Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Pop pop, fizz fizz, oh what a relief it is!
Written on Thursday, May. 02, 2002 at 9:44 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

The Office of Financial Aid replied to me in quite a timely fashion! I didn't really expect to hear back from them so quickly! At any rate, I felt a little sheepish when I found out that the May 1st deadline has absolutely nothing to do with the college itself...it's the deadline for all state aid, period.

BUT! She said that I might still have a chance, because sometimes they forgive people who've never filed before, and my chances are better since I filed only a day after the deadline rather than a month or something. It's no guarantee...PHEAA could still send me a letter saying I was too late, though I was told I could write back and appeal that decision. I hope it doesn't come to that, but of course I'll try to appeal if it does!

And there are still federal grants and things that I can apply for, so all is not lost!

Now, my day at work, bwa ha ha...

I worked the dreaded 11:30-8 shift. A few minutes were taken out because I had to buy stamps and run up to the post office (which thankfully is in the shopping center), where I promptly sent in that stupid parental signature thing for FAFSA. I don't think I've ever done anything so promptly in my life before, ha ha ha...

Ooo, before I sent that out, however, I stopped by to talk to Geoff. Riiight, like you couldn't've predicted that. ;) Of course, we didn't talk about anything important, but 5 minutes of nothing is fine with me! When I finally said I had to leave (I was getting paranoid that John would see me and get angry), Geoff laughed and said, "Yeah, I guess you have to start working now..."

Wondering if my good luck was still holding up, I called his store phone a little before one o'clock and asked him if he wanted to take a break later on. And he said yes. ^_^ I didn't actually get to go until after 2 o'clock, though. Made my usual baguette announcement, after which Geoff paged the bakery phone and cheered "Yayyy!" hehe...He walked over a few minutes later and asked first if I'd heard him, then asked if I was ready. When I hesitated, he said something like, "Whenever you're ready, it's okay, just let me know." Aww, I love it when people wait for me, ha ha!!

After calling him a few minutes later (Frank was there while I called, I felt almost mean because he knew who I was talking to), I met up with him at the food court register. And then we walked back to the break room together. Awww, doesn't it just sound SOOO romantic?

I'm being sarcastic, folks. ;)

A little while after I came back, Karen walked up beside me and, grinning a little, said, "So does he like you or not??"

"I don't know!" I laughed helplessly. How do I know he's not just being so nice to me because he considers me a friend? I'm not going to go assuming things yet, because every time I do, everything just does a 180 and I'm left feeling bewildered and unhappy! :oP I can't complain about this sudden attention, so I don't want to jinx it. ;)

When I put the Pane out this afternoon, I had to make my announcement in another department because John was sitting by the bakery phone (which makes me nervous). When I walked back over, John looked up at me and laughed.

"You said Geoff's the one who calls over here after your announcements?" he asked, grinning. I giggled and nodded. That's the second time Geoff's 'yay'ed me while John was by the phone. *chuckles*

Tonight when I got my paycheck, Nicole was being a smartass and asked me what my last name was. While I was trying to come up with something really off the wall, Mom blurted out Geoff's last name. "Oh, sorry, you don't have a check, then," Nicole replied. "Your husband took it."

Heh. He makes much better money than I do...I wouldn't mind having his paycheck! ;)

In other news, I'm still trying to figure out exactly what sort of cichlid my Hannibal is. Someone told me that WalMarts usually only sell 'convict' cichlids and smaller African ones...I've been looking at the convicts first, because I know which 'small African cichlids' the guy was talking about and Hannibal was much bigger than them. Came across some stuff that sounds like him:

"An aggressive fish that likes to rearrange the tank decoration to suit itself. Not a community tank candidate as they will eat any small fish they can catch (with the exception of their own fry)." (Oh, and it say's they're omnivorous, and will eat everything, hehe *imagines her fish as an aquatic species of goat, eating cans and shoes*)

Definitely. Though I don't know if that's a characteristic of most cichlids...For some odd reason, Hannibal only likes to dig the rocks away from the big pink plant in the tank. Laura and I think it's because he's trying to assert his masculinity by getting rid of the feminine stuff. :oP Anyway, here's another small bit that just sounds REALLY funny if you have no idea what it's talking about:

"Convicts are ornery! They also have lots and lots of babies and they are very interesting to watch."

I picture large groups of convicts (as in, human prisoners) reproducing like rabbits and fighting with each other. And I imagine them in a huge pen where people can walk by, zoo-style, and just laugh at their silly antics. :OP A very easy sentence to take out of context if you don't know they're talking about fish, eh?

Oh well, eventually I might know exactly what type of cichlid I have! For now, I'm going...I think I hear the vanilla bean ice cream calling me...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!