's nice to have this luxury, since the company who's selling these posters has so many copies. Usually, when you buy something from there, they only have one of that item so you can't email another buyer and ask whether their item was in good condition.

Anyway, I'm going to go debate some more. :P

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!