Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Amusing stuff!
Written on Sunday, May. 26, 2002 at 7:31 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Something happened right at the end of my shift that had me in absolute stitches. I'm hoping it's not one of those "had to be there moments", because I want all of you to laugh along with me. Or at least chuckle. Pamper my sensitive ego, here.

So Enrique Iglesias' horribly pathetic song "Hero" (or whatever it's called) came on the store radio. Frank and I sang a few bits of it in our purposely loud, off-key voices ("Ah kin BEEE your HEE-ro BAYYbeh!"), but even that lost its novelty after a minute of the stomach-churning music. And Then It Happened.

The song was silenced as some Mystery Person in the store hit the "Page" button on their phone. And then a loud voice called into said phone:

"WAZZZZZUUUUUUUUUUUUUP!!!"

Every bit like the movie which spawned this mostly-irritating phrase. I stared blankly for a few brief moments, first at Dianne, and then at Frank. And then I doubled over laughing, so hard that tears sprang up in my eyes.

I guess whoever made that exclamation didn't like the song any more than I did.

Very amusing.

I don't really have anything else to relate, other than a little bit of irritating stuff. Don keeps 'teasing' me, saying that he thinks Geoff is gay. First off all, even if he was I wouldn't care. Sure, that would throw a bit of a block in the whole dating thing, but I could deal with that (at least I'd finally know he didn't like me as more than a friend, ha ha!). I'm happy enough to just have Geoff as a friend, and I don't care about his sexual preference. But Don is just really aggravating me with this!

He thinks Geoff is gay because 1)He doesn't have any 'war stories' (apparently, he doesn't talk much about women, period); and 2)When Don asked me if Geoff ever 'touched' me (as in, teasing stuff, not like intimate caresses or something), and I said no, this brought a knowing look of "See what I mean?" to Don's face.

Sure, the first reason could be a sign, but it could just as easily not be one. I don't have any 'war stories', either, so does that make me a lesbian? So the guy hasn't dated much...he's shy, and obviously a little awkward around girls. Odd, perhaps, in a man of his age, but it's not unheard of. Maybe his childhood sort of formed him this way -- his brothers certainly don't sound like the best of role models.

The second 'reason' is just trying to pull things out of thin air. I can be 'touchy-feely' flirty quite easily with people that I'm not really attracted to (hehe), but around guys I have a crush on, I'm suddenly reserved in that respect. That doesn't mean I don't flirt at all, and the same goes with Geoff...he's given me plenty of impish looks, and done a couple of other things that could easily be construed as flirting, but they don't involve physical contact.

Am I even making any sense? I think the next time Don tries to laugh and say, "I don't know, Amber, I think Geoff's a little...*dubious 'so-so' gesture*" I'm going to tell him that I'm not amused. People think Don's gay, too, and there's more so-called 'evidence' to support THAT theory! So he shouldn't be passing judgment like that!

Anyway, I just woke up a couple of minutes ago from a veryvery short nap, so I think I might find something small to eat and then just go to bed. I have to work 8-3 tomorrow...good thing I didn't want to have a picnic or anything for Memorial Day! Ugh...Mom'll probably invite The Toad (aka Charlie *gag*) over...

At least now I have an open reason to be disgusted with him, and she can't yell at me, ha ha...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!