Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Applications and Ranty-ness
Written on Wednesday, May. 29, 2002 at 7:02 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

My application to Clarion was sent out today! Now it's floating out there somewhere in the void, where eventually it will be picked up by someone in the Admissions office, read over....and probably tossed carelessly in the trash. *giggles* I'm so optimistic, aren't I?

I've warmed so much to the idea of having Lola as a roommate that I feel like I wouldn't WANT to go so far away if she wasn't there, too! Hehe...Which is wrong, I know, because I wanted to go before she brought up the idea of being roommates, right? I need to get myself back into the mindset that it'll be terrific to have her there, but survivable if she's not. ;) After all, it doesn't cost too much to fly out and visit, right? *grins*

I got something from PHEAA today, and it told me that because I filed after the State Grant deadline, I'm not eligible at this time...something like that. I could, however, get a response sometime between now and December 31! WOW!!! That helps a lot, don't you think?? *rolls eyes* Oh well, I guess it's better than nothing. I have to fill out a couple of things on this form and send it back within 45 days, but I've got it all ready to be sent out tomorrow. Maybe they'll give me a break and send me something earlier if I get this to them now. ;) I doubt it, though.

Mom took my disposable camera in to work with her today, to use up the remaining pictures so I can get the film developed. This afternoon, when I asked her if she found anyone to pose for a picture, she gave a smug sort of yes...and considering that Leroy and Geoff and the whole gang were working, I'm sure these pictures aren't exactly going to be G-rated. As long as there's nothing hanging out that shouldn't be, LOL! I don't think they'd be THAT sick...

I'd like to rant, now, about people who use stupid abbreviations. I've done this before, but today Lola showed me something that just really grated on me. Now, things like 'u' and 'r', at least, make a little bit of sense (though they're still stupid). They sound like the original word, and while they show that the writer is lazier than hell, at least it's understandable. However, when has 'gud' been a substitute for 'good'?? It reminds me of a cow (y'know, 'chewing their cud'?)! When has it become so difficult to just type out words? I mean, does it REALLY take that much time to type out THREE letters instead of ONE?

Abbreviations like 'LOL' and 'ROFL' I don't mind (obviously, since I use them all the time): there's a huge difference between having to type out "Rolling On The Floor Laughing" all the time, or just typing 'ROFL'. That makes sense. Not wanting to type out 'you' all the time does not.

I hate Internet writing.

And that's all I feel like ranting today. Isn't that 'gr8'? HA HA HA!!!!! :

I think dinner's going to be ready soon. I hope so, anyway, because I'm hungry. Now that my film is ready to be developed, I'd like to head over to Target. OHO!!! Here we go, let's have us another rant, shall we?

This is pointless stuff right here. When I first saw the link, I thought the webmaster was going to tell me not to shop at Target because they kill animals to carpet their corporate offices or something. You know, something that would go against all my values and make me feel like a complete ass for shopping at Target. I was relieved to find out that there were no such moral dilemmas.

This person doesn't want anyone to shop at Target because they bought a 'defective' phone at said store. A $200 phone. They bought this phone before moving, and didn't test it out before making the move. They never said exactly how far they went, but by the time they tested out their phone, it didn't work. And they didn't have the receipt anymore. So Target wouldn't take the phone back, exchange for a working one, nothing.

And because of this incident, we're all being told not to shop there.

Let's examine the stupidity behind this, shall we? First of all, they should have tested the phone out as soon as they got it home...or waited until after they'd moved to buy it. If they just HAD to wait until after the move before they tested the phone, why couldn't they have saved the receipt? I know better than most how much stuff can get mixed up and lost during a move, but there ARE ways to save things such as receipts.

It's common policy, now, for stores not to accept returns if the receipt isn't included with the 'defective' merchandise. Too many people try to rip stores off by bringing in a product that they didn't even BUY at that store, and then they get money back...money which the store never received for that item in the first place. So it's not as if Target was trying to be a great corporate ogre!

This site is just so pointless that I can't believe I even linked to it, hehe...And people have actually DONATED to it!! I didn't read the guestbook to see what other tales of woe people have had, but they're probably not any better than the phone story which started it all. In fact, the horror stories probably aren't any worse than those you'd hear about any OTHER major store!

Anyway, I'm through with that. My dinner's ready. :oP

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!