Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: Geoff Tales (ha ha)
Written on Saturday, Mar. 30, 2002 at 7:26 p.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I don't think Geoff is used to me passing by him and merely saying hi, as opposed to stopping and talking. At some point this morning, I walked out of the back room and met up with Ben. We turned the corner by the dairy aisle, and Geoff was just finishing scribbling something on a piece of cardboard. He started walking before looking up, then stopped about a foot in front of me (because I hadn't moved, hehe). I waved at him and grinned, then kept going. I'd only made it a few steps when he said, "Hi, Amber!" as if I hadn't acknowledged him at all! Turning around, I laughed and defensively replied, "I waved to you!"

"I know." He smiled and went back to work.

A couple of minutes after I entered the bakery department, "Bohemian Rhapsody" began playing. I heard it, but hadn't really noticed because I was getting ready to start back to work (I was scheduled for salad bar, but it was SO busy and John asked me to help out in bakery). Turned to idly glance over by the decorator's section (or maybe I'd heard something and subconsciously turned...I don't know), and I saw Geoff take a few steps into the department. I smiled uncertainly, wondering what he was there for. He merely pointed upward to the speakers, as if to ask if I heard what--or more appropriately, who--was playing. I giggled and nodded that I'd heard, and he walked back out of the department. That was it. He'd had no other reason to show up.

When I made one of my infamous bread announcements, I hung up afterward and began to walk away from the phone. Again, I glanced to my left, and Geoff was standing just outside the department. For a few moments he just stared, straight-faced, but as soon as I started laughing his face broke into a grin and then he walked away.

Right at the end of the day, "We Will Rock You" played (the third Queen song of the day, wahoo!). In America, that song's always immediately followed by "We Are The Champions" (on the radio), so as I was fixing up the donut case I tilted my head a bit to listen for the next song. It wasn't "We Are The Champions". (If it had been, I would have been ecstatic that 4 Queen songs had played in one day, hehe!)

Not even a minute later, a figure approached my right side. I turned, and it was Geoff. "They didn't play the second song," he remarked, laughing when I told him that I'd just thought the exact same thing.

Overall, I was quite pleased with my day, merely because I'm always the one who stops by him (or calls his store phone) just to make a silly remark. It was nice to not have to initiate things for once! ;)

On my lunch break, Leroy came back. Geoff was there as well (I followed him after I'd finished all my work). At any rate, Leroy was really wound up and so was just saying some REALLY wacky stuff, and I didn't know how to respond to any of it so I just sat there and covered my face and blushed a lot. Then Ben came in, so the Three Musketeers were joined up again.

Leroy asked me at one point what physical feature I liked most about a guy. I mumbled that I hadn't thought about it before, because I didn't want to say "eyes" (it sounds so clich�d). I really do like eyes the best, though, LoL! Anyway...

He (as in Leroy) kept looking over at me, so I would look over at him for a minute, then giggle and say, "What??"

"I could get lost in those eyes," he stated, and of course I laughed and looked away. I wasn't bothered by what he was saying...I just couldn't help wondering what Geoff was thinking, LoL! Anyway, Leroy continued, "They're so brown...they're like my wife's" (or something to that effect). Then he said something about how those were the sorts of eyes that made you want to do anything just by looking into them. :oP No, he's not saying this like some creepy, perverted old guy, by the way! ;) I'm probably making him sound that way, hehe...

Ben got up to leave, but then he stopped just behind Leroy for some reason I can no longer remember. Leroy made a comment about me being pretty (the guys do this sort of stuff to try to raise my self esteem...just about everyone has told Mom how shy and insecure I seem). I looked over at him and replied, "I'm very plain, you don't have to lie."

All of a sudden, he becomes dead serious. "No, I mean it," he insisted. "You don't see it, but.." he said various other things, but I was getting self-conscious and had started to somewhat blank him out. He finished by saying that if I was more "aggressive"...blah blah. I looked up at Ben, thinking he'd be grinning or whatever, but even he was solemn, nodding in agreement with Leroy!

So I glanced over at Geoff, wondering if he'd be looking at me just as intently as the other two were. He looked over at me, his soda bottle suctioned to his upper lip.

*falls over*

That broke the mood, and I still crack up every time I bring that image to mind. It reminds me of a parent trying to be really serious, and then their little kid is paying no attention, just making faces or sucking their lip into the neck of a plastic soda bottle...*giggles*

Mom's always trying to tell me that I'm pretty, but of course because she's my mother, I feel she's obligated to say such things. Therefore, I never really pay attention to those remarks. It's not that Leroy wouldn't necessarily be obligated to tell me nice things...I mean, he could've agreed with me that I was plain, but only the most honest of people would actually do that. ;) It just felt nice to be paid those compliments...even if I was getting self-conscious! I'm not good with taking compliments. I get fidgety and nervous and I never know how to respond.

Oh..hehe, this is sort of amusing. Frank's been on spring break, and he decided he was going to work very little during that week. So today was the first time I saw him in a couple of days. He and I are always mock flirting with each other, but today when he said something, Bob was there. I don't even remember what it was Frank said to me, but he left and Bob said, "I think he's flirting with you."

I giggled and assured him that we're always doing that to each other, but he probably thinks we're in love or something. Bonnie thought Frank and I were going out...I'm sure she's not the only one. We act like we're going out, with the way we banter and tease and such. Frank would probably like to be going out, ha ha!!! ;)

At the same time, though, other people are beginning to remark on how Geoff and I are always seen together. Ooo, maybe I'll become the scandalous creature Bryan accused me of being, hehe! "Amber, are you going out with TWO men??"

"No, of course not!" I'll reply, indignant. "We're just casual sex partners!"

Alright, I think I'm done with this entry. I have to work 8-12 tomorrow, and apparently I'll be spending all 4 hours decorating (because Joanne and Karen are off). Then Monday, I'm all by myself again, and I'm close to panic! I've never actually worked a full shift by myself! It'll be nice without Joanne griping at me and telling me how things are supposed to be done, but at the same time the lack of guidance is scary! If there are a lot of orders, I'm afraid I'll screw them up! Actually, I'll be alright if the orders are kits, because all I have to do is follow the picture. But if I'm required to make flowers or anything other than balloons, I'll be in trouble!

Bleh. Oh well, at least I won't have to make Pane. *grins*

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!