Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Bigger'n I thought! :oP
Written on Monday, Jun. 24, 2002 at 7:26 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Only one more day to go, and I'll be free for three days! Well, not free, technically, unless I don't get to go to that orientation session. The Clarion folks haven't cashed my check yet (as I found out today when I deposited at the bank), but that doesn't mean they won't contact me. I ought to call them, I know...but I just did call them, and left a message! I hate to be persistent in cases like these, because I feel like I'm being a pest. "Have you gotten my check yet? Huh? Huh? Have you?" Yet I know that if I don't make myself be persistent, I could be screwing things up majorly. If I don't hear anything by tomorrow, then I'll call.

The most interesting thing that happened today is that Frank licked whipped cream off my finger. I didn't actually expect him to do it, but he did, so I guess I learned my lesson. :oP

I got my stuff from Sanrio today: a small pink travel alarm clock, and a dark blue messenger bag with French Hello Kitty on it. I was thinking, when the description said "messenger bag", that it would be only slightly larger than my current purse. But it's now going to be what I use to carry books and things around, I believe. Hehe...it's just a LEETLE too big to be a purse! My managers really would think I was planning on stealing stuff if I brought that thing in!

Safeway's security policy is that all personal items (like purses, etc.) are to be kept out of the departments. This means that the only two places you can stow your things are in lockers, or out in your car. Or, just don't bring purses in at all. I can't be without my purse, so that latter option is out of the question. Likewise, putting it in the car is useless, because then every time I needed something I'd have to wander over to Mom, get her keys, and then run allll the way out to the other side of the parking lot. Not happening.

The locker idea is fine, except for one tiny problem: there are about 12 lockers, and over 100 employees. Do you see how this doesn't work out? So I decided that until something was figured out, my purse was staying exactly where I put it every day when I come in to work.

On my way out today, I called Dave and made a suggestion to him. The lockers we have currently are, length-wise, about half the size of, say, a school locker. Why couldn't we, I asked, bring in lockers that were more or less just small squares? That way, we could have more lockers in that same small space. He said it was a good idea, then told me:

"I don't really mind if people keep their purses in their departments. I've been working here [x number of years], and I've only had a problem once. As long as you keep them out of sight, it's fine." He then grinned at me and asked, "Does that solve the problem for now?"

"Yes, it does!" I replied, grinning back. Dave's A-OK in my book! ;) I'll bet he was just as irritated with Lester's visit as the rest of us were...he's a lot cooler than half of these Safeway twits.

That new movie of Tom Cruise's beat out Lilo and Stitch. Not that I really think Disney movies do as well as they used to, but come on. Tom Cruise? Please pause while I gag. (It's funny that I should be ranting about him, when Lola just did so, but I was actually thinking about this earlier today!) I haven't been able to figure out the word that best fits him. Commercialized? I don't know, it's just that he's EVERYWHERE, and he's been put up on this pedestal by so many people, which is just disgusting. An actor, obviously, plays a character in a movie, but whenever I see him acting, I don't see the character...I see him. Of course, that completely ruins the movie, because I can't actually let myself get into the story. *shrugs* Let's just say, I can definitely do without him.

The people on the news tonight said that the total for Lilo and Stitch included a lot of children's tickets, which are less money than adults...and yet still it was unbelievably close to that other movie (whatever the title is) for Number 1...meaning that more tickets were sold for Lilo and Stitch than for Tom's movie. So there. :oP

It's a terrible thing to say (this, coming after my rant about Tom, ha ha), but I'm anxious for Linda to come take Blackie back. Not because I don't like having him around, but because I'm so nervous about the apartment officials finding out!!! Today when we came home, one of the maintenance guys was walking to his van. This guy just happened to be the nosiest guy around...the one who remembers each tenant's car, the license plate, etc. Freaky. And if you call them over to repair something, but you're not home, they like to snoop, too. So they probably know about my gerbils. If he'd gone into the apartment today (because they can, apparently..), he would've seen Blackie. Which would've meant SERIOUS trouble for us. But I think we're all clear. I just want my poor puppy away from here, so that this unneeded stress is gone!

Ugh, tiiiiired. Yet again, I didn't get to bed until after 10 last night. I have to try getting there earlier tonight. Even though tomorrow's my last day, I still need rest, or I might not make it through! :oP

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!