Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Word of the day
Written on Sunday, Apr. 07, 2002 at 5:38 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I've noticed that a lot of people who make custom diary/site designs, and request a fee in return, say that you can just buy something from their Amazon wishlist (as opposed to handing over straight cash). Interesting idea, though I can't help but think of it as bribery. And technically, it's really no different than just giving them money in return for services! But just the whole idea of "I'll make this for you if you buy me something from my wishlist" sounds like bribery. Hehehe...Still, it doesn't keep me from wishing I had some terrific designing ability, so that I could ask people to buy things from MY wishlist! ;) I guess I'd have to make a wishlist first, though...

I'd never pay for a diary design. I'd be only slightly more likely to buy one for my site (and then, I'd only consider it if I had my own domain, as opposed to a generic GeoCities site). I get tired of things quickly, and if I bought a design, I'd feel obligated to use it permanently...or at the very least, for a long long time (much longer than most of my designs stay up). The only reason I'd be more likely to buy a design for my website is because I don't see it every day as I do this diary, and so I don't think about it as often. ^^;

I really really like this diary design, not just because of the picture, but the colors as well. Purple is my favorite color, but teal and other aqua-blue shades are also high on my list. They're sort of soothing. But even though I like this design, I have another one that I'd really like to put up here at some point. It has no anime in it, hehe...I like anime and manga (obviously, or I wouldn't've used two manga pics in a row), but I don't feel compelled to use it in every design I might make. Anyway...I don't know why I'm explaining this! *chuckles*

Since today was a day off, it was every bit as uneventful as I'd figured it would be. I hate being off on a Sunday. Things close too early, so it's not as if I could go anywhere but Wal-Mart after like five...I don't know, I just don't like being bored on a Sunday. It seems worse than being bored on any other day...because while on a weekday you can be bored but harbor the idea of getting out and doing something, on Sunday it's boredom with no hope of alleviation.

For some reason, the word "stultify" popped into my head. I've never even used this word before, yet there it appeared in my mind, and I felt the urge to use it. I didn't even know what it meant! So I looked it up. Aren't you proud of me?

stultify - 1. To cause to appear absurd; give an appearance of foolishness to. 2. To make worthless or ineffectual.

Now I know what this word means, and you do, too! Go ahead, use it in your own diaries and make your readers think you're way cool. Because hey - vocabulary is spifty. Or at least, I think so... ;)

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!