Recent Entries
Another random entry!
Vote for me! Please!
Aw damn!
What was I thinking?
It's always something!

Other Things
Current
Older
Profile
About Me
Cast
Notes
GuestMap
Extras

Today's rambling: The Oscars
Written on Monday, Mar. 25, 2002 at 4:54 a.m.
while feeling a bit
The current mood of Berry at www.imood.com

I was just about to leave when I realized...I hadn't written a diary entry!!

This isn't going to be anything spectacular...just my rantings about Oscar night. If you haven't seen them yet *looks teasingly at Janette*, or you just don't feel like listening to my cynical commentary, then go ahead and leave! ;) You know I'll be back to my perky self tomorrow, right? Let's hope, anyway...

Alright. The woman I was hoping would get the Oscar for leading actress was Nicole Kidman. I just love her! Well, I loved her in Moulin Rouge, anyway...Can't say I've seen too much of her other work. She's a good actress, though...and she's got this pixie-ish face and personality that's too cute!

Anyway, her dress tonight definitely could've used a bit more color. I think because her skin was too fair, it made her look really washed out.

I wish she would've won, though!!!! *cries*

Yes, Halle Berry (from the clip they showed of her new movie) still deserved to win. But I'm not a Halle Berry fan by any stretch of the imagination, so I didn't care too much. (Though I had to smile a little bit at how emotional she became...THAT'S the sort of stuff I like to see, not "Yeah, well, I knew I'd win this, so thank you guys..")

I was happy that Jennifer Connelly won merely because she was in "Labyrinth", and that's pretty much my favorite movie. So that was sort of spifty. Her speech was lacking, but hey, she'd never won an Oscar before and she was probably really nervous! So :oP

I caught a couple of glimpses of "J-Lo", and I have to agree with Laura's assessment: she looked like a POODLE. I had to fight the urge not to grab one of my dogs' old dog treats and hold it up to the television screen. I shouldn't've been surprised, though. She likes doing really ugly things with her hair. Most people like to make fun of her rear end--I think her hair this evening FAR outshone that other asset.

Even though Lord of the Rings looks like a good movie (one I'll see once it comes out on video and I don't have to worry about my butt going numb because I've been sitting for 3 hours), I wish they hadn't won as much. Hehe...I'm biased that way. Elijah and Sean were really cute out there on the red carpet, though. Not pretentious like most other actors...Once again, it was very nice to see!

Speaking of the pre-show, did they think about how they were going to do things at all? One guy's saying, "Here's so-and-so with another leading actress nominee," and then it goes to Ananda saying something about Nicole's heels! And then later she said that we were going to see somebody, but it shot over to something completely different! I thought maybe it wasn't live at all, but a very poorly-edited tape! :oP

Oh yeah. Cameron Diaz. Mom was like, "Comb your hair!" Hehe... One just has the urge to run up to her and DO something with that horrible hairstyle!!!

And all of this is sponsored by Cadillac. "Hey, be cool! Drive your LIVING ROOM around!" Okay, I guess that's more Oldsmobile's domain...

Ugh. You know what annoys me the most? Well, besides the general pretentiousness of the whole affair...

"So who made this dress?" "What are you wearing?"

I don't care if you got the damn thing at K-MART. I know it's all about advertising for these designers, but c'mon. Does it matter? It's ugly. I'm not impressed. Maybe you ought to lie and, instead of saying, "This is Gucci!" you should SAY it came from the local bargain store.

THAT'S HUGH JACKMAN'S WIFE???????

Please tell me she looks younger in person than she does in this picture. I thought she was his MOTHER or something before I read the caption! *shakes head*

I hope I can convince Mom to go out to Target or Best Buy or SOME place that sells DVDs tomorrow. I am in desperate need of seeing Moulin Rouge, and I will stop at nothing to buy it. Hehe... (I'm really subject-jumping, aren't I?)

I think that, if I were going to the Oscars, I'd want to wear something simple, yet classy and elegant. Nothing flashy, nothing to really make me stand out...Just something that's reminiscent of the old days of Hollywood, if that makes sense. Heh...But if I was an actress, as I said, I'd like to be in period films (preferably medieval, Renaissance-ish). So I doubt I'd be at the Oscars. And if I was, maybe I'd wear one of my old costumes, just for kicks.

Aha, now I keep getting Cadillac ads instead of pictures...it's as if they're saying, "We are NOT as big as your living room anymore! We're young, and flashy! No longer an 'elderly' car! You want us, don't you?"

Awww, what a little cutie pie! *pinches cheek* ;)

Oh my gosh. Yes, Jada definitely could have been the Chiquita Banana woman in that dress.

Sit pretty!

Sorry. Enough with the poodle jokes.

*falls over giggling at Lola* "..even Russell had the same shaggy Scary Mountain Man look to him." Why is it that I was having similar thoughts? I don't like Russell Crow. Nothing against him...I just don't. And that shaggy look doesn't help him at all. Maybe he should team up with J-Lo: he can be a sheepdog, she can be the poodle.

The grin he has in that picture seems to say, "Heh HEH, I got quite a chick here, eh boys???"

*stares* I wasn't aware of exactly HOW ugly Gwyneth's dress was. Go ahead, take a look. Laby fans joke that David Bowie had a sock in his pants...well, it looks like she stuffed two socks into her bodice. NOT flattering. Neither is the hairdo. She could be SOO much prettier if she let her hair fall a bit more softly around her face! And that eye makeup! GAH! What are these people THINKING when they get dressed!

"*whine* Does this dress make my breasts look too big?"
"Hon, it would be a miracle if a dress COULD do that for you."

Rene� Zellweger's grin really got on my nerves. It looks like something happened to her face that caused it to swell up...She's normally very cute, but tonight she just made me cringe.

Alright, that's all. In short, I'm not really sure WHY I watched the show at all. I hate the whole lot of them, hehe! I'm not into all the pomp and circumstance...it's just not my thing. That's why I enjoy being so negative toward them. :oP Oh right, like YOU didn't have a few insults to make...

last or next

Content and design � Amber.
Image is of Robert Plant (surprise surprise, eh?).
No part of this design may be copied or used.
Thanks to Diaryland for the venting space!