Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: You watch the Teletubbies!
Written on Thursday, Apr. 25, 2002 at 10:49 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

Yay! Watched the final episode of "The Bachelor" tonight, and Alex chose Amanda over Trista, which I'd been really hoping would happen. Sorry if that was a spoiler to anyone? Heh...right, like anyone actually watches that show but me... ;)

The best of it was, even though he had the engagement ring and everything, he told her he was going to hang on to it 'til he got to know her better. It was probably planned out that way from the beginning, but I like it anyway because it would've been stupid if they'd just gotten married after only knowing each other for 6 weeks (and less than half that time was an intimate, one-on-one sort of thing). So it all worked out okay.

Lessee, now to my usual work-related tale.

Zenon had the morning bake today, but he came in half an hour late...and left half an hour early. I had to do the setups for tomorrow because there was no setup kid (aka Bob), and normally I would've started really early (it takes longer to do setups during the day because there are still lots of people wandering through the department, getting in the way; and there are more customers to deal with). But Zenon said that Mare would help me (and Bryan too, but he's worthless so I knew he wouldn't be of any help), so I figured I'd have plenty of time. Besides, he kept baking more and more stuff that needed to go out on the floor, so that had to be dealt with.

Normally, I don't care if a person asks to leave early. I have no problems with it, so long as they're not leaving the rest of us in a bind (I hope that they would take the same consideration if I had to/wanted to leave early). Well, today there were two...no, three racks of stuff that had to be packaged, and what did Zenon do? He decided he was leaving early. Mare went on lunch a few minutes before he left, and she'd heard him say he was going but didn't think he actually would (because surely he understood that this was a LOT of stuff to get done in addition to setups).

When Mare came back, she got most of the racks finished (all but the Pane, which I finished), but then she had to leave. By that point, I think I'd only gotten two of the 5 "sections" of setups done (donuts, bagels, Sunset Mills, rolls, and sweets, for anyone who's that curious). I was feeling a little panicked by that point, but not overly so because it was 4:30 and I still had two hours...well, one and a half, considering I still needed to go on lunch.

Still, I think I could've gotten just about everything done had it not been for the sudden rush of customers. I was in the process of taking a cake order when the phone started ringing. Of course, I couldn't go pick that up, but hearing it ringing and ringing was irritating me. Eventually it stopped, and Bekka's voice could be heard paging the bakery to pick up line one. Not even two minutes later, she paged again. I think Frank and Erin (the one who used to work in bakery) picked up (at different times, obviously), because they both asked me the same question about a cake.

Riight, so after I finished with the first customer, another one appeared. As I was waiting on her, someone came up behind her and waited 'til I was finished! So then I waited on her, and just as we were finishing up another woman arrived. Finished with her, and there arrived yet SOMEONE ELSE! I think that was the end of it, but none of them were just quick "question and answer" type customers; two of the women bought a lot of stuff from the cases, and the others were making cake orders, so it just seemed to take forever.

As it turned out, it was just enough time for me not to be able to finish the rolls or the sweets. Sunset Mills was rather woefully inadequate as well, but oh well. I told John, and thankfully he was alright with it. Well, not ALRIGHT, per se, but I made sure to point out that if Zenon had just stayed that half hour, I would've gotten them done (because Mare would have been able to help out at least a little bit). I hate to sound like such a snitch, but it's not as if I was lying or anything. He really should have stayed. Saying "I'll make up the hour later this week" didn't help us today!

Everything else was dreary and uneventful.

Frank called me tonight, and his 10-year old brother, Chris, could be heard in the background. "Hi, Amber!" he chirped, repeating himself several times even after Frank told him I'd said hi (which I had). Overhearing that Erin (the one Frank used to be hung up on) had tonsilitis, I heard "Amber, I have tonsilitis, too!"

At one point Frank was arguing with Chris, and he said something like, "You still watch Barney!"

"I do not!" Chris protested indignantly. A moment later, he accused, "You watch the Teletubbies!"

"No I don't!" Frank exclaimed, which had me doubled up laughing. Surrrre ya don't, Frank. ;)

His brother's a little cutie. But he's got that face that just screams "I'm trouble". Very mischievous. Frank says he already is trouble, but I'm sure he'll only get worse after he hits puberty. :oP Right now, he's still in that cute "my voice is still high-pitched" stage.

Yech, who'd've thought I'd ever think of little boys as being "cute"? I normally think they're dirty, annoying little things. Then again, this is coming from the girl who doesn't like kids, period, so what can I say?

I have to be up at 6 am tomorrow morning, so technically I should probably go to bed. I'd like to be able to MUD and try to get my level up to 7, so I'm not quite so far behind Jam, but reason will probably prevail and I'll go to bed like an old, unexciting woman. How sad. I know I won't be rousing myself early enough to take a shower, as I've done the past two days. It's sort of nice to take a shower in the morning...But I won't even be conscious at that unholy hour of the day, so doing anything more than washing my hair is out of the question.

And now that you know way more than you ever wanted to, I'm leaving.

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!