Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Berry's Contrariness
Written on Monday, Jul. 01, 2002 at 2:57 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Well. Last night, essentially, sucked. This is going to sound impossibly retarded, but I think I've stated in here before that I'm contrary by nature. I knew that, this being my 21st birthday, everyone would be paying lots of attention to me and making a big thing over the fact that I was drinking alcoholic beverages. Cue Berry's Contrariness.

When they brought out a shot for me (a Jolly Rancher, or some such?), I became incredibly self-conscious and absolutely refused to down it. Even though everyone assured me that it didn't TASTE like alcohol, I still didn't want it. So it ended up being shared by a couple of other people.

My mood just kept going further downhill, until by the time we got home to continue the party, I felt like holing myself up in my room and staying there. But of course I couldn't do that, or I really WOULD look like a baby. So I sat out in the living room...and then I had to open presents. Another thing that makes me uncomfortable, because of all the attention pressed upon me. I'd opened Jam's presents earlier that day (my favorite being the Tiny Teddy bear, heehee); so the only others were a big group thing from Kirsten, Keith, Geoff, Frank, and Bekka; two things from Mom; a small gift bag from Nicole; and of course, lots of cards.

The group present ended up being lots of stuff for my college dorm, which was great. Towels, hangers, a laundry bag, popcorn (hehe), a small markerboard...I forget some of the other things, but it's definitely a great head start. Nicole bought me a really cute organizer and some A-shaped Post-It notes...and Mom got me a laptop. My jaw dropped. In my wildest dreams, I NEVER would have expected that! I knew we'd been talking about trying to trade in our old Gateway Astro computer toward a laptop, but as she told me later, the guy told her to just trash it because Astros are worthless.

After opening gifts, Kirsten got up from her spot beside Geoff, and so after a few minutes of silent warring with myself, I wandered over and took the vacated seat. Of course, that was when it was decided that everyone would play Twister. Mom had just gone out and bought the game earlier that day, and I couldn't imagine that anyone would want to play. I was the only one who didn't join in, but it was hilarious to watch. I've got pictures. ^_^

They played several rounds of the game, then finally gave up out of exhaustion. If you'd seen the way they were all twisted round each other, you'd understand. ;) I was surprised when Geoff sat down next to me again, since there'd been an empty spot closer to where he'd been standing...but I wasn't about to complain or anything, hehe...

Everyone's predictions (about Geoff not 'making his move' until after I turned 21) were wrong. While we were sort of smushed against each other on the couch--despite there being plenty of room--nothing actually happened. After eating a piece of cake, Frank, Kirsten, Bekka, and Keith left. Since Geoff had come up with them, I was afraid he'd end up leaving with them as well. But as they filed through the door, he stayed where he was beside me, sock-clad feet stretched out in front of him.

Mom, Linda, Nicole, and Susan (who'd just showed up toward the end of our dinner at TGIFriday's) went outside, leaving Geoff and I by ourselves in the living room. Perfect opportunity to make a move of my own, right? *giggles* No such luck. I was paranoid that everyone would be watching us through the glass door, so I did nothing more interesting than play with my laptop! >_< Geoff and I were both quite impressed with the DVD-ROM, though, hehe...

Nicole left maybe half an hour later, and then Geoff finally got up to put his shoes back on. Mom had walked out with Nicole, so I got up to walk out with Geoff. He turned toward me, opened his arms for a hug, and said Happy Birthday...Meanwhile, I was getting over the shock of him actually initiating such a thing. ;)

Later on that night, after everyone had left and Mom and I were just sitting around, she told me that for the most part, no one had been watching us through the glass door...though every so often they'd glance back and see if anything was going on. :oP Peeping toms. I found out that several times, Geoff would put his arms back behind his head, but then his left arm would twitch toward my shoulders (y'know, as if to go around them)...but then he'd pull back real quick. The funny part is, I'd actually seen him several times putting his arms behind his head, or stretching...you know, those stereotypical tricks that guys like to use when they try to put an arm around a girl's shoulders. But obviously, nothing actually happened.

This is getting ridiculous. One of us is going to have to get brave, and soon!

Chelsea came online a little while ago, and so I've been chatting with her. Heh...she thought I was someone else at first. I thought her response to my first message was a little too enthusiastic! ;) Oh well. I'm hoping that we'll keep talking during the summer, so that by the time school starts, I'll have a friend!

Oh yeah! Got my housing agreement in the mail today, and I've been assigned to Givan Hall! Yay!!! It's not Becht, which was my first choice, but it's still an all-female dorm! It's situated on a hill, though, so it's going to be hell having to climb up all the time. On the plus side of that, I should get a great workout, eh? I'm rather looking forward to that! ;)

Anyway, I'm going to go. Tiff's not at home, and I'm afraid that I actually did hear the doorbell ring this afternoon, and it was Tiff ringing it. : Why do I always seem to miss her? :oP We'd planned to go out today, but I was so tired that I slept longer'n I figured I would!

Bleh. It's getting uncomfortable sitting here on Mom's waterbed, and I'm still in my pajamas (at almost 4 o'clock), so I'd better get dressed or something!

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!