Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Leaving the nest
Written on Sunday, Jul. 28, 2002 at 12:16 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Mom called from Maine late tonight, just to check up on me and all that. Which is fine, but the first words out of her mouth when I picked up were, "Oh my god, you're actually not on the computer!"

Not the best way to greet me, even when I'm in better moods.

So basically, I just sort of grunted in reply to her. I don't know if she was buzzed or not...she was like, "Guess where I am!" At this point, I was thinking, Duhh... so I said, "Maine?" She was, in fact, in Maine, and in the very hotel she told me she had reservations for! So it was a rather pointless question, one she wouldn't normally ask unless her brain had been addled.

I feel a little guilty, because I think I kind of hurt her feelings with my disinterested replies, but I was really irritated!

This past year especially, that's been more and more frequent. The tiniest little things that she does or says just annoy me to no end. It's not that I care about her any less, but I'm definitely starting to get to that independent, ready-to-live-on-my-own stage.

Mom and I have always had a really close relationship. Usually, it seems to be the fathers and daughters that have the stronger relationship, but Dad was never around, so I just naturally hung around Mom more. I never really thought that the day would come when I was ready to fly from the nest, so to speak...I know I'm still not ready, but I'm getting very close.

I think college will be what really finalizes this stage. By the time the four years are over, I'll probably be itching to get a place of my own! Not that I'll want to cut ties with my mother completely, of course, but being on my own, without worrying about her nagging me to do things, to hurry up because "we're late" ...it will be very nice!

Despite the fact that I'm bored out of my mind here at home, it's been nice to be by myself. If I had a car and a license, things would be perfect! Well, there wouldn't be any Geoff, ha ha, but I wouldn't complain about THAT minor detail.

Speaking of my future husband, though (hehe), Joanne told me on Thursday that she just knew Geoff would call me sometime between Friday and Monday. This was so absurd that I bet lunch on the fact that he wouldn't call. He only calls to confirm plans we've made, after all, so the idea of him calling spontaneously...Anyway, I'm looking forward to getting a free lunch on Tuesday! ^_^

Okay, finished what I wanted to say! Wow, this was actually a thoughts entry instead of just a recount of my day! :P

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!