Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Men Are Pigs.
Written on Tuesday, Jun. 25, 2002 at 7:33 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I received a call from the orientation office, and my reservation has been confirmed for this Thursday and Friday. *heaves a HUGE sigh of relief* I like to cut things close, don't I? Hehehe...The guy who called left a message requesting that I call back, so that he could give a few more details and such. As it turns out, I knew everything he told me anyway. Sign in between 8 and 9 am on Thursday morning, in Givan Hall (I finally heard how 'Givan' is pronounced, hehe); Math and English placement tests are on Thursday (he told me that calculators are allowed, which I hadn't known before); and bring a fan, because the residence halls aren't air conditioned. :oP

I'm really really excited to go, now...even though I know I'll be homesick and crying when I actually start college! It'll be a spifty experience.

In other news, Jason worked in the bakery again today. He and Zenon are supposed to switch places for awhile so that each can get experience in the other's department, but Zenon's on vacation this week. I don't really like having Jason there. I mean, he's really funny and I don't mind talking to him, but he's just not manager material (he's just a backup right now). This morning he said to me, "We--and I emphasize 'we'--have to get the setups done by 4 today."

Fine with me, I thought, nodding in agreement with him. Since I figured that two people would be working on them, I didn't start right away like I normally do. Well, later that day I was working on bagels, glanced at my watch, and saw that it was 2:40. I was scheduled 'til 4:30, I still had tons of other setups to do...so I looked at Jason and asked, "Are you going to help me with setups at all?"

He made up an excuse about there being no cookies out on the shelf, so basically his answer was 'no'. That, my friends, pissed me off, because it's exactly the kind of excuse that he and Zenon like to use all the time. He told me later that the reason he was setting up cookies to bake instead of helping me was because of sales and blah blah, which is fine. But he could have at LEAST let me know a little bit earlier, so that I could get a start on the setups! As it was, thanks to a lack of product, I got everything done but one part. Debbie and Mare are used to not having Sunset Mills (bread) set up, because Zenon rarely does it anymore, but I still don't like leaving it for them to do in the morning, when they're rushed enough already!

I think the only good part of my day was going on lunch with Geoff, hehe...

Oh, I'm now working tomorrow. I don't know how I got myself suckered into it, but there you have it. At least I'll be in the back base-icing cakes that are on sale. If I get tired, I'll just sit down back there and take a nap, hehe... ;) And, as Frank likes to remind me, it's more money. I definitely need more money right now!

Speaking of Frank, he really irritated me this afternoon, for what at first glance is a stupid reason. There's this girl named Nicole who used to work as a cashier, and then eventually she moved over to the food court (well, she went back and forth between the two departments). She's short and athletically slender (meaning she's skinny, but she's not super-model type skinny...she's actually got muscles), and she has a very pixie-ish face. I never had any problems with her; she was always very nice to me when we worked together. But she's been in college, and she likes to shop at the store. And she always wears very tight clothing, which of course sets all the guys to drooling. Frank has already told me several times that he'd like to date her.

So here's what gets me so upset: guys say they hate the way girls are always so down on themselves. Every time I say something negative about myself, Frank berates me and says that I look fine. He's even told Mom that my negativity about myself angers him. Has it ever occurred to any of these guys that maybe this low self-esteem problem has to do with them?? How are we supposed to feel like we look good when they make asses out of themselves, falling over each other and drooling over some skinny girl in tight clothes? It only makes me more painfully aware of the fact that I have never, and probably will never, be able to look like that.

On the other hand, Frank is by and large, a pig. Whereas I find a sharp intellect attractive, he seems to go by looks alone (though if Mom's right and he does have a crush on me, then he's either on drugs or he's not as superficial as he seems). Not that I don't find physical features appealing--there are plenty of smart guys I've met who've been about as nice-looking as a mailbox--but those perfect-looking guys are actually something of a turn-off to me...probably because half of them turn out to be dumber than a post. So what I'm trying to say is, I shouldn't be so offended by Frank's behavior, because he's genetically programmed to like girls who let their breasts hang halfway out of their shirt. Or girls who don't wear underwear under their shorts (can we say, 'tramp'?). *shrugs*

Even Geoff called Nicole "that hot little girlfriend of Dan's" once. Now that stung. But she wouldn't be interested in a guy that much older than her (she's younger than me), so I don't have to feel threatened. ;) And she's going off to the Naval Academy soon-ish, so maybe Frank will finally shut up.

Ugh, now that I actually want to go online so I can post this, Mom decides she wants to talk on the phone! Damnation! Heh. :oP That word is funny.

I'm tired, and so I'm going to go wait for her to get off the fraggin' phone. I was up 'til MIDNIGHT last night, thanks to the upgraded virus protection stuff I bought online and downloaded. I started it around 8...how was I to know it would take SO STUPIDLY LONG??

Right. Going now.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!